We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good service, a bit away from sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 6 June 2006

The welcome was great and the rooms very comfortable. It is attractive and quiet and the breakfasts were good. It is a little way from the main sights in Palermo, but we did walk to to the Duomo and the Kalsa area easily enough. Finding it is not easy, but then driving in Palermo is horrible wherever you stay!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2006

We loved the location. The best shopping district in Palermo. Safe for late night walking -- many wine bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. The opera and the old city are an easy walk as well. The breakfast is great. Not the Ritz, but fine for the price. Staff seemed willing and able. When we arrive, I was 40 Euros short for the taxi fare and went in and asked the receptionist for 40 Euros for the taxi. She handed over the 40 Euros without a blink. I paid back the 40 at check out.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2006

This hotel was very difficult to find and the receptionist was disinterested, almost arrogant. We booked a double room and got two single beds. We then asked for a room with a double bed and was told the hotel was filled but never saw another soul the whole time we were there, which was one day.

We selected this hotel because we had an early flight to Rome the next morning and it was closer to the airport than the recommended hotels in the center of Palermo.

The room was rather piperack-y. The bare essentials, nothing attractive, rather dingy.

The bathroom was brand new, marble and very clean. There were very nice amenities available--shampoo, etc. I'm not big on hotel bathrobes, always have my own, so that's not an issue. The hairdryer was the best I encountered in Italy this trip.

Didn't eat in the restaurant, in fact, didn't know there was one.

Palermo is a terribly crowded city and if we had believed the tour books on this point, we would have avoided the city altogether. There are much nicer places in Sicily to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Josie323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

We stayed 5 days in Palermo .Exceptional staff , helpful with everything from cell phones to room service to last minute cancelations for friends. Kind ,efficient and professional.

Stayed: February 2006
Thank yacchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2006

I stayed at the Principe Di Villafranca for 3 nights last summer with a large family group, which gave me the opportunity to see 11 rooms, including the 1 suite pictured in the hotel's site. The suite was very large and comfortable; the other 10 rooms varied in size, but all were acceptable. Bathrooms are modern, but on the small side, particularly one room we were assigned at the begining, which was really small but got to change to another room without any problems. The hotel has a nice living area, with a computer with free internet access, and a small bar. We enjoyed this area very much after our long walks to the sites. We had dinner at the hotel once and it was fine, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I should warn you that when I first saw the hotel from the outside I was worried, since it looks like an apartment building from the fifties in a middle class neighborhood, but in the end it was very pleasant and I would stay there again. Considering the high prices of most hotels in Europe, this is a good and affordable option.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaMacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
12
Reviewed 9 December 2005

We stayed in the Hotel Principe for one night, having read excellent reviews on this website and in our Lonely Planet guidebook. However - the hotel in no way lived up to our expectations - I was shocked and extremely disappointed. The room was just awful - the baseboards were coming away from the wall, there appeared to be mold under them, the sheets were paper thin (nice look at a yellow stained pillow, ugh). Let's see there was a built-in ugly counter, a bizzare closet that appeared to be a middle-school shop project (I have never seen such a strange and ugly closet projecting into a room in my life - wish I had a pic but didn't want to remember it!) And there was a bath (with quite a few hairs in it!) and the shower head had nothing to hang it on so you could take a proper shower - my husband and I took turns holding the shower head up for each other. Also, they control the heat from the front desk - yes, if you are too hot or cold you have to CALL them - what is that about? Are we paying guests not to be trusted with a thermostat??? It was December and COLD, and had to call a couple times to get the heat turned up - makes you feel like an annoying person to keep doing that.

I realize this sounds like a horrid review but put it in perspective - this was the last night of our honeymoon, and I had tried to surprise my husband by staying in a nice hotel to round out an otherwise excellent trip. We payed 170 euro for a double, and other hotels we stayed in elsewhere in Italy were far superior for the same cost.

I would (obviously) never stay here again. Other guests seem to have had better luck, maybe we just got a horrid room, who knows.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 6 December 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 98 in Palermo
467 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#13 of 98 in Palermo
553 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#17 of 98 in Palermo
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
540 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
689 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Address: Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £63 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing