We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy start, but a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bumpy start, but a great stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I arrived in Palermo late at night, and after getting lost for an hour driving around downtown (where there are LOTS of one way streets), I finally arrived at midnight --to find that there had been a leak in my room and it was flooded! "Not to worry, we have found another hotel, very near, with parking, and they are waiting for you! We will have a room for you tomorrow..." And so they sent me to the Ibis Hotel, very close by, and I cam back the next night. Both places were very nice! Ibis was overlooking the port, and had breakfast on a balcony, with spare but clean rooms. Massimo, was in the center of town, quite busy and fun, with more upscale rooms. And the people were so very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a quiet room in the back (off the street, which is quite busy in the evening).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Proprietario at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

we are happy to know that You have understood that the drowback that happened was not dued to our will and we are pleased to having add You as our best guests.
We hope to welcome You again in our hotel.


Sincerely,
Rosa Di Stefano Farruggio
General Manager
FarHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    137
    41
    16
    12
See reviews for
58
244
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Palermo for 4 nights, it was our first visit to this city. We picked the hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor and let me tell you - the hotel still exceeded our expectations. The location couldn't get any better, really central, walking distance to bars, restaurants, water front, the old town, etc. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets were new and clean and were changed every day, the towels also new, clean, changed every day. The room was rather spacious for European standards and there was always the option for breakfast in bed at no extra cost. The only lowlight is the noise on Fridays and Saturdays from the streets, however, the windows are pretty sound proof. If you dislike noise, you should not pick a room facing the Massimo Theatre. And the staff - OMG, they were absolutely amazing, all of them. They gave us the best recommendations for restaurants, sights to see, places to visit, they gave us different options for visiting vineyards, the Marsala region and Monreale, they even had a birthday cake for me waiting in the room for us on my birthday. Absolutely the best hotel staff I have ever met. And I travel a lot for business and pleasure. :) So book this hotel and enjoy!

Room Tip: If you don't like weekend noise, avoid rooms facing the theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guests,
I have read on this site your full satisfaction for your stay in our hotel, it was an immense gratification for all of us and we are happy to be able to convey an emotion you have inside. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very small hotel with excellent service and in a convenient location. The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable and even though it was on a busy street, very quiet. Our plan included breakfast, which we had delivered to our room. It arrived on time every day and was quite enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Massimo Plaza Hotel for your stay in Palermo and it was really a pleasure to welcome you among our clients.
A heartfelt and sincere "Thank you" for the wonderful comments You wrote. Our goal is just to give you an unforgettable experience to our guests and we are very pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A perfectly located, charming small hotel. It feels like family and coming home when you enter the hotel from the bustling streets of Palermo. Nicely appointed, clean rooms, friendly, personalized service. If you look for absolute tranquility, this may not be the most suitable hotel (especially at weekends). There is outdoor activity galore until late in the night, and you may hear some of these activities in your room.No fitness center, but you can easily jog down to the harbor and along the park, then return to your hotel in 30-35 minutes.
I would return without hesitation to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Mr. Lucas,
thank you for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. We hope to have you again as our guest in a possible stay in Palermo. I take this opportunity to extend best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palencia, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Massimo Plaza hotel It´s a quiet hotel in the center of Palermo (just in front of Massimo Teather). Room was very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. They have also a parking near the hotel, if you travel by car :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the wonderful comment that avevte dedicated to our hotel. Thanks for choosing to publicly share your experience. It 'been a pleasure to have made your acquaintance and all the staff hopes to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

This small and lovely hotel is situated in the main square of Palermo, right in front of the magnificient Teatro Massimo. The atmosphere was very good, the rooms and the service very elegant! Staff kind and attentive. We loved the continental breakfast served in the large and confortable room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margitt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests,
all the staff of the Massimo Plaza Vs thanks you for your wonderful review.
It 'been a pleasure for us to have even made ​​the Vs knowledge and we are happy to have learned that the stay was of your acceptance. We hope to be able riospitare soon.
Cordially.
The Staff and Management of the Massimo Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I'm stay here for my honeymoon. My room has a romantic atmosphere, there were petals and flowers and with a wiew on the theatre. Breakfast in the room was fantastic, with sweet and salt too. Staff very friendly and helpfull. We will came back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 457maryab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests,
all the staff of the Massimo Plaza We send a sincere "Thank you" for the wonderful review you wrote. Our goal is just to give you moments and unforgettable experience to our guests and we are very pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations.
We sincerely hope to have you again to welcome the Massimo Plaza Hotel as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Property: Massimo Plaza Hotel
Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Business Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing