We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Early 19 century Villa where royalty stayed in there day, upgraded with all the amenities.
Would reccomend highly. Super service, spacoius clean rooms, great location, staff is very helpful and willing to please. Super breakfest

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your review and we would like thank you for taking the time to write your opinions about your last stay at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

With great pleasure we hear that you enjoyed our services, the rooms, our location and the friendliness of our staff, which is always ready to take care of all our guest's requests. Thank you so much for your kind words.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again to our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    391
    157
    77
    47
See reviews for
245
698
42
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very good hotel.

Location is very beautiful, ten minutes in a cab outside the city centre, overlooking the bay of Palermo and one of Palermo's marinas, with its own gardens in the foreground. Yes, the cranes from the docks can be seen over to the far right, but this occupies a very small corner of the view and we found it interesting.

Hotel very attractive - Art Nouveau grand, with photos on the walls of pre WWI royalty staying there. Desk staff welcoming and attentive, albeit not all have the same degree of expertise re city info etc. We stayed in 118 on the ground floor with a very large terrace overlooking the sea - very beautiful. All rooms on the first floor seemed to be approximately the same size - adequate, rather than generously sized. Bathrooms modern and once again adequate, without being special ( shower over bath, rather than separate). Bed very comfortable. Usual old hotel bugbear - only one wall socket for electrics. Spotlessly cleaned.

Restaurant exceptional. Breakfast huge buffet. Evening meals extremely good (we ate there three times in the week we were there). Not cheap but very good quality and excellent wine list. Evening view over the gardens and bay of Palermo stunning. Good terrace bar.

Pool reasonable size (15m?) and lounging area more than adequate for number of guests. Good poolside restaurant/bar.

Niggles. Car parking not great, often difficult to find a space. Restaurant staff, albeit very obliging, very disorganised (eg lengthy waits for no obvious reason, teapots and coffee pots without lids and cups without saucers, occasionally the wrong food turned up), which is fine if you are in laid back holiday mood, but not really what one would expect of a hotel of this standing. Mean attitude to wifi - supposedly free in the common areas (albeit seemed to fall over all the time) but Euros 8 (?) per day for in room access.

All in all, a very good hotel. Not quite excellent, but we would definitely go back there, if we go to Palermo again.

Room Tip: Worth splashing out for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APRLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all, thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor and then for giving us the opportunity to know your opinions about your recent stay in our hotel. The comments of our guests are very important for all of us.

We are very happy that you appreciated the hotel's location and we hope that you spent pleasant relaxing moments in our spacious gardens. For whom it may concern our services, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant and the breakfast buffett.

In addition, we sincerely apologize for the long wait during your evening meals and we apologize for any outages occurred. However, we thank you for letting us know about it because they are always extremely helpful to understand what aspects of the service we must work to improve our performance and thus provide a better service.
Lastly, we are very happy that the rest of your stay met your expectations and we hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The place, the atmosphere, the view, the rooms, the restaurant, the room service, the friendly staff all make the hotel a great choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Palermo and advice them to look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea wish thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that you appreciated our services, the rooms, our Donna Franca Florio restaurant with its big terrace overlooking the sea and the cordiality of our staff. In addition, thank you very much to have reccomended our Hotel to all the users of Tripadvisor.

It is very important for us to assure the best service, hospitality and comfort for our guests so when we receive such positive feedback it is the confirmation that we are succeeding in our goals.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Grandeur and history are the basis of this hotel.Facing the sea and marina
the outlook is marvellous.The outdoor breakfast area,terrace bar all have great views.The breakfast buffet is immense with a very large selection.The staff and service is excellent.The garden and pool area lovely.
There are long hallways with paintings and pictures of days gone by,past visitors,royalty and celebrities.Furnishings and seating areas all in style.
Rooms and bathrooms are a good size.We had a good view of the sea and marina but no balcony.
Would certainly recommend this hotel while in Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamourous056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much on behalf of whole staff of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your review about your recent stay in our hotel. Our most important goal is to assure the best service and comfort to our guests, to ensure an unforgettable experience, so when we receive such positive feedback , it is a confirmation that we are succeeding in our goals.

With great pleasure we hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, overlooking the bay of Palermo, with large gardens, pool area and a big terrace with a fantastic sea view.

Moreover, we are very glad to know that you appreciate the charm that characterizes our hotel. As you have noticed, the interior in art-nouveau style and the beauty of the great halls are the proof of an hotel full of history. All of us are very proud to be part of this majestic reality and especially to share it with our dear guests.

We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and we want to thank you very much for your kind words about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a fantastic "old villa" hotel overlooking the bay of Palermo. If you want to feel pampered and special, this is the place. Everything was so clean, and the staff very helpful. We had a Bayview room, definitely worth it, overlooking the pool. It was huge with all the amenities you would expect in a 5 star hotel. This was part of our honeymoon and very romantic. There was free parking with valet service, and a complimentary shuttle to the center of Palermo. You do need to make a reservation on it as there are only 8 seats, and there are several times a day for these runs. The food was delicious, but expensive, 24 euros for a hamburger, but wines and beer more reasonable. You can eat downtown for less. They did surprise us with a nice bottle of champagne on the 2nd day which was very nice.

Room Tip: Get the Bayview room...worth the extra, especially if you are there for more than 1 night. We were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are very important for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.

Moreover, we thank you for having chosen The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your recent stay in Palermo.

Nothing give us more pleasure than to hear to have fully met your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

magnificent hotel building with grand corridors and much history
Faded grandeur really and before they built a marina in front of it the view across the bay must have been good
numerous photos of royalty who visited in Edwardian times on the corridor walls
Some way from Palermo centre but the hotel has a free shuttle bus and taxis are not too expensive
Rooms comfortable and quite spacious
In need of a bit of care and attention
Staff are attentive and very helpful
Drinks and food prices are outrageous( 20 euros for a simple salad)
Breakfast very good in grand surroundings
Pool small for calibre of hotel

Room Tip: get a sea room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randell1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Nothing give us more pleasure than know that our guests have been satisfied with their stay and we would like thank you very much for choosing The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea . We are very pleased that you enjoyed the historic beauty of our building. A landmark for more than a century, since the its design by famed architect Ernesto Basile, our Hotel is a magnificent example of art nouveau style.

In addition, we would like to let you know that our first aim is to fully satisfy any requests from our guest and therefore we are very happy to hear that our staff has fully met your expectations.

Thank you very much also for your appreciations about the breakfast that we serve every day at our Donna Franca Florio restaurant.

We took note of your suggestion about the price of the food. It will take into careful consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whilst the surrounding area is not the most salubrious once through the entrance gates one finds oneself in a setting of beauty and elegance. The service from the staff is attentive and efficient. The rooms are very well kept and stylishly decorated. Our room had a sea view and a balcony and full sun. The view of the terrace and bay beyond and the mountains in the distance was poetic. Breakfast on the terrace was great with a vast selection of food, not just the coffee and bread roll but a full english should you want it. We ate at the restaurant and the meal and service were faultless albeit not cheap. The only downside might be that the hotel is not in the centre so you will need transport to get there and, if you are staying in Palermo and want to visit a lot of the attractions in the centre you might prefer a central hotel. For us we have stayed there twice now and expect we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mandelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We read your review and we are grateful for your wonderful appreciations about our hotel.

Nothing give us more pleasure than hear that our guests have been satisfied with their stay and we would like thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea . We are also glad that you enjoyed the rich breakfast buffet that we serve every morning at our Donna Franca Florio restaurant and we are also very happy that you spent pleasant moments while enjoying the breathtaking wiew from our terrace overlooking the sea.

Moreover, as you pointed out, our hotel is not to the center city but, to get there, we offer the possibility to reserve our a free shuttle that departs from the hotel every 30 minutes and we hope that you can enjoyed of this service.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing