We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 29 July 2014

At First Glance this hotel looks very clean and modern. It is in the communal areas. But our Room 112 was not to be. Firstly when I picked up the Mini bar menu it was full of dust, there was dust on the bedside hanging lights, above the wardrobe and along the skirting. Also what we notice is that the bedside table did not have a power socket above or below, so charging items in our room was a bit of a pain as there was one single socket by the door and ne single socket above the second desk. In the bathroom we found black mold on the shower hose and in the corners of the shower screen. This is not acceptable. This is due to the hose not ever being cleaned. We found the breakfast choice rather basic. The fruits were hard and not ripe and you had a choice of pineapple, watermelon and kiwi only. If you want eggs be careful as the lovely lady undercooked our fry eggs. I tried to only eat what I thought was cooked but it upset my stomach. I tried the poach egg the following day but that was worst. I didn't even touch it as it was runny and filled with water. We tried room service and we had to change our choice as that option was not available. We left our plates outside of our room and it was not collected until the afternoon of the next day. The only great thing about this hotel is the location. But since this was not our first time in Palermo we know that this is not standard across each hotel. Just very disappointed. So I wouldn't recommend this hotel as there is a clear lack of communication with front of house and back of house and this is where it lets down the service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the same level. if you go try not to have the rooms at the end of the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casio09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on your recent stay with the readers of the Tripadvisor community. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, and that your general impression of a low-standard service differs so much from both our approach and policies and from the feedback we daily receive both online and offline from all our guests.
We are sorry, and surprised, to read that you were disappointed by the cleanliness of your room. None of the issues you highlight is regarded as secondary in our room cleaning and maintenance procedures, and we have very strict policies on cleanliness and maintenance of guestrooms and bathrooms, which will be reaffirmed and worked upon following this review.
With a view to the breakfast service, our buffet offers a selection of fresh fruit delivered daily – the variety of seasonal is always guaranteed, with a choice between sliced and whole fruit. The variety can be wider or narrower according to the best fruit available, always with an attention, in a hot climate, to avoid overripe fruit. Our breakfast staff is always ready and available to accommodate the needs and tastes of our guests, so if you were fancying some particular type of fruit or would have liked a different degree of cooking for the eggs, our staff, if involved, would have been very happy to provide you with what you had requested.
Moreover, our restaurant, providing room service, is renowned for using only daily fresh, seasonal ingredients, so if a particular item is not available on the market on a specific day, the dish on the menu including it must necessarily be revised with one of the many options provided by our chef on the daily menu.
We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay and remark that none of such issues was highlighted during your stay, that which would have enormously helped us improving the enjoyment of your stay – we therefore hope to have you back as our guest in the future to have a second and better experience at Hotel Principe di Villafranca.
With our kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great place to stay in Palermo! The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Air conditioning and cable TV. Beds are amazing very comfortable, every thing was clean and modern. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with some nice restaurants and shops. Breakfast was good, and the staff very helpful. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca and that you loved your room, its features and bedding, its cleanliness and style. We are also very happy you enjoyed the hotel location, breakfast service, and our friendly and supportive staff. WE thank you for recommending our property and hope to have you again as our guest on the occasion of a future stay in Palermo!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Central, clean, modern, quiet with helpful staff. Breakfast good. Dinner not tried. Beds extremely comfy and changed more frequently than needed. Car from and to airport can be booked by hotel. Monica particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your lovely review and for awaring a full five points to your stay! We are delighted you appreciated all the different aspect of your stay, from hotel atmosphere to staff service, and sincerely wish to welcome you back on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my three grown children last week. We had two rooms and both were excellent. Air conditioning worked great which was a relief after several hotels in Italy with minimal AC. The location was great because it is away from the main traffic area so a quiet street, yet close enough to walk to almost all the tourist and shopping areas. The absolutely best thing about this hotel was the service we received from the concierge staff. They arranged car service, taxis, and an excursion to the other side of the island to see Mt. Etna. I was able to pay the hotel for the excursion and they paid the providers. This left us free to enjoy the whole day without worrying about how much Euro to pay each person! They also took the time to go outside and explain where we were going to each taxi driver to make sure we arrived where we intended (since we speak very little Italian/Sicillian). If I ever make it back to Palermo, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the people who helped us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for this amazing review – it is so great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how all members of staff here at the property were completely keen on providing the best assistance and information to let your family really make the most of your stay.
Thank you very much for highlighting two key aspects to your stay, such as the perfect comfort of your rooms and the very central yet quiet location of the property. Let me also thank you on behalf of all our members of the front desk staff for appreciating their professional and warm attitude, always ready to go the extra mile for our guests and for our guests!
I personally wish to thank you for your sincere and heartfelt feedback on your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at Principe di Villafranca on the occasion of your next holiday in Sicily!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel and its staff provided more than adequate accommodations and service in the better part of the city, near the best restaurants and shopping.. We had a junior suite that was large, clean and quiet. While breakfast didn't provide eggs to order, there was a very large choice of Italian delicacies, fruits, breads and cheeses. Can't imagine walking away unsatisfied. A very good hotel at fair prices.

Room Tip: Face the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123happytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very good review. We are very happy you enjoyed the property and its location, our staff attitude and that you find that your room absolutely matched your expectations. We are also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection, but we are at the same time sorry that you thought there were no eggs to order. Our breakfast staff is trained to propose eggs to prepare on demand to all our guests, so I personally apologize should this not have been the case. We will for sure intensify the proposition of such possibility to all our guests. We are delighted that you found the price/quality ratio of the property excellent and would love to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
In the meanwhile, please accept my kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

No one to help us with our bags upon arrival. Front desk staff ranged from somewhat helpful to surly. Rooms were clean and modern with very nice bathrooms - we booked upgraded rooms. Quiet neighborhood for sleeping. Good location. Breakfast was uninspiring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaLisaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca and thank you for your appreciation for our rooms and bathrooms – we are also very happy that you loved the location of the property. We are terribly sorry that you experienced the inconvenience of the bellboy being temporarily unavailable while you were checking-in and that your experience with our front desk staff was very different from the feedback we usually experience on such interaction, describing our staff as very warm and welcoming, and always ready to go the extra mile for our guests. We are also sorry that our range of fresh, local baked products, different types of bread, savoury products such as cheeses, cold cuts, bacon and eggs prepared fresh on demand, and many other products including a selection of fresh fruit and fruit juices and marmalades, did not meet your expectations – we would be extremely happy to be in contact with you, should you wish to do so, at marketing@principedivillafranca.it to learn more on how to improve the stay experience we provide our guest and to have you as our guest once more to have a further opportunity to make your stay truly unforgettable.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Large clean rooms , friendly staff, but the breakfast comes up short. No eggs or milk for cereal...no OJ. The music was loud and inappropriate for a morning meal...and I like Aretha, just not at 8am on a Sunday.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, and for highlighting all the aspects you enjoyed about your stay, such as the lovely location, the comfortable and clean rooms and our friendly staff. At the same time, we would like to thank you also for sharing your impressions on the breakfast service; we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, but at the same time we are sorry you did not immediately shared these requests and needs with our breakfast staff, who would have been extremely happy to prepare eggs, which are made fresh on demand for all our guests, show you where the milk and the three types of juices, which are always present of the breakfast buffet, were located, and of course turn the volume of the music down, if it was too loud for you.
We sincerely hope that we will have a future opportunity to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay and manage to give you a completely enjoyable experience!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales and Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#27 of 98 in Palermo
464 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#4 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,311 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Address: Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £70 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing