We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

great views from hotel
food and drinks at hotel very very very expensive 24 euros hamburger 10 euros a small beer 160 euros in restaurant for evening meal wow supermarket 2mins up road cheap drinks e restaurant 5 mins down road la rossa ok cheap and clean

Room Tip: room 303 great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank werz3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We received your comments and we thank for spending the time to write your impressions which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best. We have taken note of both your positive and negative considerations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just came from a wonderful hotel in Siracusa. Igiea is interesting but has limits on food choices, amenities and is located in a ghetto. Staff were not very accommodating and just seemed so dissimilar from the encounters in our last hotel. Very disappointed. We had higher expectations based upon the pricing differences. I'm currently at the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel.

We are very sorry you thought our hotel has limit on food choices and amenities. We are always at total disposal for any needs or request you may have because our wish is to have our guests fully satisfied of their experience with us.

Regarding our Staff, we are also very regret to hear that did not make you a good impression. It is usually very accommodating, polite and helpful with our guests but rest assured that we will investigate the matter.

We hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our stay at Villa Igiea was wonderful. We had a beautiful garden, ocean view room. The room was very clean and the service was excellent. The staff was very professional and accommodating . The pool was beautiful and so peaceful. The pool staff could not have been nicer or more attentive. The breakfast buffet had an enormous selection including delicious fresh fruit. We would definitely recommend this historic hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for spending the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was wonderful.

Moreover, nothing give us more pleasure than know that our guests have been satisfied with their experience with us and we would like thank you very much for your generous comments about the professional and accommodating staff.

In addition, we are very glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the big selection of fresh specialities.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was a real haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. The setting is stunning. Our room was not great at first, small, and dark and old but we asked to get upgraded but they didn't have room until the last night. We had paid for an extra night but had to leave early so they didn't not do a big favor for upgrading us. However the new room was wonderful, sea view, spacious and light. The restaurant is the high light of the hotel. The setting, service food, outstanding! If we were to go back to Palermo would definitely stay there but in a room with sea view!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the new section with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 123RoyaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you especially enjoyed our setting.

As you pointed out in your review, one of the characteristics of our hotel is to be located by the sea, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our spacious gardens and terraces overlooking the sea are great places where you can spend relaxing moments. Furthermore, as you may have seen, the Hotel is just 10 minutes from the city center that you can reach with the free shuttle service that leaves every 30 minutes from the Hotel.

Our Hotel has 122 rooms of different tipology size and location, which we assign according with the reservation received. We are very sorry if we didn't have any sea view room available until your last night but we were at full occupancy during your stay with us.

We would like also to thank you very much for your kind words about our restaurant service. Our efforts are always aimed to provide a high level service. When we receive such positive feedback for us it is a confirmation that we have achieved our goal which is to guarantee an unforgettable experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our room was huge, clean but rather dark. The location is a bit too far out of the city centre and the shuttle bus stopped about 8pm which meant the only way to get more choice on restaurants meant an expensive taxi ride. The restaurant at the Hotel was very expensive. We did however find two charming trattorias - La Staffa and Blue Marlin - just a stones throw from Villa Igea which served simple, excellent food
The buffet breakfast at the Hotel was amazingly good. The staff were very friendly and very efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. We would return to this hotel if we ever return to Palermo.

Room Tip: We went for a superior room and Room 132 was actually a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,


We received your review and we would like give you our thank you for the time you spent to write your review .

Moreover, we thank you for the preference given choosing The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear to have left a good memory of your experience with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.Your kind words about the cordiality and efficiency of our staff feel us very flattered.

Looking forward of seeing you soon,

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

5 Stars is 2 too many for this hotel.
Having booked a deleux plus room from a misleading web site we were shown to a filthy room in particular the carpet.
Allocated a new room better but not great we found cigarette buttts in the planter, which we eventually removed ourselves, there was water dripping from the ceiling in the room foyer for three days, then the bathroom ceiling collapsed.
Food not great, found a great wine, they only had one bottle.
Paid for transfer from airport to the hotel by Mercedes but a beat up Masserati was provided with a boot not big enough for two cases.
Management tried to make amends on the last night with free wine, drinks and dinner but I would rather they did their job properly in the first instance.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWright1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,


We read your review this morning and we are really sorry about the bad feeling that you had during your stay at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

First of all we would like to offer my deepest apologies for the many problems which you have suffered.We beg to extend our apologies to your wife for the inconveniences happened during your stay. We don't want absolutely find any justification about the incident regarding the bathroom ceiling but we would like to let you know that periodically renovations are made in order to maintain the original structure of the Hotel which dates back to the 19th century, making it over one century old.
What we can say is that our efforts will be directed towards the search of the actions to be done to avoid disruptions in the future with other guests.

We hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful grounds, professional staff, very nice Hilton. A must see very interesting history. A vintage hotel built in the 1920's with a rich history..good food good service.. Outstanding View!

Loved It!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,


We read your review and we are really glad to know that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We are very pleased to know that you appreciated the history of our property.

The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, designed in 1908 by architect Ernesto Basile, one of the greatest exponents of Liberty, still keeps intact its original structure. As you may have noticed, all the interior are decorated in art nouveau style and the great halls are an example of great historical value.

In addition, we are very pleased that you were satisfyed with our services and we thank you for your kind words about our professionalism. It seems we managed to left a good memory of your experience with us, so we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 98 in Palermo
516 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £104 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing