We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace in the Ghetto”
Review of Palazzo Brunaccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Brunaccini
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Walking through the doors is like entering another world. Neighboring buildings are (as is most of the area) poor appearing. We were there one night--only glitch was no water over the night! The problem was resolved by 9 am.
Don't miss the amazing church around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausuto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay.

We only stayed two nights, but wish we had more time in Palermo just to explore more.

The hotel itself is very nicely done and our welcome when we walked in from the station was very warm and professional. Check in was smooth and without problem.
The front desk was always staffed at all times and ready with helpful advice.

Our room was spacious with high ceilings and a nice balcony to step out on.
It is all very tastefully done — although they did seem to have made a deal with an artist to buy all his/her paintings of Etna in eruption… ;)

A couple things could be improved — there is only one towel hook in the bathroom. So where do you leave your damp ones?
Pillows? Only one each — and a tad hard and thin.

The public areas a spaciuos and well equipped.
I understand that hotels would like to economise on electricity, but movement-activated light sensors in the corridors are perhaps not the best idea… the sensors fitted do not work properly so you have some dark areas which are not very attractive on the way to your room.

We did not try the restaurant on this occasion as there were just too many choices in Palermo to explore.

Finally. Many reviews here have written about the area of Ballero and how uncomfortable some people seem to be there.
We were more than happy to be there.
We felt as safe as in any other city and on both nights came back to the hotel after midnight.
Only thing I would say is, if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. The area gets very lively late at night.

I loved the Palazzo Brunaccini and only wish them well. I will definitely be staying there again next time I am in Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akroterion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is fantastic accommodation in Palermo, very clean, large rooms, great service and perfect location for checking out the sights and restaurants of Palermo. Ask the staff where to eat, they suggested a fantastic local trattoria to us and we loved it. Be careful about using your SatNav to find the location, best to ring the hotel and they will give you a location you can easily reach with your SatNav and then can guide you to the hotel. Overall a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoodie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Palazzo Brunaccini is recommended first because of its location. It is really in the center of historical Palermo. It is very close to the the square of quatri cantini, to the beautiful town hall square, to the law school, and it is just a few meters from the beautiful market of Ballaroc. The surrounding of the hotel might be misleading as some of it looks a bit sleazy, but it is a superficial impression. It is a safe and lively area, by day and by night.

The hotel is small but very beautiful. It is well kept, very clean and the rooms (at least the two we stayed at) are very spacious. The staff, at the reception and in general, are very hospitable, very efficient, and always willing to help.

In short, if you go to Palermo in Sicily, which I strongly recommend as it is a great city, Palazzo Brunaccini is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our two night stay here was excellent and the hotel itself was a little oasis in the heart of the old part of the city. The room was amazing (an apartment actually) with very comfortable bed and heaps of space.
All the mains sites were within walking distance and the street market was on 50 metres away and an incredible experience itself!
Yes the google maps and other online directions were misleading but once we reverted to the old fashioned method of reading a street map we found it no problems and parking was available.
The manager assured us that they had advised Google etc to change the directions but that this was only done a few times a year and the companies hadnt done so yet.
This aside, the stay was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

So being sick in bed is not a great vacation, but I am an expert on the cleanliness of the room. This place is clean and quiet - not just OK clean, I mean no hesitation clean, even in corners. It must be pretty recently renovated. Really nice renovation in a really old building. A little warning; Italians like their beds hard. One evening there was a big celebration and lots of fireworks and we could hear it all night long, but it was faint enough that we really did sleep through most of it. And one very cool thing is that you can hear faint church bells ringing too. Loved that.

Now for info when you get more active than lying in bed...The people who work there are all very nice and seem helpful. However, it will behoove you to check and doublecheck arrangements. The first time we wanted to hire a car, a guy at the desk said that he would check out options and email me. Never did. So on the last day we asked Francesco (I think that is his name-he has a mustache) to hire a car and he did this right away. So OK if you get Mr. Mustache, not OK if someone else. [BTW, GREAT driver - Douglas Pilato +39 328 5441460. COPY HIS NUMBER. We wanted to see Greek ruins and went to Segesta. Well worth it! 130 euros for the two of us. Plus Douglas threw in a short drive to Scopello - Gorgeous! Douglas is an unusual name for a native Sicilian, ask him about it :) The desk said that he did not speak English, but I guess they meant that he did not speak fluent English, we all had a great conversation the whole way there and back and we are normal Americans who only speak English] Also, a front desk guy told us that we did not need cash for the taxi to the airport, credit card would be good and all that he needed to do was tell the taxi that it would be credit card. When we got into the taxi at 6am we asked to be sure that credit card was OK -- the taxi driver drove us to a Bancomat to get cash. Again, all nice guys, but uneven real service. Also, there is no breakfast room. They will bring breakfast to your room though.

As highly as I rate this hotel, the area is an adventure. City Center. In my final analysis - pretty fun. We ate Indian and Bangaladeshi food more than we ate Italian since that is what the neighborhood gave us. There are also tons of students and one unbelievably beautiful church. If you have visions of strolling out of your beautiful Italian hotel onto a beautiful Italian avenue after dinner - think again. You've got weird smells, mixture of races, a dark tunnel that leads to the Ballaro market. We really did feel safe, but if I were without my husband, I would not have gone out after dark. BUT the local women were out alone after dark!

We think you'll be pretty happy with the central location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night but it got our holiday in Sicily off to a great start.
We booked a junior suite but were upgraded on arrival.
The suite was amazing, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The reception staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is also very central.
A very charming boutique hotel

Room Tip: The suite was amazing for a special occasion but all the rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
493 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
540 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brunaccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brunaccini

Address: Piazzetta Lucrezia Brunaccini 9, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £61 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brunaccini 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined Boutique Hotel of 18 rooms in the heart of the old town of Palermo, Palazzo Brunaccini is a building where the charm of its history and the elegance of its design have a perfect balance. For its central position, very close to the Ballaro ancient market and the major sites of UNESCO in Palermo, it is the perfect place for those who are planning a walking tour of the city, for a deep discovery of its dynamic and cosmopolitan areas. Its romantic details and the Deluxe rooms provided with double-seat Jacuzzi or the elegant Suite rooms, makes Palazzo Brunaccini the perfect hotel for a romantic escape or honey-moon travel. The hotel has 18 rooms on different levels, all created with the focus on our guests’ demands: marvelous wooden beam ceilings, romantic poster beds, furnished patios, lofts and precious pieces of antique period furniture. The hotel is equipped with a very charming and unique restaurant that offer 100% biological local products and wines that remind the ancient flavors of the traditional Sicilian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Brunaccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brunaccini Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing