We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical Sicily in Palermo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classical Sicily in Palermo”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hotel Igieia is a touch of grandness from centuries of yore. One can harken back to the times of the turn of the last century to the early 1900's and have a sense of what it was like to be a pampered guest in this fine hotel. The staff was forever solicitous and friendly. Breakfast buffet was first rate and special requests were tended to be cheerfulness. The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are first class. We had a very comfortable room.
While a bit off the beaten path from Centro Storico, the shuttles ease the burden and taxis are always available. I suggest you make sure what the fare is expected to be before you get in as sometimes the rates can be quite, shall we say, variable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HoustonianYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I really appreciated your words on the style and atmosphere of the villa.I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your time with us.
I and my staff we thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.
Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    404
    161
    78
    48
See reviews for
255
737
42
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roende, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in this great hotel.... and everything was perfect.
Our room was towards the hill int this is not optimal - but everything else was optimal in this charming hotel with a very good location.
The breakfast was fantastic - and the staff very kind and helpfull.
We also loved the garden and the pool area.
So if we go back to Palermo, we definately will stay in Villa Igiea agaín.
Knud Riis Johansen

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Knud Riis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
When, this morning, I read your comments to my entire team, we were very proud of the work we are doing and to be part of this wonderful hotel.
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.
Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A splendid hotel with beautiful view overlooking the harbor, probably one of the nicest hotel in Palermo. However, be careful and read the conditions when you register your device with Wi-Fi, otherwise, it is possible that you will be charged 9€/per day for each device you connect to Wi-Fi in the room. I don't understand why they don't provide free wifi access in such a high standard hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica_ZZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for having reviewed the Grand hotel Villa Igiea.
Your review enables us to improve our services .
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo again.
Best regards

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had booked this hotel a long time ago, before travelling I looked at reviews, on reading reviews I very nearly cancelled the booking. There were four of travelling together and I had not mentioned the reviews I had read. So on arrival I felt quite anxious, some of the reviews gave the impression that the staff were rude and unfriendly, I think they must have been at a different hotel. Every member of staff that we spoke to over the 4 days we were there were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself is just lovely. The restaurant was great and served some really good food. The hotel is in such a lovely location and it is quite nice that it is away from the town. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
When I read your comments to my entire team, we were very proud of the work we are doing and to be part of this wonderful hotel.
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.

Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We had 4 days at this lovely place, with a lovely old but well maintained building, helpful staff, great breakfasts and a lovely set of grounds that make it very easy to relax.
Loved the pool area, with its outlook over the Mediterranean and the marina.
A lovely quiet oasis close to lots to do in Palermo

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I'm glad to know you're satisfied of your journey in Gran Hotel Villa Igiea.
I hope to welcome you again in Palermo.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautifully maintained and historic hotel with wonderful staff and facilities. Wine list excellent but take the sommelier's advice o find best buys. Food very good, but a little limited at lunch/ dinner in terms or variety . Three star food in a 4/5 star environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brian529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for posting the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea on Tripadvisor.
Comments and suggestions on stays of our guests are always very important for us, to maintain the high quality of our service and, where necessary, to grow and improve continuously.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Fab location - away from it all - but everything is still accessible. Fabulous food and attention to proper 'old fashioned' standards of how to serve and present the fare! Great rooms and fab comfort - with and enviable view over the marina and all the huge boats not many could afford!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KatyP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thanks for writing your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments about your stay at our hotel, gratify us and encourage us to continue to do our job in the best way and to guarantee a service at the highest level.

We hope to see you again at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 101 in Palermo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing