We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a King or Queen.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a beautiful hotel this is. When you walk around in the various halls and rooms, you see portrets of famous guests, among them the former king of Greece and meglia. The room is grand, the bed (boxspring) is a bit hard but OK. The airconditioning is loud, and blows directly over the bed, which is not nice. We had to let it work all the time, most of the days it was abt 30 degr. C.
There is a wonderfull outside terrace, also one by the swimming pool, amazing views over the bay towards the old city.
Negative were the prices. For a hamburger 24, for a glass of wine, 8, and a complete dinner costs more then 200. Also the prices of the minibar are far too high. Negative also is the extreme high price if WiFi, because we both have an iPad we paid twice 9 @ a day, 90 @ for 5 days! We have been in many hotels in Europe and the most have free WiFi.
Taxi to town, there is a shuttle, but it doesn't function well, especcially on the way back. Taxifares: cheapest was 12, the highest was 30! Never accept the meter, allways try a fixed price of max 20.
Traffic in Palermo is a disaster, but we managed the keep our hired car undamaged.
OK, breakfast is delicious, various fresh drinks, champagne, lots of sweets, you ask, you get.
The meals in the restaurant were good, but not fantastic. The chateaubriand a bit dry, little contorni, wine very expensive, though beautiful wines.
Tip for the pranzo ( lunch) when you have it outside at the pool: take just one and share it.
No welness or fitness.

Room Tip: take a room at the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank You very much for the time You spent with us and for us, Your opinion is very important for our Job, we hope to see You soon in our property.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for three nights in this expensive, luxury, classic, old grandeur hotel in September. Everywhere in the impressive corridors you can admire pictures of kings and queens and other celebrities who visited the hotel in the past, and occasionally we felt we were just one of them. The hotel is wonderfully situated along the coast outside Palermo (taxi drive of 10-15 minutes; costs 15 – 20 Euro) , with great views to the sea from the superb terraces and the pleasant, well-kept mediterranean garden. There is a nice pool attended by friendly staff. The chief concierge was extremely adequate and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and particularly pleasant on the terrace overlooking the sea and part of the Palermo harbor.
Having said this, the hotel has some negative features. The AC was noisy and we had to switch this off during the night. Of course, most pleasant things have their price and obviously this Villa is not an exception and certainly not a place to visit when travelling on a shoestring. When you book here you know this. However…..while nearly all hotels worldwide, from -1 to 5 stars, nowadays offer free WIFI, this is not the case here, and this will set you back around 12-14 Euros/night, believe it or not!! Bar prices are unfriendly high – a cocktail costs at least around 13-14 Euros. Prices of the mini bar are also crazy, but this is a classic, extremely customer unfriendly policy of almost all hotels. (we stopped wondering why a long time ago). The good thing about this is probably that it will absolutely prevent visitors from drinking too much. A hamburger at the pool restaurant will set you back around 22-24 Euros (!!) and a simple salad approximately 13 Euros. So the suggestion is: act as an hotel that really loves its guests, ask realistic prices and – of course – stop with this crazy internet policy! Then the hotel will we close to perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_vanbuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Sir/ Madame,
thank You very much for the time You spent to write Your comment, Your opinion is very important for us. We'll surely take Your suggestion in a way to improve all our services, we really hope to see You again and have the possibility to meet You personally, thank You again.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Beautiful Liberty-style hotel, immaculately kept, sumptuous public areas, friendly and informed staff, good restaurant. On a hill overlooking the sea away from the centre. Only negative points: wifi is not free, my shower needed to be changed (insufficient water pressure, no hand shower, door not fully closing) and I was given a room in a side building so I did not have a view). Also, the AC sounded quite noisy but I turned it off as the temperature was pleasant.
Be careful with the taxi drivers on site as they tend to charge immaginative fares. Use the hotel shuttle whenever possible.
Wonderful outdoor bar, prices matching the class of the premises but the put out a nice little light buffet that is included in the price of your cocktail.

Room Tip: Ask for a garde-side room on a higher floor so you can enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcd1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. It is was one of the most luxurious hotels I have stayed in. The views of the marina are stunning especially from the breakfast cafe. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There is a hotel German Shephard dog that is the hotel dog. It's very friendly and roams the hotel grounds freely. My husband loves dogs and liked the idea of a hotel dog but I was a bit apprehensive and let out a few screams when the dog happened to pounce on us at night.
The hotel grounds are also monitored closely by CCTV so you are very safe at all times.
The lobby and hotel interior are beautiful and have a lot of character. The paintings, architecture, and decor make you feel like you have stepped back in time and I loved exploring the hotel.
The staff are all incredibly polite and saw to all our requests.
We had a sea view room that we paid extra for and it was definitely worth it.
The pool is well maintained and there is a massage kiosk where you can get a daily hour or half hour massage. It is quite expensive as are most things in the hotel. Wifi is extortionate and the cost of this and laundry service would be our two main complaints.
There is a hotel van that takes you to downtown Palermo and to Mondella beach. It runs timely and you have to book a place in advance. I would definitely recommend this as taxis in Palermo are extortionate, especially the meter ones. The starting cost on meter taxis is between 4 and 5 Euros, and the whole journey to Palermo can set you back 20Euros.
Mondella beach is one of the worlds best kept secrets. It's white sand and sea green water is more beautiful than some beaches I have visited in Thailand and Mauritious. In September the weather was still warm enough to spend the day swimming in the sea and sunbathing.
All in all a gorgeous hotel. Even if you don't stay here I would recommend you visit it if you are in Palermo to admire its beauty and history.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arfy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stunning bay views from our suite were the highlight here. Overall, excellent service. Although one concierge seemed a bit smug, high-maintenance customers were hounding the concierge and front desks the whole time during our stay. They could not provide detailed maps to neighboring towns. Our room was spacious and clean with the exception of a badly stained carpet than needed to be replaced. Lunch by the pool, including hand-picked selections, was delicious, and the Anjimbe white wine was a perfect accompaniment. The otherwise beautiful pool experience was ruined by an obnoxious family and loud, uncontrollable children which scared us away, but this is somewhat beyond the hotel's control. Still, a solid destination.

Room Tip: Driving in Palermo is chaotic and stressful (and I drive a lot), and the hotel is in the middle of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

an amazing place, out of time, spectacularly scenic, expensive but really great. Luxury, great concierge and staff, beautiful breakfast. If you can afford it, don't hesitate, it's another world and enjoy it

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

an amazing view and a beautiful residence, surrounded by a relaxing garden: the hotel used to be a residencial villa: the rooms are big and plenty of light, with high celing and big bathrooms.
it is perfect for a quiet and relaxing weekend, it has 2 pools and amazing seaview terraces on the garden. service is puntcual and very discreet.
if you are there to visit palermo consider to rent a car or note that it will take 15 minutes by cab to reach the centre: the hotel arises on a hill between palero and mondello but none of the 2 destinations are walking distance. i dnt think there is public transportantion lnking the hotel wth the centre.
breakfast is served on a beautiful sunny terrace, great selection for every taste.
a perfect desitnation to escape and feeling spoiled.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 98 in Palermo
797 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#18 of 98 in Palermo
504 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £101 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing