We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO, IL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a must stay when visiting Palermo for at least two reasons. First, Palermo is not as much beautiful city as Rome or Florence so the décor of the hotel will help you deal with that. The hotel was build in the 19th century and was decorated in Art Nouveau style. Second, the hotel is in fact very romantic and the service polite. The cons are that it is located far from the center of the city so every day you’ll at least spend 30 euro to get to town and back (pay attention to the price before calling the taxi because the normal price you should spend to get to the center is 15 euro but one time a taxi driver charged us even 26 euro). Do not dine at the hotel’s restaurant. All we heard about it was a critique. We actually had breakfast there every morning and it was rather average. The hotel bar is very beautiful and romantic, especially at night. Try to get the room with the view over the marina bay. We traveled to Palermo in March and it rained almost every day, but we also heard that summer time can be too hot. Lastly, be careful when dealing with the taxi drivers who will offer you trips outside of Palermo to visit coastal villages. Although you will see a lot of beautiful places, you may also pay too much for that. Taxi drivers like all drivers in Sicily are unpredictable! We

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbutterfly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
thank You very must for the time spending to write Your review.
Unfortunately You are absolutely wright regarding Taxi drivers, for this reason during summer time ( our High season ) we have a shuttle service from and to the city center.
Thank You once more and we hope to see You again soonest at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    416
    163
    78
    49
See reviews for
264
750
42
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

this hotel was great. the breakfast was amazing, fantastic choice and pretty good quality. however lunch and dinner is incredibly expensive so beware (£20 for a very standard burger) the room was very comfortable with great views over the city. the pool is well looked after and is great over looking the harbour. what i really loved was the service, the staff were so helpful and friendly. The actual city of palermo is also wonderful, really interesting and fascinating place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank filo196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank Yu very much for the time You spent for us writing Your review.
On behalf of the whole staff of Grand hotel Villa Igiea we thank You and all of us we be happy to welcome You we hope in the near future. we'll surely have a look to the quality of our Hamburger and we hope the next time to provide a better quality of this kind of food.

Thank You once again and please feel free to contact us for any further request You may need.

Regards

Vito Giglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I went to Sicily for our honeymoon and this was our first and the best hotel in the entire trip. We stayed here for 2 days in December 2013 and were greeted with strawberries and champagne in our room! Though our room did not have any kind of view, but we found it to be cozy and well decorated. The hotel staff was very courteous and patiently answered all our questions and even helped us plan our excursions. I would like to make a special mention of the breakfast spread in this hotel...ranging from delicious pies and croissants to cold meats and cheese..it was truly lavish. We did not try out the in-house restaurants for other meals though as we either ate out or bought supplies from a nice supermarket nearby. The hotel is overlooking a beautiful marina along with mountains on the horizon, and we enjoyed many strolls and photo-sessions there. It was also easy to reach from the city center via buses or cabs. Overall, a great experience!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and sadly without any view. Choose rooms on higher floors or specifica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTales31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I immediately shared your comment with my whole team and I want to thank you on their behalf.
Your review fills us with pride and inspires us to do even better.

I really hope to welcome you back at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea , for this reason, please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit to Palermo.

Sincerely
Vito Giglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for 8 days in June 2013 and enjoyed it. A slightly run-down neighbourhood but the hotel itself is lovely with good gardens and a nice pool area overlooking the sea. We particularly liked being away from the madness that is Palermo - driving is a bit of a nightmare! The concierge was very helpful in terms of giving us driving directions to get back to the hotel from the main motorway, but each time we went out we had a few problems finding our way back. Get a good map if you can!
We had a room overlooking the sea and gardens. Not one of the very best rooms (no balcony) but comfortable and well appointed.
The restaurant was excellent for evening meals, with lovely food and good service. We ate there 4 times during our stay. Breakfast in the restaurant (well - on the terrace) was good but they were slow to replenish some items especially fruits. I've only given the hotel 4 stars overall mainly because we felt that the pool restaurant was really overpriced for lunches, and the service was erratic to say the least. They seemed to ignore some people (including us) and fawn over others!
We did eat out a few nights locally - there is a good pizza place and another small family-run restaurant with very good fish just down the road - they were charming and greeted us like long -lost friends the second time we went in.
The hotel has a small fitness room with a couple of treadmills, bikes and cross-trainer. It was fine, but again there was a lack of attention to detail - sometimes there was no water available in the fridge, or no towels.
The hotel quite often hosted weddings or glamorous parties (wow - the Sicilians really know how to do sharp dressing!) but we were never disturbed by excessive noise.
All in all this was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all, thank You very much for taking the time to send Your review.
We are very pleased that you're satisfied of your journey in Gran Hotel Villa Igiea.
The comments of our guests are always very important to us because through these we understand even more where to intervene for improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

That title just about sums it all up. We had nice rooms with terraces overlooking the marina, but the hotel is a bit tired and dated.. it probably was grand once, but that must have been a while ago. Our tour guide told us that this was the best hotel to stay in in Palermo, which says it all.

Palermo is probably worth staying in for a day just to see the magnificent Capella Palatina, but that's it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest
First of all I thank you for your comments on trip advisor and for choosing the grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I am very sorry for the bad impression you had about the building that you define as "Tired".
For this reason, taking advantage of the low occupancy of this period, we are doing important work of renovation of it regarding the rooms, the garden and common areas.

I am also sorry that you have not enjoyed Palermo and its many historical and cultural sites.
I hope you can return to Sicily. Our guest relations and concierge would be happy to make you discover the beauties of Palermo .
I would be honored to give you my personal welcome back in Sicily and take care of your stay at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Villa Igiea is an exceptional early 20th Century Liberty style luxury hotel which was formerly a destination for fashionable Europeans and royalty. Gracious and attentive service, excellent restaurants in beautiful rooms with large terraces and sea/mountain views, extensive walking/sitting gardens, large breakfast buffet, excellent WiFi. Our room (117) was large, beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet and had a large private terrace overlooking the sea/mountains and an updated marble/tile bath. Villa Igiea is on the west coast of Palermo 10 minutes drive to the city center. If you do not stay here, come for lunch/dinner/drinks to experience the extraordinary Old World Charm and sea/mountain views.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank James128128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
When, this morning, I read your comments to my entire team, we were very proud of the work we are doing and to be part of this wonderful hotel.
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.
Best regards
Vito Giglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Our trip to Sicily was on points earned with our credit card, so hotel selection was limited and we would probably not have chosen to stay in Palermo which, although we did enjoy and has some great sights to see and great restaurants, is noisy and dirty. The Grand Hotel is a little way out of the city which was a great relief. The bus service they provide is great - do not attempt to drive yourself, the driving in Palermo is legendary, the worst I have ever come across - we parked up the hire car and only used it when we went much further afield on day trips to the great historic sights of the island (which are quite breathtaking).
The hotel is indeed grand and harks back to an elegant era. The staff were all very charming and could not have been more helpful. We had a very nice room on the second floor overlooking the pool and gardens which are lovely. Unfortunately you have the dockyards over on the right which can be a bit noisy, but we got used to it and in the end rather liked the view. Parts of the hotel are rather dated, but we rather liked that too. Breakfast was an excellent buffet with an enormous selection of foods and freshly squeezed orange and good coffee was served immediately. We had two days where we sat by the pool and took lunch at the poolside restaurant which was simple and freshly prepared. In the evening, drinks are served on the terraces looking out to sea, all very elegant. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was good, the Sicilian wines excellent - lots of rather smart local people dining and young couples checking it out as a wedding venue (seemingly very popular for large smart functions).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea. If your budget allows, the rooms on the first floor have their own t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you on behalf of myself and my team for your wonderful review.
I thank you especially on behalf of the my Head Chef for the good review on the restaurant. He was very happy when he read your review.
I agree about the difficulty of driving in Palermo, but we always guarantee a very frequent shuttle bus service to the city and to the bay of Mondello where you can enjoy our private beach.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the shipyard that is 500 meters far from Villa Igeia and it, for a few days a year colud be a bit noise.
I hope tto welcoming you soon again at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
Please let me know whenever you'll be back to palermo, I would be happy to take care of your stay personally.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
436 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 98 in Palermo
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bel 3
#20 of 98 in Palermo
742 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#15 of 98 in Palermo
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing