We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Palazzo Brunaccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Brunaccini
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is fantastic accommodation in Palermo, very clean, large rooms, great service and perfect location for checking out the sights and restaurants of Palermo. Ask the staff where to eat, they suggested a fantastic local trattoria to us and we loved it. Be careful about using your SatNav to find the location, best to ring the hotel and they will give you a location you can easily reach with your SatNav and then can guide you to the hotel. Overall a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoodie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Palazzo Brunaccini is recommended first because of its location. It is really in the center of historical Palermo. It is very close to the the square of quatri cantini, to the beautiful town hall square, to the law school, and it is just a few meters from the beautiful market of Ballaroc. The surrounding of the hotel might be misleading as some of it looks a bit sleazy, but it is a superficial impression. It is a safe and lively area, by day and by night.

The hotel is small but very beautiful. It is well kept, very clean and the rooms (at least the two we stayed at) are very spacious. The staff, at the reception and in general, are very hospitable, very efficient, and always willing to help.

In short, if you go to Palermo in Sicily, which I strongly recommend as it is a great city, Palazzo Brunaccini is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our two night stay here was excellent and the hotel itself was a little oasis in the heart of the old part of the city. The room was amazing (an apartment actually) with very comfortable bed and heaps of space.
All the mains sites were within walking distance and the street market was on 50 metres away and an incredible experience itself!
Yes the google maps and other online directions were misleading but once we reverted to the old fashioned method of reading a street map we found it no problems and parking was available.
The manager assured us that they had advised Google etc to change the directions but that this was only done a few times a year and the companies hadnt done so yet.
This aside, the stay was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

So being sick in bed is not a great vacation, but I am an expert on the cleanliness of the room. This place is clean and quiet - not just OK clean, I mean no hesitation clean, even in corners. It must be pretty recently renovated. Really nice renovation in a really old building. A little warning; Italians like their beds hard. One evening there was a big celebration and lots of fireworks and we could hear it all night long, but it was faint enough that we really did sleep through most of it. And one very cool thing is that you can hear faint church bells ringing too. Loved that.

Now for info when you get more active than lying in bed...The people who work there are all very nice and seem helpful. However, it will behoove you to check and doublecheck arrangements. The first time we wanted to hire a car, a guy at the desk said that he would check out options and email me. Never did. So on the last day we asked Francesco (I think that is his name-he has a mustache) to hire a car and he did this right away. So OK if you get Mr. Mustache, not OK if someone else. [BTW, GREAT driver - Douglas Pilato +39 328 5441460. COPY HIS NUMBER. We wanted to see Greek ruins and went to Segesta. Well worth it! 130 euros for the two of us. Plus Douglas threw in a short drive to Scopello - Gorgeous! Douglas is an unusual name for a native Sicilian, ask him about it :) The desk said that he did not speak English, but I guess they meant that he did not speak fluent English, we all had a great conversation the whole way there and back and we are normal Americans who only speak English] Also, a front desk guy told us that we did not need cash for the taxi to the airport, credit card would be good and all that he needed to do was tell the taxi that it would be credit card. When we got into the taxi at 6am we asked to be sure that credit card was OK -- the taxi driver drove us to a Bancomat to get cash. Again, all nice guys, but uneven real service. Also, there is no breakfast room. They will bring breakfast to your room though.

As highly as I rate this hotel, the area is an adventure. City Center. In my final analysis - pretty fun. We ate Indian and Bangaladeshi food more than we ate Italian since that is what the neighborhood gave us. There are also tons of students and one unbelievably beautiful church. If you have visions of strolling out of your beautiful Italian hotel onto a beautiful Italian avenue after dinner - think again. You've got weird smells, mixture of races, a dark tunnel that leads to the Ballaro market. We really did feel safe, but if I were without my husband, I would not have gone out after dark. BUT the local women were out alone after dark!

We think you'll be pretty happy with the central location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night but it got our holiday in Sicily off to a great start.
We booked a junior suite but were upgraded on arrival.
The suite was amazing, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The reception staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is also very central.
A very charming boutique hotel

Room Tip: The suite was amazing for a special occasion but all the rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I regret having to write a negative review of this lovely hotel, which is a really charming place in the very heart of Palermo, just a few steps away from the Ballarò market. The reception staff is absolutely excellent, helpful and professional, the room I was given was big and elegantly furnished, the wi-fi (free!) was working allright, but I literally couldn't sleep a wink due to the noise coming not from the outside, but from *inside* the hotel! The rooms are not soundproof, and neither are the doors. There's no carpet on the floors, not even on the guestroom corridors floors. My sleep was continually interrupted by the noise of steps and loud voices in the corridor. Maddening. At 5 a.m., after a sleepless and restless night, I surrendered to the constant disturbance and got up from bed in anger. I definitely won't choose this hotel for my next stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: Take your earplugs with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LucyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Selected this hotel mainly on account of the good rating by Tripadvisor.
The location is good; very close to the Quattro Canti junction and within easy walking distance to the Cathedral and Palazzo dei Normani and the amazing Capella Palatina. But don't try to drive there as although it has parking outside, getting to it involves negotiating very narrow streets and passing a busy high school.
The staff were excellent, always very helpful (excellent recommendation for dinner nearby) and there was good wifi service. The decor is modern and kept very clean.
However because they don't have a cafe or restaurant breakfast is delivered to the room but the rooms have just a single, easy, chair and a small writing desk. This is where the puzzlement lies because the room was equipped with a small sink and hob, plus plates and sucepans; all concealed inside a wardrobe. The clothes storage area is thereby limited to a single wardrobe. So cooking facilities are provided but there isn't enough space to eat - except on the bed. Yet there is sufficient space in the ground floor lobby area to create a cafe; which would generate more income for the hotel and make life a lot easier for their guests. We couldn't understand it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshwindbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
555 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#5 of 98 in Palermo
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brunaccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brunaccini

Address: Piazzetta Lucrezia Brunaccini 9, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brunaccini 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined Boutique Hotel of 18 rooms in the heart of the old town of Palermo, Palazzo Brunaccini is a building where the charm of its history and the elegance of its design have a perfect balance. For its central position, very close to the Ballaro ancient market and the major sites of UNESCO in Palermo, it is the perfect place for those who are planning a walking tour of the city, for a deep discovery of its dynamic and cosmopolitan areas. Its romantic details and the Deluxe rooms provided with double-seat Jacuzzi or the elegant Suite rooms, makes Palazzo Brunaccini the perfect hotel for a romantic escape or honey-moon travel. The hotel has 18 rooms on different levels, all created with the focus on our guests’ demands: marvelous wooden beam ceilings, romantic poster beds, furnished patios, lofts and precious pieces of antique period furniture. The hotel is equipped with a very charming and unique restaurant that offer 100% biological local products and wines that remind the ancient flavors of the traditional Sicilian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Brunaccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brunaccini Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing