We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deplorable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We travel around the world for pleasure about 3 months a year usually staying in 5 star hotels. Although the setting is beautiful the hotel is poorly managed. Restaurant service is extremely slow - we had to beg several times for the bill and when we got up to leave it finally arrived. Our laundry was to have been returned by 7PM and finally after several phone calls half was delivered. More phone calls and part of the other half showed up. More phone calls, wet socks were delivered about 9 PM. Air conditioning did not work. We asked to see the manager and he was to busy to come see us in reception. Room Service: one of two entrees was delivered and the other was wrong. We have recommended that our agency find other accommodations for their clients.

Room Tip: Book a room with a large balcony overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we received your comments regarding your last stay at our Hotel and we want thank you for taking the time to write your impressions which are basic for us to be able to be able to improve and as exhortation to do our best.

We would like to give you our most sincere apologies for the disappointment expressed regarding the restaurant service, the laundry service and room service.
We assure you that the problems highlighted were forwarded to departments in charge and actions have already been taken in order to prevent that similar incidents can happen in the future to our guests.

With regard the air conditioning i would explain You what is happened.
During the period of your stay in our Hotel, we began to sense that something was not working in the air conditioning system as usual.
Our technicians have intervened noting that the centralized machines were operating according to the correct parameters.
At the same time, unfortunately, we noted that the fan coil of the rooms did not work well because some debris had entered in the cold water circuits occluding some valves that are installed.
We intervened on the system of central filters and this cleaning operation of the circuits took some time before everything returned to normal.
In order that such incidents never happened again we proceeded to install alarm systems when some debris enter into the circuit that could cause these problems.
Our technical experts of the system have secured the highest efficiency of air conditioning and that nothing similar will happen again.

Our aim is to establish a long and lasting relationship with our guests and in this regard, we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea in the future, to have the opportunity to regain your trust. We apologize again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for the second time this year. I spent New Years at Villa Igiea in a spacious room facing the bay, loved the fine dinner in the restaurant but also the good dinner in the bar. It was a magic stay. Hotel is very charming and old fashioned as you do not find in the north of Europe any more. Very authentic. Same for this stay were I came for business. Breakfast buffet is amazing and it is really wonderful to take it on the terrace. Free parking space, 10 minutes to the city centre by cab or bus. manager Keswan was most helpful, will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,


We read your comments and we are very happy that you went recently back to our hotel to spend another pleasant stay.
Nothing give us more pleasure than to hear that we left a good memory of your experience with us once again. Thank you very much for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting. A very pleasant place to stay. There were a few issues, at check-in they initially couldn't find our reservation, they had confused my first and last names. The room they gave us was on the ground floor in the Yachting House, initally the safe,phone and air conditioning did not work, they sent the maintenance person to fix these issues and he was able to fix the safe and the phone, but even after a follow up call could not fix the air conditioning in the room. I ask to be moved to another room, but they would not arrange that, it was quite warm while we were there 29 Celcius and the room became quite hot and because our window was below ground level we did not feel safe leaving the window open. For a high end hotel they need to be more attentive to the issues raised by their guests. The room itself was beautiful. If you check out early in the morning be (4:00 a.m.) be aware that they lock down the building access and chain lock the front doors. Overall I recommend the hotel since it is beautiful and has a great view, but be careful that everything in the room works well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all we thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay a t our Hotel.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay caused by incorrect operation of the air conditioning.

For this reason it is proper for us to explain you what were the causes of such problem.
On the 10th of June, we began to sense that something was not working in the system as usual.
Our technicians have intervened noting that the centralized machines were operating according to the correct parameters.
At the same time, unfortunately, we noted that the fan coil of the rooms did not work well because some debris had entered in the cold water circuits occluding some valves that are installed.

We intervened on the system of central filters and this cleaning operation of the circuits took some time before everything returned to normal.
In order that such incidents never happened again we proceeded to install alarm systems when some debris enter into the circuit that could cause these problems.
Our technical experts of the system have secured the highest efficiency of air conditioning and that nothing similar will happen again.
Anyway ,thanks for having recommended our hotel to all users of Tripadvisor.

We do hope you can, in the future, give us a chance to remedy and to further demonstrate our attention to customer satisfaction.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I wouldn't recommend staying here due to snobby staff, bad air con and facilities like wi-fi it doesn't warrant the 5 star status. We've stayed in far superior 4 star hotels. And not acceptable for our honeymoon, bad effort.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina201416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for spending the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

The opinions of our guests are always very useful and important for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.

Unfortunately we recently had problems with the air conditioning due to high external temperature. Our maintenance technicians have worked very hard to increase refrigeration air-conditioning equipment and they managed to solve everything. We ask you to accept our sincere apologies on behalf of whole staff for the inconvenience caused.
Regarding Internet , we have the possibility of free wireless on the ground floor and in the common areas

We hope to welcoming you again at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A classic grande dame of a hotel. Lovely gardens and pool area overlooking slightly unkempt marina and port in the distance. Top class fine dining on the terrace - although not quite Michelin star - , attentive and friendly service. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Good sized rooms decorated in a style respectful of the original villa. Some of the elegance is a little faded - one of our rooms had mouldy grout along the bath and the pathways around the hotel could do with a sweep.
Location could be better. At least 10 minutes outside the main city of Palermo. The hotel shuttle is a good service but too infrequent and does not run in the evening - so no getting back from town after dinner. They don't tell you to book your place so if it's full you simply can't get into town without a taxi.
You pay for what you get here. The price of bar drinks and restaurant is high, but you do get the views across the bay.
Approach to hotel (and neighbourhood) is very unkempt and downtrodden. But then so is the whole of Palermo. A city crammed full of breathtaking architecture sitting alongside the dereliction from WW2 close to the harbour and filthy streets closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if budget allows or at the side to avoid road noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0ungs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all we thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your stay. We appreciate your comment and we thank you for taking the time to write your impressions which are basic for us to maintain the high quality of our service and , where necessary, to grow and improve continuously.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again at our Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Early 19 century Villa where royalty stayed in there day, upgraded with all the amenities.
Would reccomend highly. Super service, spacoius clean rooms, great location, staff is very helpful and willing to please. Super breakfest

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,


We received your review and we would like thank you for taking the time to write your opinions about your last stay at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

With great pleasure we hear that you enjoyed our services, the rooms, our location and the friendliness of our staff, which is always ready to take care of all our guest's requests. Thank you so much for your kind words.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again to our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very good hotel.

Location is very beautiful, ten minutes in a cab outside the city centre, overlooking the bay of Palermo and one of Palermo's marinas, with its own gardens in the foreground. Yes, the cranes from the docks can be seen over to the far right, but this occupies a very small corner of the view and we found it interesting.

Hotel very attractive - Art Nouveau grand, with photos on the walls of pre WWI royalty staying there. Desk staff welcoming and attentive, albeit not all have the same degree of expertise re city info etc. We stayed in 118 on the ground floor with a very large terrace overlooking the sea - very beautiful. All rooms on the first floor seemed to be approximately the same size - adequate, rather than generously sized. Bathrooms modern and once again adequate, without being special ( shower over bath, rather than separate). Bed very comfortable. Usual old hotel bugbear - only one wall socket for electrics. Spotlessly cleaned.

Restaurant exceptional. Breakfast huge buffet. Evening meals extremely good (we ate there three times in the week we were there). Not cheap but very good quality and excellent wine list. Evening view over the gardens and bay of Palermo stunning. Good terrace bar.

Pool reasonable size (15m?) and lounging area more than adequate for number of guests. Good poolside restaurant/bar.

Niggles. Car parking not great, often difficult to find a space. Restaurant staff, albeit very obliging, very disorganised (eg lengthy waits for no obvious reason, teapots and coffee pots without lids and cups without saucers, occasionally the wrong food turned up), which is fine if you are in laid back holiday mood, but not really what one would expect of a hotel of this standing. Mean attitude to wifi - supposedly free in the common areas (albeit seemed to fall over all the time) but Euros 8 (?) per day for in room access.

All in all, a very good hotel. Not quite excellent, but we would definitely go back there, if we go to Palermo again.

Room Tip: Worth splashing out for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APRLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all, thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor and then for giving us the opportunity to know your opinions about your recent stay in our hotel. The comments of our guests are very important for all of us.

We are very happy that you appreciated the hotel's location and we hope that you spent pleasant relaxing moments in our spacious gardens. For whom it may concern our services, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant and the breakfast buffett.

In addition, we sincerely apologize for the long wait during your evening meals and we apologize for any outages occurred. However, we thank you for letting us know about it because they are always extremely helpful to understand what aspects of the service we must work to improve our performance and thus provide a better service.
Lastly, we are very happy that the rest of your stay met your expectations and we hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 98 in Palermo
516 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 98 in Palermo
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £105 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing