We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in a dirty, smelly city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“An oasis in a dirty, smelly city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in June 2013. It was our first trip to Palermo. First--the city is dirty, congested, noisy, garbage-filled and generally unpleasant many ways. If you don't have to visit this city, I would NOT recommend it. But if you do visit, I highly recommend this hotel, it's an oasis of relaxation far from the chaos that is Palermo. The hotel is from the turn of the century and has an air of rest and relaxation to it. The staff is very professional and polite. The breakfast is out of this world with a stunning sea view. It's a full salad bar, fruit bar, cerals, bread, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh-squeezed juices, and coffees for the asking. Get there early to get a great view and then enjoy! There is a small shuttle to the city, which was typically booked, so we took a 15E taxi to downtown. Room was very quiet, has a big bath, and we found it clean and very comfortable. Internet is 8.95E a day, and worked all over hotel--even in the gardens. Be sure to explore all the rooms in this hotel--the wine bar is stunning, the ball room is grand and there are plenty of sitting areas to relax and read. It's a great escape from Palermo.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for the feedback regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are pleased to know that You found our location to Your liking and that You spent many relaxing moments in the various areas of our Hotel.
We really hope to see You again in our property.
Best Regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    391
    157
    77
    47
See reviews for
244
698
42
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very pretty hotel with a gorgeous garden and view of the water. The rooms are very clean and the patio adjoining our room was private and very nice. Breakfast is good as long as you arrive early. The terrace is very inviting and the view is beautiful. The bar is also lovely and the service was very good. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but we enjoyed relaxing by the pool and taking in the beauty of the property. Easy access to your car if you need to get to it. Highly recommend this spot...it is the perfect escape from a busy city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You very much for Your feedback regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are very happy that You appreciated the beauty of our spaces and that Your stay has been to Your liking.
We hope to welcome You back again as soon as possible.
Best Regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Palermo is claustrophobic and Villa Igiea is wonderfully sited to enjoy the sea views, and leave behind the dust and traffic of the town.

I am surprised at some of the critical reviews below - the service was efficient & friendly - the food was delicious. The hotel lived up to its 5 star rating for us.

The only regret I have is we booked through Easyjet who ripped us off on the price and I advise everyone to book through trip advisor. Never book anything through Easyjet. Not the Igiea's problem - we only found out when we extended our stay 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You very much for Your kind words about Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.We hope to see You again in our property.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and a good time. Not central but they have a scheduled (but small) free shuttle bus into Palermo and along the coast to Mondello. We had a car from day 3 (for the rest of our 10 days on Sicily) but driving is a challenge around Palermo - learn to drive like a Palermitan!!
We had a Deluxe Double with sea view which was spacious but did suffer from a poor smell when the air-con was off. The chairs also needed re-covering and stitching as there were too many marks and splits.
Service was good at reception but was a bit erratic at dinner. We ate there 3 times (last free hotel shuttle to Palermo is only 1950) and twice we had long delays which were blamed on 'La cucina! Pah'. We laughed and had a free pudding but others might be less charitable?
Food was very good and, as others say, the breakfast buffet was extensive. Dinner was equally good but we did miss a bit of top cuisine.
Like a previous reviewer, we also stayed at the Villa Timeo in Taormina (after Palermo however) but it may be unfair to compare - although the difference is apparent. Italian 5-stars are not the same as elsewhere (as our agent warned us) and we didn't receive an itemised bill for our trip i.e. maybe the prices differ significantly between the hotels.
Overall? Maybe just a touch or two off 5-star but not a disaster. Probably the best option for Palermo and would visit again if in Palermo.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dguycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for Your feedback regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We appreciate Your comment and we thank You for the time you spent for us. We hope to welcome You back again as soon as possible.

Best Regards

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

After staying at the Timeo in Taormina, we went up to Palermo for three days and stayed at the Villa Igiea. What a "let down." The rooms were clean but decor not to our suiting -- clearly a personal issue.

however, the quality of the cuisine for dinner was average at best and the service -- basically non existent (in terms of a 5 star hotel).

Breakfast buffet was fine and the women waitresses who handled this service were very good. They should let them work the dinner shift.

Overall, grounds were not well maintained and the hotel looked "tired." A local relayed to us that the local Italian group that owns this hotel plus several others in Sicily (including the San Domenico in Taorma) is facing financial challenges. It was evident something was "afoot" here.

However, there aren't many great places to stay in Palermo. If we should go back, we would likely see if there is a more upscale resort nearby Palermo since sightseeing in Palermo proper can be done within 1 1/2 days if not one day.

BTW, when we asked to schedule massages at the same time for both my wife and I, we were advised that the hotel only had one massuere!!!! 5 Star hotel -- "not"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You for Your comments about Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are really sorry that your stay in our Hotel did not fulfil Your expectations. However, Your opinion is very important for us because gives us the possibility to improve our services.
We hope to see You again in our property,

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Villa Igiea is located a couple of minutes from the port in a very quiet spot and overlooking the sea. Welcome was extremely warm after a highly recommendable 20 hours ferry ride from Genova (www.gnv.it - book the "presidential" suite).

The outside of this classical castle like building may look somewhat worn to our North American friends, but the inside has obviously been refurbished to highest standards and I guess they will be soon member of "Leading Hotels of the World" after the owners (who own also San Domenico Palace in Taormina) gladly kicked out Hilton from this very "un - Hilton" place.

Our room was "deluxe terrazzo" and had only a quite weird side seaview, but which finally was very romantic with views over the well kept gardens and the lovely turreted building itself.

In Italy you are treated for how you behave and how you approach people. The restaurant manager and all staff were extremely kind and professional and the food quality of the young chef aspires to a Michelin star. For the quality served and the ambience on the outside terrace prices are extremely reasonable.

Room service breakfast was not set up as carefully as one would have expected. Napkins and cups were missing, but the quality was OK.

A must stay when in Palermo with secure parking and a lot of enchantment and romance.

Room Tip: Room 220 looks weird with its sideway seaview, but has a lovely terrace. Avoid rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.
We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Unless you are obliged to go to Palermo i think one should change destination.. Hotel Igiea is beautiful building with a beautiful view.. but so so dirty even the bedding was dirty (check bedshits before getting inside).. Wifi is poor(wifi is normally free in 5stars hotel, villa igiea is charged and poor)..minibar out of order.. one person at reception who is helpful all others are inexperienced.. The whole city is dirty and full of garbage.
If anyone have a holiday i honnestly recommend to skip palermo..and Villa igiea even with special deals and rates is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You for your comments regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are really sorry that You had a bad impression of our Hotel due to some inefficiencies in our services. Therefore, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused to You and we will try to improve our services because one of our focus is to make the holiday of our guests as comfortable as possible.
We hope to see you again in our Hotel

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing