We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Palace Hotel
Ranked #88 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“average hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

although the location for this hotel is inconveniently placed for those wishing to spend time in the center it was fine for our trip in which we spent more time up at the football stadium. the hotel seems to be very popular for business meetings/conferences, i don't remember seeing any other foreign travelers although it was late Nov. the rooms were fine and clean although the maids kept knocking at 0930 most mornings even when 'do not disturb' signs were left on the door. we never ate there so cant comment on the food but the bar was not up to much being expensive and small.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    263
    339
    228
    147
See reviews for
135
359
31
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Like many other reviewers we were booked in to the Astoria Palace as part of a tour. Our room was much nicer than we expected having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived a day early and because of some mixup had not been connected up in the hotel's records with our tour group. We were given room 1401 on the top floor and it appeared to have been recently renovated. We had no complaints about the room itself and found it quite comfortable. As part of the tour group we were allocated a room on a different floor commencing the following day but we were able to remain in the original room which was probably lucky having regard to what other reviewers report. Near the lifts on the 14th floor is a lounge area which had a sign "closed to the public" and looked like it was about to be renovated but was unlocked and we were able to go out there and enjoy a beautiful view of the sunset. We were high enough in the building not to be troubled by noise and smells from the market.
We agree with other comments about the tour group dining room. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the ground floor the first night and had a very nice set price menu which was good value. From the following day we were with all the tour groups in the basement. The food was mediocre. Breakfast and dinner started at fixed times which meant huge crowds of people all rushing to the serving tables together. The atmosphere was like a huge cafeteria. Our last morning our tour director said that we would be able to go to the dining room for breakfast 15 minutes early as we were departing from the hotel quite early. We entered the room 15 minutes before the normal start time. Much of the breakfast food had not been put out yet and the staff were angry that we had gone in early and treated us quite rudely.
The location of the hotel is poor. On our first day there, when we were waiting for our tour to commence, we began to walk into town but gave up as it was very hot and such a long walk. We got as far as the English Gardens which were pleasant enough but not worth the effort. In retrospect we should have paid for a taxi to take us in to the city centre. The area in which the hotel is located is dirty and uninteresting. There was, however, a very good supermarket across the road which we visited to purchase food and drinks.
As we had a reasonable room our overall experience of the hotel was not too bad and being on a tour meant that the location was not such an issue. However, we would much have preferred to stay elsewhere had we been given a choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller53_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our group stayed here as part of a Trafalgar trip. Our first impression of the hotel was upon exiting the elevator - the carpet was absolutely filthy. When we finally managed to get our door open, we entered a stifling hot room. The air conditioning did not work - the fan sounded like a jet plane was taking off in our room until it ceased to run at all. The view from our window was that of a parking lot - made only better by the sight of a dog killing a cat in front of our very eyes (this is the honest to God truth). The next morning we changed rooms - in the new room the A/C worked minimally; however, the phone was not functional nor did we have any water coming out of the hot water tap in the bathroom. Most of the 22 people in our group had to change rooms but didn't find conditions any better when they moved. When we inquired about the pool advertised on the Internet, we were told the pool had been closed for years. Like the other reviewers mention, this hotel is in a terrible neighborhood and next to the vegetable market that smells like a land fill. Don't get me started on the prison nearby. Trafalgar should be ashamed putting their clients in this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The glossy rooms in the professional photos of this hotel are a long way from my personal experience. I stayed here with Voyages Jules Verne from 9-10 September 2012 and can only imagine that our dreadful experience can be chalked up to being part of a large group and thus being relegated to second-class guest status. I always try to think of pros and cons for a hotel, but in this case the only pros I can think of are that the fruit and vegetable market mentioned by other reviewers didn't disturb me one bit; and that the staff were polite to me when I had to get my electronic key reset. As you can guess, this doesn't bode well for the rest. So here are the cons.

1. Location. We were travelling by coach; and even by coach this is a long way out of the centre of Palermo. Although the immediate surroundings of the hotel weren't actively threatening, I certainly wouldn't advise walking to and from the hotel into the city centre, especially at night. One of the landmarks en route from this hotel to the centre was one of Palermo's prisons, which was admittedly housed in a fine Bourbon structure, but isn't necessarily the kind of local sightseeing you want to do.

2. Our rooms were all together on the second floor, along one stretch of corridor where the carpet was very badly water-stained. The reason for this became apparent when three couples in the group found leaks in their rooms, one of which was so bad that the couple concerned had to vacate the room (they said their replacement room, on another floor, was superior in every way). I had my own minor leak, in the form of the corner of the bathtub, which wasn't properly sealed and so water spread across the bathroom floor after every shower.

3. Presumably if you're an independent traveller you eat in the hotel's main restaurant (two of our party decided to do this, clever ladies). We, on the other hand, were told to eat in the Oleander dining room in the basement, which I can safely say is the worst dining experience I have ever had in a hotel. We had to sit on designated communal tables, which by this stage I expected - but what I hadn't expected was that dinner, as well as breakfast, was a buffet. The doors opened at 8pm and three different tour groups flooded in. Huge queues immediately formed and, considering you had to queue up separately for antipasti, main course and drinks, you could easily spend a large part of your dinner-time waiting in line. We actually didn't even discover the antipasti table until it was too late on the first night, by which time it had all been cleared away. It was very much a first-come, first-served experience, but a pan-European jostle of elbows is the kind of experience I can do without. To make matters worse, the food was merely ordinary. Breakfast was the same stampede for the buffet, but at least you expect that with breakfast. The ghastly dinner-time crush was without doubt the worst aspect of the hotel.

4. Apart from the prevalence of water leaks, the rooms were old-fashioned and shabby, with scuffed paintwork both inside the rooms and in the corridors. There isn't much of a view from any of the rooms - I had a splendid vista of the car park, although at least I could see the mountains beyond.

This appears to be a conference hotel (it has that special associated air of soullessness), so perhaps you'll get a better idea of its functionality from someone who's travelled there for business and has been blessed with better rooms. But the Astoria need to pull their socks up and stop treating tour-groups like second-rate citizens, because frankly our experience was pretty dreadful. Based on my experience, I could not in all conscience recommend this hotel - indeed, I would strongly recommend that you avoid it - and I do hope that some of my fellow travellers will take the time to submit their own reviews, because I think my sentiments were fairly universal among our group.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a tour company and they plan to stop over here, do your utmost to chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Idle_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

there is very little good news to report on this hotel. first of all the location.
it's just horrible.

Palermo is, generally speaking, a dirty city, but here we get to a whole new level: depressed neighborhood and very dirty streets, the hotel is next to a fruit and vegetable general market that opens around 4,30 am (noisy) and closes by 10 am leaving the whole area full of garbage. Next to that, there is the maximum security prison of Ucciardone that isn't exactly in my personal top ten of romantic places.

The hotel itself is so run down that it would be too long just to list the various issues. The pictures posted by other reviewer are very eloquent.

Quite frankly, I don't see any reason for choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Aftera short train ride from Punta Raisi (palemo airport), we arrived at Palermo Nortobartolo station. With the help of google maps on my phone we found the hotel in 20mins, granted it would have been alot longer had we ridden to Palermo Centrale. The most stricking thing about the hotel is the smell outside, which is the rotten remains of fish and veg from the market next door. This rubbish seemed to linger our entire 5 day trip. This hotel was a compromise as we had wanted a swimming pool but felt the roof terrace with jecuzzi would have been good enough, however it was closed for our whole stay. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect. Adequate room, clean but dated. Breakfast had a good selection, with good service. Reception were helpful when prompted. The hotel is within walking distance of good restaurants for the real Sicilian feel but are not really set up for tourists. Overall we would recommend not staying in the city, but try and find a hotel along the beautiful coast. Head to Cefalu for the best beach. Mondello is crowded. Note -Giarachy, metro station very close to the hotel but only operates working hours, it serves Nortobartolo then onto Centrale.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfamontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Astoria for 3 nights. First the pros - our room was clean. The hallways and other areas of the hotel were notable for stains on carpeting and so-so aesthetics.

The cons - the hotel is a good 30-40 minute walk to the city center and 45 min to the train station. My husband and I are runners, so walking isn't a big deal, but it just wasn't a convenient location. The location itself wasn't pleasant at all. There was trash on the streets around the hotel including on Via Montepellegrino. We had to pull our suitcases in the road because the sidewalks were filled with rotten food and other trash (see photo). Despite all of this, our experience would have been much improved if the reception staff weren't so incredibly rude, abrupt and unhelpful. As another reviewer noted, the woman at reception shoved a map at us, didn't bother to tell us about breakfast or times, or anything else we needed to know during our stay. When we asked for a rec for a restaurant for a typical Sicilian meal, she told us that we should eat at the hotel bar.

On our last day, we tried to hail a cab waiting outside the hotel to take us into the city so we could catch the bus to the airport. He tried to charge us 15 euro for a 1 to 1.5 km ride and then tried to bully us into an airport ride for 40 euros. Needless to say, we just walked the short distance to the bus stop and paid 6 euros each for the airport ride.

Would not recommend this hotel and because of this experience, I will not stay in any hotels in this chain. They clearly do not care about customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anc216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Cristal Palace Hotel
Cristal Palace Hotel
#48 of 98 in Palermo
432 reviews
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#35 of 98 in Palermo
315 reviews
Casena dei Colli
#34 of 98 in Palermo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palace Hotel

Property: Astoria Palace Hotel
Address: Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Palace Hotel is an impressive building of 320 rooms situated at about 500 meter from the harbour of Palermo. The distance from the centre is of only 1,5 km easily reachable by several public buses or simply walking for 15 minutes about. The near subway allow you to move toward all points of the city and it is also a good transportation to the airport situated at only 25 km from the hotel. Finally, a public bus will take you to Mondello, one of most important beach of the city. The building almost fully restructured in the year 2009 will offer you different services: 4 excellent restaurants, one bar in the main floor and one in our roof where you can enjoy of a wonderful view of all the city, 8 meeting- rooms (from 10 till 650 seats with all high tech facilities for demanding business guests) , gym, health area, reception open 24 hours room service, laundry service FREE PARKING AND FREE INTERNET CONNECTION. All the rooms very cured in their furnishing offer all the comforts of a four stars category: Air conditioning, heating, digital tv, Wi-Fi connection, safety box, phone, minibar, hair dryer. Reserve your stay at Astoria Palace Hotel and enjoy of our staff’s attentions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Palermo
Hotel Astoria Palace
Astoria Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing