We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We had 4 days at this lovely place, with a lovely old but well maintained building, helpful staff, great breakfasts and a lovely set of grounds that make it very easy to relax.
Loved the pool area, with its outlook over the Mediterranean and the marina.
A lovely quiet oasis close to lots to do in Palermo

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I'm glad to know you're satisfied of your journey in Gran Hotel Villa Igiea.
I hope to welcome you again in Palermo.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    406
    162
    78
    48
See reviews for
255
740
42
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautifully maintained and historic hotel with wonderful staff and facilities. Wine list excellent but take the sommelier's advice o find best buys. Food very good, but a little limited at lunch/ dinner in terms or variety . Three star food in a 4/5 star environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brian529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for posting the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea on Tripadvisor.
Comments and suggestions on stays of our guests are always very important for us, to maintain the high quality of our service and, where necessary, to grow and improve continuously.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Fab location - away from it all - but everything is still accessible. Fabulous food and attention to proper 'old fashioned' standards of how to serve and present the fare! Great rooms and fab comfort - with and enviable view over the marina and all the huge boats not many could afford!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KatyP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thanks for writing your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments about your stay at our hotel, gratify us and encourage us to continue to do our job in the best way and to guarantee a service at the highest level.

We hope to see you again at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We did not like Palermo much, but this hotel made our stay really enjoyable. Italian style decoration, great service with smiling faces, incredible location, romatic piano nights, everything was wonderful. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Murat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.

We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was excellent, the staff were all first class and very helpfull.
The food was really very good, but the portions were a little small at times, but they would bring out more if requested.
The grounds were lovely with a great pool.
The hotel is quite a way out of Palermo city centre, and you would need to use the free hotel shuttle or catch a taxi.

Room Tip: Best go for a Suite if budget allows, heard other guests complaining about small rooms in certain pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.

We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
725 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Like other reviewers I have to note that this was once a grand hotel in the fullest sense of that term.

In many respects it still is. My room was quite large by European standards, though it was only a "standard" room. Furnishings were nice, and the bed was comfortable. The public areas of the hotel include some magnificent ballrooms, and a splendid breakfast terrace overlooking a marina. The breakfast was the most extensive I've encountered anywhere in Europe, and included a huge range of breakfast pastries, warm dishes, eggs, and salumi. Looking out over the harbor, I felt transported to another Age.

The front desk staff I encountered were helpful, efficient, and quite attractive (the ladies, anyway).

On the minus side, it is out of the downtown area, which forces you to take taxis to get anywhere, usually about 15 euro each way. And the restaurant, which is so good for breakfast, is really not good at all for dinner. I tried a pasta and found it not only lacking in content (considering its 18 euro price), but infused with an unpleasant fishy flavor.

Still, I would recommend Villa Igiea. Its many good aspects considerably outweigh its weaknesses.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our staff was helpful and welcoming during your stay. Our goal is to make our guests' stay an unforgettable experience through the care of the services we offer. In this regard, we are sorry that you have not enjoyed the dinner at our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea and show you the high standards of our cousine, to remedy what happened.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It is quite easy to realize how terribly GRAND this hotel was in its heyday! Even today local Palermitanians dress "to he nines" when visiting the hotel. It is an oasis of period luxury set about a twenty euro taxi ride out of the center of town (but there is a local bus stop almost directly in front of the hotel). Stunning views over the water and the yacht harbour , gorgeous sunsets, etc. all add to the charm of the place. Very 5* (with a few quibbles, for instance, the staff at breakfast have got something of a superiority complex and for some reason they do not "do" salt and pepper --it took me at least 15 minutes for one of the two waiters I asked to dig up some salt and pepper for the scrambled eggs--). However, the place is a world unto itself and is definitely an institution in Palermo!

Room Tip: Ask for one on at least floor 3 with balcony and garden/harbour view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel
I really appreciated your words on the style and atmosphere of the villa.
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.

Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
653 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
421 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
621 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 101 in Palermo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing