We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new boutique hotel in historic centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Brunaccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Brunaccini
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“new boutique hotel in historic centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

very smart and elegantly decorated but in a very run down area.Our suite was lovely but needed more thought. No hooks on bathroom door, glass wall missing on shower.Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Felt unsafe at night so always took taxis to restaurants, but handbag was stolen in the street nearby in daytime.

Room Tip: suite on two floors very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff Reception R, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Brunaccini, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and for the compliments for our staff!
In your room there were two bathrooms, the one at first floor is missing of the glass wall of the shower beacause it is a disabled person bathroom.
We're very very sorry for your bad experience about the stolen of your handbag, but we're also proud of our police service that the day after had call you to recognize the probable guilty!

Thank you again and we really hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    157
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
56
270
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights last month, and were really pleased with our choice. The hotel is elegantly decorated throughout, and our room was great! It was a really good size, with a four-poster bed and space for a small sofa and table and chairs, all nicely decorated in creamy colours, and super-clean. Plenty of storage space (although I always find that hotels never have enough hangers in the wardrobes...?!). The ensuite bathroom was also nicely decorated, and although not huge, was big enough for us.

We found the staff generally helpful and friendly. We had the breakfast for two mornings that we were there, and felt that there was a good range of options in the buffet (eg. bread, cakes, fruit, cold meats and cheeses etc), as well as a couple of hot options made to order. It is quite expensive admittedly, but I guess you just need to make sure you get your money's worth :)!

Finally, as many reviewers have mentioned, the area surrounding the hotel is not exactly pretty, and might feel a bit intimidating at night - however, we didn't have any problems at all, and to be honest, a lot of Palermo is a bit rough around the edges but that doesn't automatically mean it's unsafe! We really enjoyed our stay there, and found Palazzo Brunaccini to be a good, reasonably priced option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We drove to hotel following directions on Sat-Nav but since access to hotel is only possible through a warren of very narrow and edgy streets, some of which close on market days, we eventually gave up and had to resort to hiring a taxi (€15 for the privilege) and following it to find hotel.
Pedestrian access is via the same poorly lit streets and another guest had her necklace torn from her neck in broad daylight within fifty metres of hotel. Incidentally, the same thing happened to my wife the previous evening, but in our case it happened on Via Napoli, some distance from hotel, so we can't blame that on hotel location although this problem seems to be endemic in Palermo.
When booking, we had requested a quiet room with bath, away from lift - we got a room with shower right beside the lift. Despite advertising WiFi throughout hotel there was no service available in our room on first floor -I mentioned this to desk who promised to resolve it but nothing improved.
Before leaving, I needed to phone the company from whom we had rented a car in Catania and asked for assistance from front desk since there was no service on my cellphone in the reception area. The young lady behind the desk although polite, suggested that I step outside the hotel where reception would be better, even though I clearly needed to refer to documents and take notes etc. - hence my rating on service.
The room itself and bathroom were fine, but €12 p.p. for breakfast is a bit steep on top of room rate, particularly in view of the lack of acceptable alternatives in the immediate area.

Room Tip: If driving, get clear directions from hotel - don't rely on Sat-Nav/Google maps as they don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troupador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Despite the fact that we booked this hotel for 5 nights we were given the smallest room with kitchenette being torn out of the wall. We're told by Samuel in the front that had we booked it directly and not through Venere we could have gotten an upgrade since those guys work on commission. But the neighborhood is the real problem. Unsafe, dirty even by Palermo standards, seedy! The room was clean. Bathroom was modern and nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5X6BEHHuKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have stayed here several times in the past 12 months and just love it. Initially I was a bit wary of the area but it's actually a really interesting mixture of ancient, restored, bombed, cultural and ethnic. The shabby but fabulous Ballaro market is on the doorstep. So too is an incredible church, library, handbag shop and somewhere I bought an incredible necklace (E15 for spoon handles!)
The hotel is really comfortable with great linen, bathrooms, fridges, spoiling Ortigia products in the bathrooms and outstanding staff. The breakfast is great ( expensive if not included so if you are into roughing it, head to the market, turn left and stop at the first coffee shop. Breakfast will be E6 for 2). Sadly I have never had a chance to eat at the chic restaurant within the hotel but all I know who have, say it's really fab. The menu looks great and I see the wine cave winking at me whenever I walk past. So thank you Palazzo Brunaccini - I love what you do and what you offer.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 rooms and they they are all different but great. They are all of the same standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The view is central urban Palermo - a mixture of old, new, restored and under restoration....... We stayed here the last two nights of our stay in Sicily and it was just perfect - location and the hotel. We were able to happily walk to all the major sites and out of dinner on both evenings. The day before we were due to arrive we received an email from the hotel with driving directions and we found the hotel without any issue - other than having to drive past the local church, just as all the guests were arriving for a wedding - fortunately our little Fiat 500 was able to cope and we didn't have any problems with parking in the piazza outside the hotel, leaving the key with the hotel in case it needed to be moved. Our room was spacious and beautifully done, comfortable bed with crisp linens and a lovely big shower with fluffy showers (a bath might have been nice for the space available). Though oddly it appears to have been a studio apartment before and there was still evidence of this in the cupboards. We paid the extra for breakfast on the first day, but really think that for the rate the hotel was charging for the rooms that breakfast should have been included in the price (the only real negative about the hotel, and we knew that before we arrived that that was the situation, so not really a negative). Breakfast was served in a lovely sun filled outside courtyard.
Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a short city break spot.
And directions to the airport on our morning of departure were perfect too.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brunaccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brunaccini

Property: Palazzo Brunaccini
Address: Piazzetta Lucrezia Brunaccini 9, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brunaccini 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined Boutique Hotel of 18 rooms in the heart of the old town of Palermo, Palazzo Brunaccini is a building where the charm of its history and the elegance of its design have a perfect balance. For its central position, very close to the Ballaro ancient market and the major sites of UNESCO in Palermo, it is the perfect place for those who are planning a walking tour of the city, for a deep discovery of its dynamic and cosmopolitan areas. Its romantic details and the Deluxe rooms provided with double-seat Jacuzzi or the elegant Suite rooms, makes Palazzo Brunaccini the perfect hotel for a romantic escape or honey-moon travel. The hotel has 18 rooms on different levels, all created with the focus on our guests’ demands: marvelous wooden beam ceilings, romantic poster beds, furnished patios, lofts and precious pieces of antique period furniture. The hotel is equipped with a very charming and unique restaurant that offer 100% biological local products and wines that remind the ancient flavors of the traditional Sicilian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Brunaccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brunaccini Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing