We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever or better no experience at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista
Ranked #389 of 478 Palermo B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever or better no experience at all!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've booked a double room at the B&B Cult n' Sea Palermo in Sicily, received a confirmation and payed a non-refundable charge of 13.50 Euros with my VISA card. Upon arrival in front of the B&B which was at 1 p.m. on August 24th (we arrived shortly after at 1.30 p.m.) two rather strange guys (obviously immigrants from North Africa) stood in front of the B&B with a sheet of paper obviously waiting for the guests as the proprietor was not in the B&B herself. My name was not written on their piece of paper and so they called the "madame" as they called her and she told them that there is no reservation for us and the B&B is completely booked. The two guys were neither able to speak Italian nor English well and I suspect that these poor guys received a few Euros for waiting in front of the B&B so that "madame" can remain at home. As I speak Italian fluently I called the number given on the reservation sheet and ended up talking to "madame" personally. I've never in my life talked to another person as rude and unfriendly as this woman. She would repeat that there is no reservation at the B&B and that she has never received the amount of 13.50 Euros by anybody with my name. She told us to find another place in Palermo which is almost impossible during the month of august. She wouldn't come over to the B&B to help us, instead she told me, that she will look for another B&B and tell us. When I called her back after round about half an hour later standing in front of the B&B with the two guys she hung up the phone when she saw my number. This was an incredibly disappointing experience for us, as the three nights we booked in the B&B were our last in Sicily after a great time all around the island. I suppose I will never see the 13.50 Euros again. Luckily we found another B&B in Palermo but without the help of that woman. So I can't give any more information about the place itself.
I would like all other travellers to know about our experience. I think the so called "madame" earns her money with the reservation of rooms which she doesn't give to her guests afterwards and not only that but she obviously exploits immigrants from Africa who are seeking a job in Europe. That's not fair. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    8
    7
    15
See reviews for
1
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After our flight being delayed I was in touch with the owners to advise them we would be after 8 (check in) and she said someone would meet us there. After arriving someone was there to meet us. There is no air con in the rooms so beware it is VERY hot during summer! We had to ask the lady who came to set up breakfast in the morning who we actually checked in with and pay too so we didn't end up seeing the owner until the morning before we left. Overall a nice and comfortable stay checking in at a normal time and have no requests, eg. We ran out of toilet paper one night and couldn't get any until the next morning when they arrived for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I would not recommend this b'n'b to my worst enemy. We had a little disagreement with the owner of this b'n'b in Palermo. She wanted our money up-front in advance without giving us a receipt. We trusted her and she let us stay at the b'n'b for the three nights we payed her. The first night we came home early and we wanted to lock the door properly. We shared the b'n'b with two other women and they had already turned in for the night. So we locked the door but now we were trapped inside the apartment because the lock was old and rusty. When the owner arrived the next morning she would not stop screaming that we were crazy for locking the door and that we were spoiled brats from the north. She would make us pay for our stupidity as well as her old rusty locked door. A nice man climbed up the balcony and fixed the door for us. During the rest of our stay there she treated us with contempt. We could not afford to move (she had our money) so endured it. We hated our stay there. The owner truly is a disagreeable and intimadating lady. Don't book a room at the cult'n'sea is my advice to you if you want a pleasant stay in Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodnight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked the B&B without seeing any warnings about late arrival. After replying to several emails requesting our arrival time to confirm that we would arrive about 10pm, and not hearing any reply, as well as a phone call to confirm our arrival time, we were surprised to arrive at 9.15pm to find the place locked with no answer when ringing the bell. Another phone call resulted in us being told that our arrival time 'did not suit the owner' and we would have to stay elsewhere. An interesting start to our trip!
Luckily we were able to rearrange our stay to the Gran Maestro B&B near San Domenico, which was very nice and in a much better area of Palermo for seeing the main sights and I would recommend them instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Beautiful view from room.
Good price and centrally located. Tapas bars and restaurants around the corner.
Clean, large room (shared bathroom) with clean linen and large bath towels.
We felt at home with the host (can't remember his name). Breakfast was good.
It was a lovely stay and I can recomment it to all other people.
The day before we left my friends' suitcase broke and the had to arrange a local courier service to send back home, the owner arranged everything for her.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, although the rooms with view are a bit noisy early evenings with lots of veh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goggatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012


The service was more than we experienced. The person from the hotel came and fetched us in her car beacuse we could not find the small street where the hotel was situated. The breakfast was very, very good with new baked cakes.
The situation of the hotel was excellent with the view of the harbour with many sailing boats. The location was not far away from intressted placed in historical Parlermo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Real excellent value for money!
The room was nicely decorated and very clean. the view on the "cala"- the little bay with the boats - makes it a little treasure at a walking distance from the centre of the city.
The hosting skills of the owner are unbeatable. Furthermore her breakfast is fresh, home made and the best local ingredients are sourced one by one.
Really looking forward to go there again.
Mariarosa & Aldo from London

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryPinkAldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#129 of 478 in Palermo
78 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 101 in Palermo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
407 reviews
Politeama
PoliteamAffitti
PoliteamAffitti
#71 of 101 in Palermo
19 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista

Property: Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista
Address: Via San Sebastiano 13, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Castellammare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 478 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B from the dynamic management and welcoming atmosphere that can become your base for exploring Palermo and its attractions. Art music performances seaside holidays ..... I will offer you with our services. For anyone traveling and wants to go to the Aeolian Islands there is no better location to welcome and pamper you while waiting to take your boat: we are in 800m.dal Port of Palermo. For those arriving at the train station there is nothing more comfortable: we pick ourselves ... Our professionalism and experience are at your disposal to try to meet your every need cultnsea the artist's house offers you 3 types of rooms: SUITE DOUBLE ROOM SINGLE ROOM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta dell'Artista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cult 'N' Sea - La Casetta Dell'Artista Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing