We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with gorgeous view.”
Review of Casa Giuditta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Giuditta
Ranked #373 of 490 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This is a great place to bring your spouse/partner. We loved everything about it with the exception of internet access. The connection was poor but that was our only complaint. This is one of the best spots we've hit during our month long vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj4895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

We arrived at the airport and Donnatella picked us up.She gave us a brief tour of the city along the way. We arrived at the apartment and were greeted by the owners smiling son which was a wonderful way to be greeted after a day of travel. We were shown into a BEAUTIFUL apartment. It was nice to have two beds in two seperate rooms instead of one room. As a group of three it was nice to have that privacy. The apartment was extremely clean, from the beds being made and well swept floors. There was a bit of a chill the first night and Salvo not only turned up the heat a bit, but placed a space heater in the main bedroom to ensure our comfort.

The only even slight problem we came across was our stove was out of gas, but a phone call got it fixed that day. Salvo was very proactive in his managing by inspecting the apartment himself and the day after we arrived, he came in and replaced the light bulbs in our lamps. For smokers, we have two in the party, it is a non smoking apartment. But there are two balconies which you can smoke. It was a mixed blessing as we were out on the balcony, observing the neighborhood at times when, otherwise, we wouldn't have been outside.

The apartment is right near Roma ( the main drag) and there are lots of street vendors selling great wares at reasonable prices. Given the chance, i would be very happy to stay here again.

Donnatella and Salvo- Thank you for the wonderful trip to Sicily!
--The Kelly Family

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyfammn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We were contacted before we arrived to confirm our time of arrival and met at the apartment when we did arrive. We were upgraded to a suite, which was super. Lovely bedroom in the attic area with a big sitting room and big kitchen.

Breakfast was served at a nearby cafe (crossant and coffee).

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddyMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Everything about our stay was unpleasant. First of all, we were told to meet our hostess on a street corner, so we parked the car, unloaded our bags, and waited. When she showed up late, she told us to repack the car and follow her to the actual apartment. So, off we went driving through the streets of Palermo. When we finally arrived, I was disappointed with the one-room we were given. No windows, except for in the bathroom (and that opened up to nothing), although there was a door to a patio that we could use. Unfortunately, the handle was broken and we couldn't open it. The shower head was broken as well and the floors were also wet as they had obviously just finished cleaning it before we got there (probably why she was late). To their credit, someone did come the next day to fix these things.

We were told we had to pay cash for the room, even though on their website it said they accept credit cards and I had guaranteed the reservation with my Mastercard. We then had to trek through the city on foot to find a bank machine so I could withdraw the money needed to pay for the room. That night, it was difficult to sleep because we could clearly hear the television of the neighbors next door (and their screaming kids), and somewhere in the building was a dog that would NOT stop barking.

After two days in the room, our bags and the clothes in them were musty and damp, as were the sheets on the bed. I was so glad to get out. The topper, however, was that friends of ours were also staying in the city and they found a fantastic full-sized apartment (living room, kitchen, separate bedrooms) for 25 euro a night less than what we were paying!

Really not a place I would recommend. The only saving grace was that we spent so much time sightseeing in and around Palermo that we hardly spent any time in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGiuditta, owne at Casa Giuditta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

We very much regrets with this customers who did not like the accommodation. We have may accommodations and we could change to them.
For us 49 euro per night (overall price they paid) for 2 persons to have an apartment with Sat tv, bath, kitchen, Wi-fi internet, towels and lines included, terrace, is a bargain. Just inside historical centre.
As customer itself says we promptly fixed what was wrong in the apartment.
However, strange but true, most complains come from customers who pay less..... we think we should increase the prices in the end...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We stayed at this apartment for 4 nights and I really have no complaints about the property or the owners but...
Make sure that you have made contact with the owners and confirm the time you expect to be there and where to meet. You WILL need a mobile phone, trust me.
We booked through lastminute.com were told nothing else and thats why we were left scratching our heads in front of an apartment building with no one around to speak to.

Firstly I had no idea that we were supposed to call the owners on arrival, this was not made clear by either the owners or lastminute.com. An improvement in communication is needed.
We found the place eventually as it is tucked away on a very small road which is not on most maps. Luckily we spoke to a very friendly cafe/bar owner who gave us the property owners contact details, he must see many puzzled tourists wandering around nearby!
It took some time to finally make contact but eventually we met up and again there was some confusion in whether we needed to pay - we had already paid in full through lastminute and surely the owners should know this. Only little things I know but it can be stressful when you've been travelling for the whole day.

Otherwise the apartment was great, nice balcony, some croissants etc in the kitchen, not exactly super modern but this is Palermo after all and you get to stay right in the middle of the locals. Plenty of kitchen equipment if you want to cook and I'd recommend you do go to the central food markets and pick up some of the fresh fish and vegetables, amazing quality.
The location of the apartment is fine, not too far from city centre (train bus etc), probably about 15 min walk, you'll find your way around after a day or two. Four days was long enough to see this town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

hallo Casa Giuditta!!!!
Thanks very much everythinghs was exellent!!!the service of pick up was on time and the hostess Donatella was very kindly. compliments for your appartament: it's in a good area, beautiful and complite of everythings, the restaurant near that you suggest us was very good and the persons were so friendly! if we retourn to Palermo we contect you for sure!!!! thanks

romy

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We chose Casa Giuditta because it was reasonably priced for a family of 5. We caught a cab from the airport which was very expensive. We were told to wait at a cafe around the corner from the accommodation. There seems to be some arrangement with the owner of this cafe. People wait there until the agent for the accommodation comes with the key to let you in plus collects your payment.
Well we waited and WAITED!!!! for about 2 hours. We were exhausted after catching a 6am flight from London meaning we had been up since 4.30am. My husband and the kids went for a walk but I felt trapped & uncomfortable just hanging around at the cafe. The owner took pity on me & the kids eventually and took us to another location which he had the keys for. I have no idea who owned this place or if its part of the Casa Giuditta houses because it was in the opposite direction to the house that we were meant to be staying in. The woman (Rosanna I think) eventually turned up.
Now it was my turn to stuff her around b/c I was short about 30 euro since we had been severely ripped off by the cab driver. So Rosanna agreed to drive me to the nearest handibank so I could withdraw some money. Well the driving was pretty freaky but then she took me to the wrong bank I couldnt withdraw. I told her the railway would have the right teller so eventually got there & of course I was right & so paid her the difference.
When back at the accom. Salvo turned up I believe he is the manager. He seemed like a friendly person & apologised for the delay.
This house was 2 storey. Double bed & single upstairs and a sofa bed downstairs. Bathroom downstairs was newly renovated but unfinished. The bathroom upstairs was OK but shower had no pressure. Upstairs beds were OK, the sofa bed was very old but sheets seemed clean.
Very few utensils to cook with and little crockery. Kitchen area needed a good clean.
This accom overlooks a delapidated house. It didnt worry us we thought it was kind of interesting. Neighbours very loud but we kind of liked the true Sicilian experience.
Despite the obvious set up we went back to the cafe & had some meals there. It was quite reasonably priced.
Walking back from the railway at night was a bit foolish & I guess we were quite lucky not to be mugged.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank serenity44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGiuditta, Owner at Casa Giuditta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2008

I understand this customer had 3 problems:
1) They pay too much for taxi from airport
2) They wait that our hostess meet him
3) The apartment was ok but the view from the balcony not

our answer:

1) We offer to the customers a pick up from airport for 35 euro. Customers think this is too much and in they end they pay 80 euro with taxi. City center from airport is one hour drive and about 40 km.
2) We ask to all customers to give arrival time. We wait them one hour around the time they give. We offer apartments, if you arrive in the middle of the night without inform us for sure you will wait
3) The inside of apartment was good. Palermo still suffer about 2nd world war destructions, especially in the historical center. So nice repaired building (like ours) lie near still destroyed constructions.
This is Palermo, it is its peculiarity, if you wish something more sterilized, go to Switzerland !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#142 of 490 in Palermo
80 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,362 reviews
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Giuditta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Giuditta

Address: Via Savona 10 | Piazza Della Kalsa, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Giuditta 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Giuditta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Giuditta Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing