We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Italian madness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Driving through Palermo is not for the faint of heart, and arriving at Principe di Villafranca brought immediate relaxation with its stylish and charming interior. the room was beautiful and the only regret is we didnt have more time to enjoy the common spaces and bar. definitely recommended when visiting this gem of a city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PETE1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,
We are so delighted to learn that you found a oasis of peace from the bustling rhythm of our beautiful city within Hotel Principe di Villafranca!Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation of the style and atmosphere of the property; we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, to continue discovering both the city and the property.
My warmest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fine overall, no complaints. The rooms were a tad tired / in need of a paint refresh with no hooks and little hanging space for 2 ppl, although fun/stylish decor. Good bathrooms and great toiletries. Very friendly and helpful front office staff (if not entirely knowledgeable of the area, but that was the same across most of Sicily). The one irk apart from hooks/closet space was a huge, heavy potted plant was placed on the balcony which prevented us from closing the external shutters at night. But noise levels were comparatively good - better than I expected.

Excellent new quasi independent restaurant attached - greatly enjoyed dinner one night and breakfast was good as well. Converted me to the italian "sweet breakfast". Common room was nice, although could use some mood music, and for the "cold" nights would have been nice to have the fire going.

Very civilised area; nice to start Palermo adventures in the new town. We stayed in the old town at the tail end of our Sicily trip and felt we got the order right.

Room Tip: was in the back by the parking but noise level was fine
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank viribustotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, especially the décor of the rooms, the helpfulness of the hotel staff, the delicious cuisine of the hotel restaurant and of our breakfast buffet. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the hotel location and surroundings, just a short walk away from the old town in the elegant shopping district.
We appreciate your remarks and suggestions and wish to share that if we had known you were experiencing trouble with the room external shutters, we would have been very happy to work out the issue for you during your stay. We also wish to ensure we periodically refresh and repaint all rooms, usually during these very weeks after holidays, and that we will take your suggestions as to the common areas and rooms in very high consideration.
We would sincerely like to thank you for your review and wish to have you back as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.

Kind regards,

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stylish hotel with a mix of antiques and modern furnishings that work well together. Very good beds and block out curtains. Good continental breakfast. Excellent location in good neighbourhood with many restaurants and classy shops. Close to city centre. Friendly English speaking staff. Only complaint is unreliable and unsecured WiFi. Fee for it was waived when complained about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithy3242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guests,
we are so delighted by your excellent review - thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay experience with us at Principe di Villafranca, Palermo. Thank you for highlighting how much you loved the overall style and atmosphere, how comfortable the rooms are, and how much you enjoyed all the different aspects of your stay, from location to breakfast and finally the friendliness and politeness of the hotel staff. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the wifi service: if you feel like sharing further details on this issue that we may pass on to the technical service to improve our offer, please do not hesitate to contact giulia.briguglia@thehotelsphere.com.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you again as our guests in the future, on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo, and in the meanwhile please accept our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Palermo is such a cultural mix that it is easy to get lost in the noise and chaos. The Principe de Villafranca is a suburban oasis with a ten minute walk to the pulse of the city. It is a small, boutique hotel big on insuring that each guest will be well taken care of. It starts at the front desk with wonderful hosts who welcome you with smiles and warmth that never leaves. All the rooms are comfortable, artistic and have all the amenities including well constructed windows that eliminate much of the street noise. The breakfast room is cute and the food, diverse and ample. My favorite area is the lounge and bar....there you can have a beverage or sink into one of the sofas and read one of the many books lining the walls of both this room, the hallway above or in your own suite. The bookshelf in my room held about 20 books in 6 different languages. What fun! I will not forget this place for several reasons...it became a retreat at the end of a long day, it had a staff that was delightfully helpful (Giulia, a thousand thanks) and it contained amenities that made me feel at home. When I left, it felt that I was saying goodbye to a family. And Angelo, I promise I will never forget you or your wonderful warmth!

Room Tip: Just ask to see your room. If it is not to your liking, they will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Leah,

On behalf of all our staff I would sincerely like to express our most heartfelt thanks for the kind words and gestures you have had for all of us all throughout your stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, and to thank you indeed for writing this amazing review, sharing your stay experience with all the readers of the Tripadvisor travel community. We thank you for highlighting the peaceful yet central location, the warm and friendly atmosphere of the property, the elegance and style of rooms and common areas, and the attitude of all the staff, really trying to make each guest’s stay as perfect as possible.

We all look forward to have you back at Hotel Principe di Villafranca on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and promise we will never forget you either!

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. My room was large, and I loved the minimalist decor. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was great. Breakfast was very good and there was a wide selection of items from which to choose. I noticed that one reviewer stated that he had to pay from wi-fi in his room but I did not so I am not sure what is going on with that. The connection was very reliable. The location of the hotel was also very good - nice neighborhood with restaurants, pharmacy, and a wonderful gelato shop! It is close to some of the sightseeing locations which is a plus because parking in Palermo is very dicey. I also thought the staff was extremely nice, cordial and knowledgeable about the City. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveitaly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community. We are really delighted to read how much you enjoyed the property, its décor, your room and bathroom, and the lovely neighbourhood where the hotel is located. Thank you also for appreciating our staff friendliness and dedication. With a view to wifi connection, I assume it was probably included in your specific room rate, as this service is fee-paying indeed, unless it is specifically included in the room rate.
We would be very happy to have you again as our guest in the future and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Palermo.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

An amazing place to stay in Palermo. They all speak English and are all very friendly and helpful. Room was spotless, breakfast buffet was better here than anywhere else we stayed. Front desk very helpful and accommodating. Great location, great staff, we will return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest
It is such a great pleasure to read such a fantastic review! Thank you so much for highlighting the professional and friendly attitude of all our staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, and how marvelous our buffet breakfast is! We sincerely thank you for appreciating our property so much and really hope to have you soon as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Good hotel: big room, clean and quiet. Very good breakfast, regardful staff. Good location, near downtown. Should be an excelente place to stay, but it's unacceptable to charge for wi-fi connection nowadys.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauchosPeloMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your review! We are extremely glad that you found your stay truly enjoyable thanks to the confort and cleanliness of your room, to the excellent hotel location and regardful staff.
We thank you for highlighting your disappointment with the wifi at a charge; we are currently reconsidering this aspect, and your comment is very helpful indeed.
We hope to have you with us again on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo, and int he meanwhile send you our best regards.

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 98 in Palermo
476 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#18 of 98 in Palermo
563 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
555 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 98 in Palermo
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Address: Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £62 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing