We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Palace Hotel
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Palace?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's with a little poetic licence that you could associate this place with a palace. It is located near the harbour/docks area, next to the fruit and vegetable markets that were in full swing from the early hours each morning. Other residences around could not be described as high class.
I stayed there for 3 nights and constantly found the lobby busy with bus tour groups, other travellers and shipyard construction workers. My room on the 4th floor had recently been tastefully renovated, with a new bathroom and new furniture and fittings throughout. The cigarette ash and butts and pigeon poo that adorned the balcony railing and floor when I arrived was cleaned up on the 2nd day of my stay. The hotel corridors seem to be one part of the place not yet updated - they are very drab, with badly stained and dirty carpet.
Meals in the dining room were very good. I had the buffet dinner with an excellent variety of hot and cold fresh local food, and also the breakfast with lots of breads, croissants, cakes and hot food. There's a small supermarket just up the road for water etc, but little else of value to the traveler nearby. I was advised by others not to walk around the streets late at night, so the hotel dinner was very handy. It's a €12-15 taxi ride into the city/old town area. Don't forget to agree on the fare before you get in the cab.
Free room safe, free wi-fi in the lobby and a very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryY43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    248
    306
    211
    122
See reviews for
123
320
28
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have never stayed in a really bad hotel until this one. We stayed three nights as part of a tour, but wanted to leave after the first night. Our room on the 7th floor overlooked the filthy local fruit market. The room was very hot the afternoon we arrived. Front desk staff were generally rude and unhelpful and when we asked why aircon was not working staff said it would come on after 4.00 pm. Dinner was awful, overcooked mush ( but nice dessert) and no coffee. After dinner, our room was sweltering, still no aircon. Front desk said aircon does not become available until July! Room was so hot we had to leave screenless window open, only to be plagued all night by Sicily's famous mosquitos. Market across the road starts at 3.00 am, very noisy, no chance of sleeping after that. Lots of traffic noise as well. Other members of our group had the same experience. Corridors on all floors have a horrible, mouldy smell. Food in restaurant was consistently bad. Bar on ground floor sells expensive coffee and the expected bar drinks and snacks. Surrounding area is dirty, rubbish filled, noisy, smelly. Town centre is about a 45 minute walk through very unappealing areas. Bad food, hot, horrible room, rude, unhelpful reception staff without exception .... But the breakfast was ok and the dining room staff were friendly and helpful. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank O3098HTelizabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yes, Palermo can be untidy and the hotel is next to the large fruit market which makes it a bit worse but once you are through the gates it's fine, but you could be anywhere, it's that sort of hotel. It's efficient. Everything works, staff are helpful, rooms and bathrooms OK, breakfast good, no complaints. We stayed two nights and it's a nice walk past the English Garden into the main shopping street. Try for a special offer. We had a room at 69 Euros a night but even the normal 80 Euros was cheaper than other hotels we sayed at and one of those was terrible. It's a good place to stay but just a normal, tower block hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite ok for one night. It has a free parking and is not much for from centre so you can walk there. But palermo is full of garbage and so are the pavements around a hotel. It is not 4 star hotel but nothing really bothered us. The room was nice and clean, and so was the bathroom. Breakfast was very rich with the biggest choice of food. Free wifi doesnt work in the rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bannanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The building looks like a Las Vegas hotel from the sixties, and it is really far away from the city center (a 45’ walk along the Market and Port, or 35’ through the English Garden and a better neighborhood), or a 20E fare.
The staff seems to be more interested in themselves, than in customers.
There is a big difference if you are in a Group (which seem to be the main clientele) or on your own regarding to meals., for instance, breakfast for non-group guests are more plentiful and with more options.
Groups will also never have dinner buffets, but 3 course meals, “Pasta, veal (usually), and dessert, served hastily by staff, and beverages must be fetched on a special table, and paid in advance, although they keep your wine bottle if not consumed for the next night dinner.
Wi-fi works only in the lobby and seems to be erratic. Staff will only provide you with the password but there will be no help if you cannot connect.
Rooms and bathrooms are not all bad, but some have a terrible smoke odor, as well the lifts and corridors.
One positive thing, they provide you with a breakfast bag, if you have to leave early in the morning, but you must ask in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaldeckSerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

After celebrating Sicily's patron saint day we arrived back to hotel a little after midnight. We walked from city centre as there were no taxis available! Close on a one hour walk we eventually arrived very thirsty and asked receptionist could we avail of a bottle of water to which he replied "no" I have no access to water now you will have to wait until the morning...... Needless to say we packed our bags and left the next morning! Breakfast was very basic, location terrible!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is not a 4 star neither a 3 star hotel. There is hardly any similaritty between the advertisemnet of the hotel and the resality. Reception and dining hall personnel were friendly and nice and did their best. Free Wi-fi was an advantage. The main disadvantage of the hotel is a very poor maintenance and facilities. Contrary to beautiful pictures at the hotel internet site there was no coffee cattle in the room and the television was ancient. The receptionist was good enough to help by providing kettle. However, to plug the kettle the only socket was below the table so we had to place the cattle on the floor... The bath tab was broken so the water stood for a long time before the water cleared. We were promised to have it fixed in the morning but nothing was done through 4 days of our stay. The hotel advertises a fitness center – This was hardly a very small room with equipment that did not work - neither the bikes nor the walker were functional! Disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenachemR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#31 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#25 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isola di Mozia
#10 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palace Hotel

Property: Astoria Palace Hotel
Address: Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Palace Hotel is an impressive building of 320 rooms situated at about 500 meter from the harbour of Palermo. The distance from the centre is of only 1,5 km easily reachable by several public buses or simply walking for 15 minutes about. The near subway allow you to move toward all points of the city and it is also a good transportation to the airport situated at only 25 km from the hotel. Finally, a public bus will take you to Mondello, one of most important beach of the city. The building almost fully restructured in the year 2009 will offer you different services: 4 excellent restaurants, one bar in the main floor and one in our roof where you can enjoy of a wonderful view of all the city, 8 meeting- rooms (from 10 till 650 seats with all high tech facilities for demanding business guests) , gym, health area, reception open 24 hours room service, laundry service FREE PARKING AND FREE INTERNET CONNECTION. All the rooms very cured in their furnishing offer all the comforts of a four stars category: Air conditioning, heating, digital tv, Wi-Fi connection, safety box, phone, minibar, hair dryer. Reserve your stay at Astoria Palace Hotel and enjoy of our staff’s attentions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Palermo
Hotel Astoria Palace
Astoria Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing