We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterview hotel in Palermo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Waterview hotel in Palermo”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a fantastic "old villa" hotel overlooking the bay of Palermo. If you want to feel pampered and special, this is the place. Everything was so clean, and the staff very helpful. We had a Bayview room, definitely worth it, overlooking the pool. It was huge with all the amenities you would expect in a 5 star hotel. This was part of our honeymoon and very romantic. There was free parking with valet service, and a complimentary shuttle to the center of Palermo. You do need to make a reservation on it as there are only 8 seats, and there are several times a day for these runs. The food was delicious, but expensive, 24 euros for a hamburger, but wines and beer more reasonable. You can eat downtown for less. They did surprise us with a nice bottle of champagne on the 2nd day which was very nice.

Room Tip: Get the Bayview room...worth the extra, especially if you are there for more than 1 night. We were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are very important for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.

Moreover, we thank you for having chosen The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your recent stay in Palermo.

Nothing give us more pleasure than to hear to have fully met your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    397
    160
    77
    48
See reviews for
249
717
42
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

magnificent hotel building with grand corridors and much history
Faded grandeur really and before they built a marina in front of it the view across the bay must have been good
numerous photos of royalty who visited in Edwardian times on the corridor walls
Some way from Palermo centre but the hotel has a free shuttle bus and taxis are not too expensive
Rooms comfortable and quite spacious
In need of a bit of care and attention
Staff are attentive and very helpful
Drinks and food prices are outrageous( 20 euros for a simple salad)
Breakfast very good in grand surroundings
Pool small for calibre of hotel

Room Tip: get a sea room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randell1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Nothing give us more pleasure than know that our guests have been satisfied with their stay and we would like thank you very much for choosing The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea . We are very pleased that you enjoyed the historic beauty of our building. A landmark for more than a century, since the its design by famed architect Ernesto Basile, our Hotel is a magnificent example of art nouveau style.

In addition, we would like to let you know that our first aim is to fully satisfy any requests from our guest and therefore we are very happy to hear that our staff has fully met your expectations.

Thank you very much also for your appreciations about the breakfast that we serve every day at our Donna Franca Florio restaurant.

We took note of your suggestion about the price of the food. It will take into careful consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whilst the surrounding area is not the most salubrious once through the entrance gates one finds oneself in a setting of beauty and elegance. The service from the staff is attentive and efficient. The rooms are very well kept and stylishly decorated. Our room had a sea view and a balcony and full sun. The view of the terrace and bay beyond and the mountains in the distance was poetic. Breakfast on the terrace was great with a vast selection of food, not just the coffee and bread roll but a full english should you want it. We ate at the restaurant and the meal and service were faultless albeit not cheap. The only downside might be that the hotel is not in the centre so you will need transport to get there and, if you are staying in Palermo and want to visit a lot of the attractions in the centre you might prefer a central hotel. For us we have stayed there twice now and expect we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mandelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We read your review and we are grateful for your wonderful appreciations about our hotel.

Nothing give us more pleasure than hear that our guests have been satisfied with their stay and we would like thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea . We are also glad that you enjoyed the rich breakfast buffet that we serve every morning at our Donna Franca Florio restaurant and we are also very happy that you spent pleasant moments while enjoying the breathtaking wiew from our terrace overlooking the sea.

Moreover, as you pointed out, our hotel is not to the center city but, to get there, we offer the possibility to reserve our a free shuttle that departs from the hotel every 30 minutes and we hope that you can enjoyed of this service.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel at one time was a private residence and was converted into a hotel over a hundred years ago. It oozes luxury, though is not immaculately maintained as we Americans are used to. But like most of Palermo - the flaws and imperfections are a part of its beauty. Palermo is lacking in luxury hotels - and this is widely considered the best in the city. The rooms are not that great - they are appointed with antiques - but not good ones. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the sea - even though they are often not clean or maintained well. Villa Igea does have good service (for Palermo's standards), great food, and a historical, unique facility with sweeping sea views. The pool, which also overlooks the sea - was built to incorporate some greek ruins. You feel like you are living in history. It is a little expensive - but it's also a very unique property and totally worth it.

Room Tip: Get a balcony - it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOLAEXPLORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We received your review and we would like to thank you both for choosing our Hotel and for having spent your time writing your opinions regarding your recent stay. We are grateful to you for having designate the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea like the best hotel in Palermo and we are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, great food and our pool overlooking the sea.

In addition, we thank you for your criticism and we wolud like to let you know that we are working to improve our services and we are sure thet step by spep we will be able to offer more and better services.

Thank you once again and feel free to contact us maybe for your next stay in Palermo.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has pros and cons. The pros: lovely grounds, beautiful views, lovely art nouveau design, and historical property, very nice breakfast. The cons: isolated and not near any neighborhood you could enjoy a walk in. Our stay was disappointing in several respects. The carpet runner that terminated at the dead end in front of our hotel room had a large bump that presented a tripping hazard. I pointed it out twice to maintenance but it was not fixed. The breakfast menu allows for eggs cooked to your liking but no one advertises that fact so we didn't realize it until the day before we checked out that you could get eggs hard boiled or fried (the scramble eggs were less than appetizing). The in situ dining is grossly expensive and if you go into Palermo for dinner you must plan for a taxi back to the hotel, as the last shuttle bus back leaves the City around 8 pm. The shuttle bus has limited seating and so you MUST book in advance of you will not get a seat. The service was mixed, some at the hotel check in were great while others were marginal. The guest services desk was not open in the morning early (before 9)so I had to rely on the hotel desk receptionist for directions- which were sketchy. Finally, there was an error on my bill, and I could not get them to fix it until my Italian tour guide intervened on my behalf.

Room Tip: Some rooms on main floor by the conference center are noisy. Ask for room in rear facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to send your review about your last stay at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea . The opinions of our guests, both positive and negative are always very important for all of us.

First of all, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property , built during the grandeur of the Belle Epoque and characterized by its art nouveau style. With regard to the hotel's location, the characteristic of our hotel it is to be just outside the historic center, away from the chaos of the city. Moreover, The hotel is a project of the Florio family as location where well-known personalities of the Belle Époque period, used to came to relax and enjoy the fantastic view over the bay of Palermo. With regard to our services, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences occurred , we took note of them and we would let you know that we are working to improve on them, in order to ensure our guests a better service in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For a highly rated hotel the service was below par. Room was nice but the shower had mold. We had to ask twice to have the tissues refilled the maid did not do it. The food was outrageously expensive (25 euro for a hamburger) and not the quality you would expect. Everyone seemed to have a problem with their bill on checkout. The staff was friendly but not very helpful. Shuttle service is also very limited.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnapoli433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation do do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Palermo.
We are sorry to hear we haven't satisfied your expectations. We thank you for your criticism and we will surely take your comments in a way to improve our services.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Best regards,
Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The gardens, ocean view and relatively tranquil setting are great. And the breakfast (particularly its location with the outside terrace) awesome.

BUT we had chosen the hotel because we liked the idea of being out of the city centre but with easy access by shuttle to the city centre (given the crazy traffic in Palermo). When we booked, our confirmation referred to the shuttle service, but when we enquired on arriva,l we were informed (without apology) that the shuttle wasn't running. On top of this we weren't offered any assitance with walking directions, or calling a cab or - heavens above - offering us a run into town in one of the hotel's own cars.

In addition, we had specifically aked to be in the separate building (we had read a review that commented on how noisy the hotel could be if there was a convention). Our confirmation confirmed that we would indeed be in the separate building. Yet on arrival we were informed (again without apology) that we were in the main building and the other building was not available. Worse still, we were on the ground floor, down the hall from some of the convention rooms; in fact, one of the 'break-out' rooms was right next door to us! So it was very noisy and lacking in privacy.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building if you can help it. If you do, make sure you're not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all, thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write your impressions regarding your last stay at our Hotel. When we read your comments, we were very sorry because we usually pay the utmost attention to needs and requests of our guests. However, we do not want to use any excuse to justify the lack of service but the only positive thing we can tell you is that it is not our standard attitude because our primary goal is the complete satisfaction of our guests .

With regard to your disappointment on the shuttle bus , we apologize for not having given you the right information and even more for not having assured the assistance that all our guests deserve from arrival at the hotel. regarding the room reserved , we are deeply sorry for not having fully understood your needs . Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding , and since all the rooms were booked, we were unable to find the right solution.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in our Hotel.

Best regards,
Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing