We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A well-appointed room with all amenities was the least of it. We really enjoyed the restaurant and dined twice on the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden, the Igiea marina and the Mediterranean. The restaurant's Sicilian specialties and Sicilian wines are strongly recommended. A pool above the sea with great views and a pool-side bar and grill is also available for relaxation. Additionally free, protected parking and a good shuttle-service by bus to downtown Palermo should also be mentioned.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea and with balcony are the best choice if you are willing to pay the cost. The o...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens Bo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,


Thank you very much for your generous words about the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant service and that you spent pleasant moments in the pool-side bar.

We look forward to have the pleasure of seeing you once again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This oasis of old fashioned charm was such a lovely way to begin our trip to Sicily. It is a hotel with history in a beautiful setting whose staff is friendly and helpful . There is a pool where you can relax after a fabulous day of sightseeing which is my idea of bliss...
Our room was large, comfortable and elegant with a small balcony facing the sea. The bathroom was also large and handsome. Every night we came home to treats on our pillow.
As for breakfast on the beautiful verandah, I cannot describe the endless delicious choices. I thought I was at a wedding banquet !!!
Phillip, the concierge, was especially kind and helpful in arranging our schedule for the free shuttle to town. Make sure to plan a bit in advance. He also gave us restaurant advice. Thank you again Phillip.
Villa Igiea was a very special experience.
My only minor complaint was being charged for the use of their computer. I found that a bit unnecessary as it is free in every other hotel that we stayed in Italy (and at far cheaper hotels)

Room Tip: We loved having a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your stay in Palermo and for your positive review.

Our main goal is to assure the best service and comfort for our guests, therefore, we are very happy to hear that You appreciated our services and that your experience in our hotel has fully met Your expectations. The concierge Philip thanks you for your appreciations; it was a great pleasure for him take care of you.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again perhaps for your next visit to Palermo.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Villa Igiea is an amazing place. great location on the beach near the port of Palermo.
beautiful views. The richest breakfasts including canoli and other Sicilian sweets. the pool is excellent and the service is grand. the problem starts when it comes to internet connection which is free in very few areas. Why pay for internet connection in an expensive 5 star hotel. beside this there is great ancient charm and an excellent concierge - Phillipe who will assist you in everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aviad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words. We are very happy that your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea was a pleasant one.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you once again.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent example of 1920's grandeur, beautiful hand painted wall frescoes some of which are sadly flaking. silk wallpaper and other materials on walls, beautiful lighting via many chandeliers hanging from high ceilings, very comfortable bed and room .The breakfast area and the grounds are stunningly beautiful, peaceful and spacious...The staff were wonderful, so helpful, the enthusiastic friendly doorman whose pride in his place of work and country, made me tearful yet special on leaving. Reception staff very efficient and friendly.a high standard of cleanliness throughout.The free bus service (which obviously has to be booked) into Palermo and to the beach is a huge bonus. Best holiday Hotel ever and we travel abroad a lot. Good value little restaurant to the left of hotel and little supermarket to the right. The area to the right of hotel does have dirty streets, but, if you live in London we now have similar dirty areas. We loved Palermo and will definitely return. If you like modern brittle and boring hotels this is NOT for you. We want to thank all staff for making us feel so welcome within your beautiful Hotel

Room Tip: room 256 2nd floor could see onto the front of hotel and into the street which we found interesting...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied and have the desire to return to our hotel once again. It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.

We look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I don't understand the critic from marcm 1962 The hotel is everything YOU CAN SEE ON THE PICTURES en even better, but you have to love authenticity.
Lovely old charm decorated room in perfect condition. So if you don't like the style why on earth did you book it, there are so many other hotels in Palermo. Lovely well kept garden. Beautiful terrace with live piano music and one of the best diners (top quality) of our 2 week trip in this lovely country. The breakfast was plentiful but could be better, normally for a 5 star you would expect à la minute cooked options.
I can highly recommend this hotel because the price-quality is just great. We payed in advance and had a very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that your stay with us was a special one and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Thanks to its location this is probably the best place to stay in Palermo, although we discovered small roller wheels under the legs of the (small) beds. It seemed to be disguised sofa beds which - in my opinion - is unacceptable in a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Se non ha affitato una stanza di classe superiore, chieda delle letti "senza rotelle", per...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TROYER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

first of all thank you for taking your time to write your review. The opinions of our guests are always very important for us. With reference to your comments about the beds, I would say that usually we put beds with the small roller wheels to facilitate the reorganization of the room, and to allow thorough cleaning of the interior spaces. We are really sorry if you've had a bad impression about it.

We hope to see you once again in our hotel.


Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After touring Italy for 2 weeks from Venice down to Sicily, this was the last stop. It is a fine old hotel, but as one other reviewer noted is in dire need of refurbishment. Carpets are dirty, most of the lights in my room were non- functional and the a/c was mediocre at best. Because it was located in the ghetto, we were hesitant to walk too far for dinner our first night so settled for the hotel dining room. Food was good, service non-existent. Evidently we didn't look important enough to the captain be cause after he took our dinner order didn't return to the table again. Asked him and another waiter for wine list, another waiter brought it 15 minutes later. No one ever returned to see if we wanted wine. After dinner, no offer of coffee or dessert, had to track someone down to get the check. On the way out, Captain was falling over himself to thank us for coming, surprised he knew we were there. Won't return. It's no wonder it is no longer a Hilton franchise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We were very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was not a pleasant one.

Regarding our restaurant service (which usually receives a high rating from our guests), we have taken note of your complaint and we will investigate to assure this does not happen again.

Furthermore, we were sorry to read in your review that you believed our hotel to be outdated, however please bear in mind that The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea dates back to the 19th century, making it over one century old. Periodically renovations are made in order to maintain the original structure designed by the famous architect, Ernesto Basile.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bel 3
#17 of 98 in Palermo
783 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £106 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing