We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Palermo? Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Central, clean, modern, quiet with helpful staff. Breakfast good. Dinner not tried. Beds extremely comfy and changed more frequently than needed. Car from and to airport can be booked by hotel. Monica particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your lovely review and for awaring a full five points to your stay! We are delighted you appreciated all the different aspect of your stay, from hotel atmosphere to staff service, and sincerely wish to welcome you back on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principe di Villafranca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my three grown children last week. We had two rooms and both were excellent. Air conditioning worked great which was a relief after several hotels in Italy with minimal AC. The location was great because it is away from the main traffic area so a quiet street, yet close enough to walk to almost all the tourist and shopping areas. The absolutely best thing about this hotel was the service we received from the concierge staff. They arranged car service, taxis, and an excursion to the other side of the island to see Mt. Etna. I was able to pay the hotel for the excursion and they paid the providers. This left us free to enjoy the whole day without worrying about how much Euro to pay each person! They also took the time to go outside and explain where we were going to each taxi driver to make sure we arrived where we intended (since we speak very little Italian/Sicillian). If I ever make it back to Palermo, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the people who helped us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for this amazing review – it is so great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how all members of staff here at the property were completely keen on providing the best assistance and information to let your family really make the most of your stay.
Thank you very much for highlighting two key aspects to your stay, such as the perfect comfort of your rooms and the very central yet quiet location of the property. Let me also thank you on behalf of all our members of the front desk staff for appreciating their professional and warm attitude, always ready to go the extra mile for our guests and for our guests!
I personally wish to thank you for your sincere and heartfelt feedback on your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at Principe di Villafranca on the occasion of your next holiday in Sicily!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel and its staff provided more than adequate accommodations and service in the better part of the city, near the best restaurants and shopping.. We had a junior suite that was large, clean and quiet. While breakfast didn't provide eggs to order, there was a very large choice of Italian delicacies, fruits, breads and cheeses. Can't imagine walking away unsatisfied. A very good hotel at fair prices.

Room Tip: Face the side street
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123happytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very good review. We are very happy you enjoyed the property and its location, our staff attitude and that you find that your room absolutely matched your expectations. We are also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection, but we are at the same time sorry that you thought there were no eggs to order. Our breakfast staff is trained to propose eggs to prepare on demand to all our guests, so I personally apologize should this not have been the case. We will for sure intensify the proposition of such possibility to all our guests. We are delighted that you found the price/quality ratio of the property excellent and would love to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
In the meanwhile, please accept my kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

No one to help us with our bags upon arrival. Front desk staff ranged from somewhat helpful to surly. Rooms were clean and modern with very nice bathrooms - we booked upgraded rooms. Quiet neighborhood for sleeping. Good location. Breakfast was uninspiring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaLisaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca and thank you for your appreciation for our rooms and bathrooms – we are also very happy that you loved the location of the property. We are terribly sorry that you experienced the inconvenience of the bellboy being temporarily unavailable while you were checking-in and that your experience with our front desk staff was very different from the feedback we usually experience on such interaction, describing our staff as very warm and welcoming, and always ready to go the extra mile for our guests. We are also sorry that our range of fresh, local baked products, different types of bread, savoury products such as cheeses, cold cuts, bacon and eggs prepared fresh on demand, and many other products including a selection of fresh fruit and fruit juices and marmalades, did not meet your expectations – we would be extremely happy to be in contact with you, should you wish to do so, at marketing@principedivillafranca.it to learn more on how to improve the stay experience we provide our guest and to have you as our guest once more to have a further opportunity to make your stay truly unforgettable.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Large clean rooms , friendly staff, but the breakfast comes up short. No eggs or milk for cereal...no OJ. The music was loud and inappropriate for a morning meal...and I like Aretha, just not at 8am on a Sunday.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, and for highlighting all the aspects you enjoyed about your stay, such as the lovely location, the comfortable and clean rooms and our friendly staff. At the same time, we would like to thank you also for sharing your impressions on the breakfast service; we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, but at the same time we are sorry you did not immediately shared these requests and needs with our breakfast staff, who would have been extremely happy to prepare eggs, which are made fresh on demand for all our guests, show you where the milk and the three types of juices, which are always present of the breakfast buffet, were located, and of course turn the volume of the music down, if it was too loud for you.
We sincerely hope that we will have a future opportunity to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay and manage to give you a completely enjoyable experience!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales and Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here one night before flaying out of Palermo. Staff very helpful and fluent in English. Rooms clean and modern with good air conditioning. Only detractor is location - not far (10 minute walk) from main streets of Palermo, but immediate surrounding area a little run-down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for awarding your stay with us a full five points! That is most appreciated.
We are very happy you enjoyed the helpfulness of the members of our staff and the cleanliness and upkeep of rooms. On the other hand we regret that with such a short stay you did not have the time to fully perceive the neighbourhood where the hotel is located: just a few steps away from Palermo’s most famous and beautiful street, via della Libertà, the hotel is in the centre of the high-end shopping, dining and entertainment district. Moreover, as you said, it is a short walk from the historical part of the city.
We really hope we will have the opportunity to have you back as our guest at Hotel Principe di Villafranca on the occasion of your next stay here in Palermo!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here on the last two nights of our holiday in Sicily. The hotel is located in a fairly quiet side street and the pictures on the booking site flatter to deceive. Our room was average size and minimalist to say the least but it fulfilled our needs.
Breakfast was disappointing to say the least with no hot food and tasteless coffee, a crime in Italy. The hotel states that it offers parking but this is on a first come first served basis and hence we ended up paying a fortune to park in an underground car park three streets away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us and with all of the Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to read that you appreciated the hotel location and its overall ambiance and style. On the other hand, I am very sorry to read that you felt the pictures on the website did not respond to the reality – as a matter of fact we are quite proud of the fact that in spite of looking beautiful they are also extremely realistic – though of course, if someone looks at the picture of a junior suite and then books a superior room instead (in spite of photos being very clearly and fairly displayed on the booking engine), you might have the feeling the room is smaller and less striking that he/she remembered. I apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced with the hotel garage: parking places are of course in a limited number, and though we try and accommodate all requests at our best, it occasionally happens, over days of very high occupancy, to finish them all. What we always suggest, it you are travelling with a car, is to highlight this at the time of booking, so that we can meet this request in advance.
We are also very sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with our buffet breakfast – as a matter of fact, the good quality and wide variety of sweet and savory products served fresh daily on the buffet is complemented by hot dishes on demand, which are very rapidly prepared by our staff. We are also sorry that you disliked our coffee but we may assure that, as this is the first time we receive such a negative feedback on it, this must have been a most unfortunate chance, as both our American coffee and espresso are served well hot and tasty, and loved by all guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guest on the occasion of a future stay in Palermo, in order to give you a second chance to reconsider our services and possibly have a different and better stay experience.
We thank you again for the review and look forward to welcoming you at Principe di Villafranca.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#27 of 98 in Palermo
460 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
529 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#12 of 98 in Palermo
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Address: Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £77 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing