We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cocoa Jazz Restaurant - CLOSED

Cocoa Jazz Restaurant
Price range: US$29 - US$43
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the small streets near the Via Roma
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We followed the advice if the previous reviewer and came here for dinner tonight. Absolutely wonderful food and delightful atmosphere. Vegetable risotto appetizer and seafood special main were really special. Quiet jazz music and fun modern decor. We may need to come back on a Saturday to hear live music.
We had thought to come here or to the nearby, more well-known Osteria dei Vespri. Very happy with our choice.
If you are coming from Via Roma, just turn on the street leading to the Modern Art Museum, ( via Alloro) and you'll find it easily.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    36
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great staff!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

After being in Palermo for 4 days we happened upon Cocoa during a walk. We looked at the restuarant which wasn't serving food at the time as it was 'siesta' time but we had a drink and looked around. The decor was very modern, clean and welcoming with large sofas, armchairs and a good outdoor ambience.

we visited Cocoa twice more for evening meals. Once with just the 4 of us as a family and also as a larger group of 10 with friends . The outside seating areas were very comfortablel. Everyone very much enjoyed the food. The staff were keen to explain any items on the menu and the food was great. Both times.

We spent a while there and enjoyed the experience.

Cheers!

We would recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronyka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some continental flaire”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chanced upon Cocoa walking through La Kalsa. It is set in the nicest piazza in all of Palermo; clean beautiful and quite. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleased to find out it was a place that has a good chef that takes pride in presenting the food and using good raw materials. The veal was extremely tender, the pasta with truffles superb, grilled sea food with fish, calamares and shrimp cooked to perfection, grilled cheese tasty. After all the traditional Sicilian food this was a real treat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjellvandrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Full bodied beauty”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a real little gem of a place. We were initially lured in by the dulcet jazz, which was such a welcomed contrast to the reigning italian pop so prevalent about the streets. We weren't disappointed- the staff were super friendly, helpful and kind, and the meal was very good. It was a more interesting menu than most. Particularly good was a fusion dish of swordfish done in a twist of arabian- italian. Very tasty. And the house red wine, which heretofore had a bit hit and miss was excellent. I think it was a Nero D'avola. Would really recommend this spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank She B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The food is good but the portions are tiny for the price. The service is slow and lackluster. The main attraction is the location in a beautiful historic street with live jazz concerts in the courtyard opposite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocoa Jazz Restaurant also viewed

Sferracavallo, Palermo
Sferracavallo, Palermo
 
Sferracavallo, Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing