We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track choice in Palermo”
Review of Palazzo Brunaccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Brunaccini
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is located at a small piazza at Ballaro, the old centre of Palermo. We were surrounded by old and some decadent buildings, but it all added charm to the place. It is just steps away from the local market - which is definetly a must go. Our room was clean and confortable, well furnished and modern. The bathroom was small and dark in comparison. I understood that is was an old palace turned into a small hotel. The staff is not prepared to deal with tourists, as they all behave like they are at home: they speak loud, they shout, they seem not to realize that other people are there. Ok, we are in Sicily, but we are paying like 200eur without breakfast. One afternoon I asked my 13 year old daughter to go to the frontdesk and ask for the safe keys - which they should have handled at the check-in- but she came back empty handed because she thought the man at the reception was having a huge argument with another guest. And he ignored her, by the way.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sim0ne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent 3 nights here within a stone's throw of the Ballaro market. Superb accommodation,the service was personal ,professional and efficient. We found the location convenient however a small part of the adjoining area at night could be seen as lively/intimidating. You can choose to approach the property from a less lively direction so not a big problem but what was priceless was the atmosphere of the market itself a real treat and great to be part of everyday Palermo. If driving to here get good directions it is easy to get to if you get it right. If not good luck.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bleddyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is located on a small place in a very animated area due to its closeness to open air market Ballaro. Surrounding streets can be noisy at night but it is perfectly safe. Chiesa del Gesù is next door and it is an easy walk to most of the main sites of Palermo such as the Piazza Pretoria and the Martorana, the Quatro Conti and the cathedral.
Don't use your GPS to access the hotel like we did. Fortunately we've been lucky enough to find a cyclist who showed us the way through the maze of small narrow streets. Set your GPS to the corner of via Maqueda and via del Ponticello and follow the signs.
A private parking is available but it was full when we arrived and to get a parking place on the piazzetta may be tricky. Don't hesitate to leave the keys with the receptionist and the piazzetta's watchman. They will move your car to the first available spot.
The palace has been tastefully renovated using traditional materials (e.g. marble) together with modern fixtures. Our room had a large downstairs area with sofa, desk, flat TV, free WiFi including the bathroom and a kitchenette and stairs to the bedroom in mezzanine. The bathroom was somehow a bit exiguous but good with basic amenities. Comfortable, spotless and well kept.
The staff, be at the reception, at the restaurant or in general are very warm, very efficient and very helpful, always prepared to assist in any way they can, in short faultless.
Breakfast was good and extensive with a la carte choices for coffee and eggs.
On our first evening we decided to try the newly open restaurant (open since March) where we opted for a seafood meal and it was a pleasant surprise: impeccable service, excellent food, lots of creativity in presentation, recommended good wine. We had dinner on another evening, this time trying the meat option and it was the same pleasure.
A great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel including the staff were fantastic! The area behind the hotel can be slightly intimidating at night but during the day it is a lively market. At night if you leave the hotel and hang a right towards Via Marqueda there are many excellent restaurants and little shops. I would highly recommend this hotel, its tricky to find the first time if you use GPS but if you follow Via Marqueda and take a right on Via Ponticello you can follow the signs posted for the hotel and its no sweat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked the Palazzo Brunaccini because it was listed as a bed and breakfast and was very reasonably priced. Well, imagine our surprise when we arrived at an honest to God Pallazo. Formerly the palace of the princes of Brunaccini, it was heavily damaged during WW2 and recently lovingly restored over a twenty year period. Beautifully done in polished marble with a first class restaurant it is a delight. The renovation continues with more rooms and a spa in the works. The neighborhood is a little iffy, but there is a lively street market only a few meters away. It is located only a few blocks from the "Four Corners", the central focus of the city, where a number of interesting churches are available for visits, for a fee. Right next to the Pallazo, however, is the Chiesa Gesu which you can visit for free and which is an amazing example of over the top roccocco church art. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for one night in this hotel in a fabulous room, clean and modern fixtures in an old building, comfortable four poster bed, two balconies, amazing bathroom really couldn't ask for more.

The hotel is rather difficult to find and for tours it's like us just off the ferry from Palermo a bit of a challenge however they emailed us a day before our visit with directions and there are several signs to help you.

Sadly we did not try the restaurant but did call in for a drink so could see that the food looked lovely and service was good.

Would highly reccomend

Room Tip: We had a corner room, a junior suite I think and had 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just returned from spending four nights at this fantastic hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We were upgraded to a junior suite which had a very large downstairs area with sofas, table and chairs and stairs up to a mezzanine floor on which the bedroom and bathroom were located. There was a fridge and microwave available in the room plus a lovely balcony area. The décor in the hotel was tasteful and elegant, the staff charming and helpful and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Some of the other reviewers have warned that the hotel is located in a 'ghetto' - all I can say is that anyone coming to stay here who lives in or is familiar with any inner city area would have no issues at all with the location. At no time did we feel unsafe and the hotel is very well situated for accessing all the local sightseeing spots. I would say that visitors should be aware of the live music that is performed in the adjacent square every Sunday night, however - very loud and could certainly be heard until the early hours in our part of the hotel. My advice would be to either avoid stays that include Sunday night if this would bother you unduly or, alternatively, go and join the party!
I would most definitely stay again and thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSIrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
550 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#3 of 98 in Palermo
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brunaccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brunaccini

Address: Piazzetta Lucrezia Brunaccini 9, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £59 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brunaccini 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined Boutique Hotel of 18 rooms in the heart of the old town of Palermo, Palazzo Brunaccini is a building where the charm of its history and the elegance of its design have a perfect balance. For its central position, very close to the Ballaro ancient market and the major sites of UNESCO in Palermo, it is the perfect place for those who are planning a walking tour of the city, for a deep discovery of its dynamic and cosmopolitan areas. Its romantic details and the Deluxe rooms provided with double-seat Jacuzzi or the elegant Suite rooms, makes Palazzo Brunaccini the perfect hotel for a romantic escape or honey-moon travel. The hotel has 18 rooms on different levels, all created with the focus on our guests’ demands: marvelous wooden beam ceilings, romantic poster beds, furnished patios, lofts and precious pieces of antique period furniture. The hotel is equipped with a very charming and unique restaurant that offer 100% biological local products and wines that remind the ancient flavors of the traditional Sicilian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Brunaccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brunaccini Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing