We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Palermo suburb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bonocore Maletto
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Heyou2
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem in Palermo suburb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff saved our holiday. A mix up in booking left us without suitable accommodation 4 hours before we left for Sicily... We found a possibility with the Villa and a quick exchange of emails confirmed a solution for four of us for the week. On arrival late in Palermo airport Rosanna one of their really friendly staff organised a taxi and settled us in. Form then on we enjoyed the relaxing environment, good advice on places to visit and attentive friendly people for the week. It would have been easy for Villa Bonocore Maletto to have said no to our booking but we will be ever grateful they did not! Not suitable for young children but excellent for us with 2 teenagers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    56
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
68
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Lovely Villa set in own grounds with beautiful gardens. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and good facilities. Spacious rooms, well equipped. Great breakfast. Reasonably close to Palermo (if you have your own car), and convenient to the airport. The hotel would be difficult, almost impossible, to find without a sat-nav. Also close to seaside at Mondello (again by car). Other reviewers have mentioned the Palermo traffic- and they don't exaggerate. If you're intent on seeing Palermo's sights, you will need to drive in towards the city and try to find parking on the northern outskirts of the tourist area- if you drive too far you will spend a big proportion of your holiday time sitting in traffic jams.
The hotel gardens are quite beautiful and ideal for a quiet evening (or daytime!) spent reading or just contemplating your navel.
The hotel hosts functions- on one of the nights we were there, there was a large wedding reception in progress. However, the function room is sufficiently far away from the bedrooms that it's not a problem.

There are some downsides. Minor complaints are that the wi-fi did not work in our room (had to go to the reception area), though the room was equipped with cabled internet access. Immediate surroundings outside the grounds of the Villa are a bit dreary and not suitable for walks etc., so anything more than a one or two nights stay would be a bit of a problem. As other reviewers have pointed out, the Hotel does not have a restaurant, and they could not recommend anywhere within walking distance, so you have to drive to somewhere like Mondello for lunch or evening meals (just a few km distant). This is not a major issue if you have your own transport, though it does restrict the driver's ability to partake of a glass or two of wine, and it prevents one having a relaxing hang-around type of day. With a restaurant in the hotel, or close by, I would award this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My partner and I recently spent five nights at this hotel, during a trip to Sicily to visit cousins. I would highly recommend this hotel to others, especially Americans, who are visiting the Palermo area. Our chief criteria was to find an upscale place midway between Partinico and Bagheria, where the various cousins live. Although a handful of hotels in downtown Palermo also fit this criteria, those unfamiliar with Palermo need to be aware of how hectic and difficult it can be to drive in this densely-populated, frenetic city. The Villa has the advantage of being only a few minutes off the main autostrade.

Don't be put off by the somewhat grungy neighborhood that surrounds the building. The hotel is an old villa that has been transferred into a hotel and meeting facility. There is a fairly large spa/"wellness center" there which we did not try. But the rooms are clean, airy, high-ceilinged and reasonably-priced. Breakfast is included, as well as free WiFi. There is no restaurant onsite for lunch or dinner, but that was not a factor for us since we were occupied with family visits during these meals.

The hotel staff are very accommodating and friendly. Their English is very good. Props to Davide and Hector at the front desk for their prompt attention to our needs and inquiries. There is also a very decent breakfast spread (Continental with some meats and cheeses), attended to by a very friendly chef (eggs to order).

We plan to return to this establishment in a few years for our next family reunion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtrpguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on the way to Palermo airport. We wished we'd stayed longer! The hotel is stunning, the room was big and spotless and furnished beautifully.
There is no restaurant but only 10 mins away from mondello.
The service was so friendly and welcoming, even bringing a delicious breakfast to our room in time for us to leave for our flight.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarvBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
357 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We booked this hotel for the last two nights of our holiday in view of the fact it was convenient for Mondello Beach and the airport. We approached the hotel with trepidation in view of the rather dirty and run down streets, and the fact the hotel was just off the autostrada. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find a refurbished Villa set in lovely gardens (surrounded by a high wall so that one could not see the surrounding area). The hotel also boasts a spa and a very attractive small swimming pool. The hotel is fairly new, and the staff worked hard to please guests. It was pretty obvious that most guests were 'one nighters' en route to the airport. One big advantage of this hotel is that those with cars can park easily and safely. We were delighted to find that the hotel is within easy walking distance of Nino Parrucca's pottery factory, where we found a marvellous selection of his products and saw his craftsmen working. This was a huge bonus which we felt the hotel could promote to their guests! We also found a couple of little inexpensive places to eat and a huge superstore within walking distance.
This hotel does not offer dinner, only breakfast and snacks during the day. Our room was cleaned whilst we had breakfast but there was not a lot of attention to detail - our floor was very dusty. We also felt that security was not sufficiently tight as there were gates left open onto common ground full of rubble.
I would recommend this hotel to those wanting to be close to the airport or wanting to visit Mondello.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This fancy Villa Hotel is newly renovated and probably a perfect spot for a wedding, conference or a gathering for a number of people. Unfortunately, or luckily, depending on how you see this I think I and my wife were the only guests in the place. We stayed for two nights.

Of course we did not get what we reserved with Hotels.com this time either. Why do we keep on booking with them? 4th time the last two years we either don't have a reservation at all or a poor one compared to what we booked. This time we expected a terrace outside. No terraces existed in this hotel though.

Except for that, the building and the surroundings are fashionable and the staff very helpful and kind.

Since we arrived a bit late we asked if there was a restaurant in the hotel. The answer was yes and we booked a table for the evening. Not very much needed since we where the only guests, and also because it showed out to be out of food. Only snacks or salads. We choosed salad and got some tomatoes on a bed of poor iceberg salad. Compensated with a very good wine.

Breakfast in the morning was better according to Italian norms. A lot of pastries, a fantastic coffee, and also nice fruits and breads. No actual food like scrambled eggs, sausages etc.

Check out was quick (well, there was no one to queue with..)

A place definitely to come to by your own car, or you are stuck. A free,not guarded, parking was available just outside the hotel

There were spa facilities that we never tried.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwartzenegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were doubtful because we looked at Google streetview photo's before booking. Turned out that the photos where old and the hotel had been completelly renewed 1,5 years ago. We liked our stay very much. The pool of the Spa was free of charge for hotel guests. We also used full Spa services - as well a positive surprise. The hotel is suitable for guests with car or if one can afford the extra 15-20 euro taxi-trips to Palermo centre or to the fantastic beach in Mondello where the local Palermo-residents relax (not many tourists). We continued our travel by rental car from Avis; they brought the car to our hotel ( 35 euro extra) . Also the services of Avis we found excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondello Palace Hotel
#52 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bonocore Maletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bonocore Maletto

Property: Villa Bonocore Maletto
Address: Via Salvatore Minutilla 3 | Cardillo, 90147, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bonocore Maletto 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Bonocore Maletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bonocore Maletto Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing