We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great character, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great character, excellent location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The location is fantastic, only 200m from the train station and within walking distance of all the sights.

The building is very old and has great character. Hotels in Italy generally offer very poor wifi and it often only works in the lobby, but here the wifi is strong and worked in our hotel room. We were quite impressed.

The receptionists during the day spoke nearly no English, but the nighttime guy was fluent in English. This may be a problem if you need help getting somewhere, so it's best to get all the information you need the evening before.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    54
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
16
61
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is great value for the money! It is quite basic but clean and situated in a great location, in walking distance from the central station and the city center. We've only stayed for one night and it was perfect for our needs.
Service is great. The owner is a very nice and helpful person, with an interesting personality. We liked her very much.
It can be noisy at night but this is normal in large crowded cities like Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rammie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Really nice stay in Hotel Italia. If you are looking for a cheap but really nice solution for your holiday in Palermo that's the hotel for you! Hotel Italia is family run and you'll find friendly people always smiling and willing to help.
We were there for the gay pride parade and we recommend this place also as a LGBT friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucapg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Nice, clean, tidy, very well situated, very close (5 min walk) to train/bus station (Palermo centrale), very close to historic centre and to the places to go out in the evening. The staff spoke English. Breakfast to the room - just wonderful! it was just a bit noisy, since it's on one of the main streets, but we didnt come to Sicily to sleep :))))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hotel itself in a bit dated condition,lady at reception couldn't speak any English,so was very hard to communicate.Great thing about this hotel is the location,is in one of the main streets Via Roma,close to main train station,were u can catch bus to the airport also.Shower room and toilet separated from room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very nice and comfortable hotel located a few hundreds of meters from railway station.
The breakfast served to room was super! When checking in, you order which kind of a breakfast you want and the tray is delivered to your room at the time of your choice. This is what's called hospitality.
The only negative thing was that in wintertime (December), the room was rather cold. Maybe I felt so, because in Skandinavia I have used to have warm rooms in winter. There was an air-con device, which worked, but in a four meters high room the warm air stayed in the upper half of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in Hotel Italia because of its locations and price. It is situated not far from the train and bus station (which really convenient as buses from the airport arrive there) and also really close from the markets and all monuments: all are accessible in a few minutes. It is situated on an avenue whith lots of clothes shops. There are a little supermarket and tons of bars and little restaurants in the Mercato de la Vucciria, really close from the hotel. Very cool area at night as well. The hotel is situated on the 4th Floor of a building (there is an elevator) and it is like going to an appartment which is lovely. Staff is very nice and breakfast is delicious and brought up to the room at a chosen time. We loved that. Our room was very basic but confortable. I could see that there are some better rooms with balconies on the other side of the building but we had a very good deal and maybe these were more expensive. We stayed three nights and would go back. Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Regina
#41 of 101 in Palermo
199 reviews
Tribunali
Albergo Cavour
Albergo Cavour
#34 of 101 in Palermo
97 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#46 of 101 in Palermo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Vittoria
#69 of 101 in Palermo
38 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#13 of 101 in Palermo
509 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#58 of 101 in Palermo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Roma 62, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italy Hotel, located in the heart of the historic center of Palermo a few steps from the train station and the most important monuments (Cathedral, Teatro Massimo, quattro canti, etc. ...), enjoys an enviable position to experience the charm of the city.The hotel has a WI-FI completely free and a bright reading room where you can relax.Our hospitality will make you feel at home, the hotel's staff is very friendly and always glad to assist with the professional needs of tourists for the duration of his stay.Content provided courtesy of the property. The property is solely responsible for the accuracy of the information provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Italia Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing