We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading elegance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Centrale Palace
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fading elegance!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The location is fabulous and the hotel is great in many ways. We had a 'junior suite' and whilst it was quiet most of the time, it was near an emergency exit which staff seemed to use in the morning - and that wasn't quiet! The quality of the room was fine - just a little tired in places (especially the shower - small tiles missing and no soap on the first day) and a bit characterless, really - lots of painted walls with nothing on them, and rather harsh lighting.
Reception are very helpful (especially when I needed a bandage out their first aid kit!) but maybe not too informed about buses to key attractions like Montreale - perhaps they're more used to the tour groups that use the hotel, that have everything arranged. Maybe warning people to book the restaurant well in advance would be also useful - when we tried to go, we found we should have booked...The bar was very nice - although whether you got nibbles with your drink seemed to depend upon the day of the week. (Or maybe that was because it was Easter?!). We never had the breakfast so can't comment on that.
That aside, it kind of matches the rest of Palermo - a great city but its seen better days...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaLifeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    406
    157
    68
    38
See reviews for
162
432
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location could not be better, the staff is helpful, the terrace upstairs and the food is good, but you do not really expect a hotel of this category to have problems with water supply in the shower and everything is really a bit old now. Most of all the bathrooms. Rooms are badly sound proofed as well. OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewijdewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

It is right in the old centre. You walk to everything. The room was quite dark which might be good in the summer. Lovely terrace one can sit on. Breakfast was good. Reception staff was aloof and did everything you wanted them to do but you have to ask. It needs a bit of decorating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jochenulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nowhere to park outside the hotel except on the rather narrow and busy main thoroughfare, but although I was concerned about disrupting traffic this is Sicily, and no-one else seemed in the slightest bothered. I was slightly early arriving but this wasn't a problem and I was shown straight to my room. Unfortunately although I had booked a room with a balcony it opened onto a building site and there was dust everywhere. They changed the room immediately but there was no balcony and the shuttered windows opened onto a back alley and wasteland. Very nice bar with excellent service, nice restaurant with good food, staff helpful and courteous. Location excellent and within walking distance to main attractions.

Room Tip: If possible specify a room looking over the main road at the front of the hotel, as at the back its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived and were very impressed by the skill of the porter who whisked our Hertz down the lane only 10cm wider than the car to their garage for the advertised 'Free Parking' (for which they charge 15euro/day … go figure!

The lobby and public areas are very grand, just don't look too closely though, it's frayed around the edges. This grand old dame is seriously in need of a good facelift. Lifts are terribly slow.

The 'Free WiFi' is only in the lobby area, and the bandwidth is obviously very limited - 4-5 online at a time seems to be the limit. And more than a dozen frustrated guests juggling iPads, trying to be the next-one-on when the guy in the chair opposite logs off! You can, and we did, buy in-room Wifi for 5euro/day.

We were shown to a pleasant room with a modern bathroom on the second floor which faced into the narrow dark lane, where there was workmen with jackhammers working on scaffolding right outside the window. I requested a change and was shown a bright light room on the 4th which opened out onto a delightful, if very dirty, private patio. The bathroom was pre-renovation (rustic is the generous term) and both the shower and the bidet failed to drain away until I cleaned the gunge out of the plugholes! One of two lightbulbs over the mirror was out in the bathroom, but a bulb-switch with one from a wall sconce fixed that problem. Overall the room was scruffy and obviously due for the renovation that the other room had enjoyed. But hey, it was a lovely bright room, with a private rooftop terrace and without jackhammers!

Dined in the roof top restaurant, and was delighted with the service and the ambiance. The food failed to live up to the promise of the environment sadly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had. It's an ancient palace with ancient rooms and staff and lobby and looks nothing like the photos they post. Filthy, rundown, shabby, moldy,
dark, dingy hallways, filthy carpets, filthy walls in the room, old thin mattresses with rough wool blankets. We moved to another nearby hotel that was beautiful, clean and COOL….. and same price! You should heed the warnings in these reviews. I cannot imagine how the positive ones are real!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenburgh, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, comfortable beds, helpful staff made our stay for three nights enjoyable. I recommend this hotel for those who want to say near the central rr station. Moderately priced, good beds, lots within walking distance

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,200 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Centrale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Centrale Palace

Property: Eurostars Centrale Palace
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Centrale Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Centrale Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Eurostars, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Centrale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Eurostars Centrale Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing