We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice appartment, friendly host, central”
Review of Casa Giuditta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Giuditta
Ranked #372 of 466 Palermo B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice appartment, friendly host, central”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is the place to stay if you want to live in the heart of typical old Palermo. You really feel part of life in this rather worn-down but in no way unpleasant part of town. The appartment, which is placed in a quiet street (to Palermo standards) is tidy and comfortable, with air-ciondition, WIFI and satelte -TV. It is well eqipped, (all though we could have used a few more knives in the kitchen). The host is very friendly, and if you phone him in due time when you have arrived to the city, he will turn up to let you into the appartment. The place is a bit hard to find, because the signpost with the streetname is missing, but it is the little street to the right of the big church in Piazza Kalsa.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Grinder-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    9
    17
    14
See reviews for
18
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We booked two apartments at Casa Giuditta. It turned out that our apartments were not at the Casa Giuditta address but on Via dei Mater Assai. Actually, this was a better location – more central and just round the corner from Piazza San Domenico, a lovely square where we had some of our best meals in Palermo. Fortunately, we had arranged with the owner to be picked up at the airport, otherwise finding our accommodation could have been tricky, especially as we arrived after dark and after a long and tiring journey. We were grateful to have looked at previous tripadvisor reviews, which warned us that the hotel was actually apartments without a reception, otherwise this would have come as a surprise! From reading the reviews we let the owner know by email that we were definitely coming, about a week in advance – it’s necessary to do this as he meets you and takes you to the apartment himself.
Our apartments were spacious and clean, well-equipped, and with plenty of hot water. They also felt safe. However, they were a bit damp (there was a slug in the shower) and loud music from an adjacent restaurant often prevented a good night’s sleep. The lighting in the windowless entrance and the steep stairway was often inoperative, making negotiation up to the apartments hazardous. There is no lift. We recommend that you take a torch. Although the accommodation is advertised as a hotel this is not the case. There is no reception. There is also no ‘typical Italian breakfast’, contrary to what was stated in our booking details. These advertised details need to be amended.

Room Tip: Contact the apartments well in advance of arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyKCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGiuditta, Manager at Casa Giuditta, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
well, thank you for the review. We want only to say that torch is not necessary because the problem with the stair light has been fixed. About the breakfast we repeat million times WE ARE APARTMENTS, not hotel. We give basic breakfast if you have in your booking, not all booking systems offer breakfast, so to be sure book directly with us. However breakfast is Italian, simple, not expect continental breakfast, for this there are hotels. (be ready to spend 2 times more) If you come to us is because you want to cook, be in a characteristic apartment and not anonymous hotel room, have free wifi, washing machine, come with children. PLEASE STOP complaining we are not an hotel, nobody claim we are !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Palermo, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I arrived in Palermo in early February 2011 and am happily living in a Casa Giuditta apartment several weeks later. The apartment I have is comfortable, in a great location near Piazza Kalsa in old Palermo, and is close to the botanic garden, sea front, galleries, restaurants and public transport. It is a one room apartment with a balcony, 2 double beds, kitchenette and separate bathroom and laundry. WiFi internet, satellite TV and heating/cooling are all provided. I called Salvo on arrival in Palermo and he picked me up from the railway station. Both he and Tatiana have been helpful in providing me with information while I have been settling in and have also responded promptly to any requests I have made. If you’re booking on line, make sure you make a note of Salvo’s phone number so you can let him know when you are arriving.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187890Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

In summary: a simple place to stay in a not so nice neighbourhood, but it was OK for us (couple with two children 12+10y)
Here the full story: We booked at "Opodo.de" a city trip (fligh+hotel) to Palermo with the specifications that the hotel room is for 4 persons. We were referred to "Casa Giuditta" in Via Savona 10. The flight with AirBerlin was perfect, the rental car with Locauto as well. When we arrived at Via Savona 10, there was no Hotel. There were only regular condominiums. After asking around in the neighbourhood we learned that we need to ring at the bell of Mr Gallo (there were two bells Gallo A and Gallo B) but there was no answer. So we learned that he is out and the person who has a phone number of Mr Gallo is also not coming back before 5:pm, maybe 6:00 pm. So we called Opodo in Germany and they contacted Mr Gallo who showed up on the street, where we were all the time waiting, in less than 5 minutes. As a compensation for the waiting time, he gave us an appartment with two rooms and a bathroom (we were booked for a single room apartment, according to his documentation). Simple, but OK. We asked for more towels because there was only one and he prepared with us the sofabed so that we had in fact four sleeping places (however, only three chairs?!?). This was the last time we saw Mr Gallo. No change of towels, no nothing. In the nights we learned that the appartment is in a noisy neighbourhood. People were loudly talking to each other, dragging stuff to and fro and at 7:00a.m. the church bells were making sure that you don't lose time to visit the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Fully equipped apartment with wifi connection, kitchen, washing machine, Sat tv, nice bathroom, air conditioning,. The apartment is very central location, but, in a quiet, peaceful location.
Thank you Salvo

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex007_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We had a nice stay in this apartment, which is bright and well-located. Salvo, the landlord, was very responsive in helping us out when we needed a few extra things in the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benvParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My Casa Giuditta room was very comfortable and well equipped. I enjoyed the view of Piazza della Kalsa from the balcony and found the area very interesting and convenient for visiting Galleries, historic churches and palazzos.
It is conveniently situated, being a short walk from Stazione Centrale where the bus from the Airport stops.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capenoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Villa Archirafi
#46 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
NH Palermo
NH Palermo
#26 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Giuditta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Giuditta

Property: Casa Giuditta
Address: Via Savona 10 | Piazza Della Kalsa, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Giuditta 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Giuditta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Giuditta Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing