We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff is great, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massimo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Staff is great, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is great if you don't have bags - You can't get close to it with a car or a taxi. It's a closed street most of the time and therefore you have to walk with your bags from the taxi stand or where you leave your car. The room was comfortable, but the WI-FI was out for most of our stay, and I doubt it ever really works well. The staff were the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    132
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
57
233
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for seven nights at the Massimo Plaza Hotel for our honeymoon in Sicily. We had a lovely big room and view of the opera house. We had rose petals on the bed and a bottle of prosecco waiting for us on arrival!

The staff were so friendly and helpful. I unluckily got a very bad eye infection after a stone hit my eye. They helped arrange a doctor to visit the hotel and help me. They were genuinely concerned and in the next few days when I was in pain were very kind to me. We really felt looked after.

The breakfast is served to your room at a time of your choosing. There was lots of choice. I was full up every day until the evening! The room was kept very clean and we were provided with dressing gown and slippers to use.

The hotel is on a busy street but it is quiet at night with the balcony doors closed. The air conditioning kept us nice and cool at night.

If you want to go to the beach the hotel arrange a minibus to and from the beach, sun lounger and parasol at a fenced off beach for €11 each. It is well worth the trip. There are lots of beach sellers and so better to be in the private bit...although a few still try and sell things to you.

There were lots of nice restaurants nearby. It was a pleasure each evening to return to our lovely hotel for a coffee or beer. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed staying at the Massimo Plaza Hotel. Thank you to the staff who looked after us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HenKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A wonderful stay in a very nice hotel right opposite the Teatro, the pedestrian street t runs past the door and hop on hop off bus and taxis right outside. The staff were exceptional and helped carry our bags up the stairs. You need to advise staff approx. time for breakfast - either in the dining room or your hotel room. Individually cooked hot scrambled eggs the morning we were there - delicious. A very well organised team of staff who provide wonderful service. Our room was beautiful and very quiet as it was not looking over the Teatro building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent four nights at the Massimo Plaza and were delighted with the location, the friendly and helpful staff, and the overall quality of the experience. I would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a central place in Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent one night in this hotel and found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. However not having the option of a buffet breakfast detracted significantly from our experience. Dining in the room was cramped and breakfast had to be spread over the writing desk while eating at a small circular table. There are no facilities for tea or coffee making in the room either. Location is reasonable but information we were given was inaccurate and we spent hours looking for a street food market that ended up being closed on the night we were there. Overall quite an ordinary experience.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the theatre would add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasPalermo, Proprietario at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guests,
we are very sorry to learn about your bother about breakfast, which you did not appreciate, only after your departure and only through this review.
We want to specify, respecting your point of view, that our breakfast service is our strong point because it is different from the standard of the other hotels.
We offer to our clients a customized breakfast according to their needs, comfortably served in room or in our living room with devoted staff.
This kind of service is very popular between all of our networks. As regard the directions given to get to the street food market, we are sorry if you did not get it right and could not be able to reach it.
By the way, we wish to have the chance to welcome you again to offer you a service which will satisfy your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here one night, little tricky to find as in a walking street, but once you find it, they can arrange parking nearby. Lovely rooms and superb location for the sights. Friendly and helpful staff and lots of restaurants close by. Breakfast very good, in fact the best we had while in Sicily.
Definite recommend this very good, well run Hotel

Room Tip: all rooms seem great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMortimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on occasions and I cannot fault this hotel! Incredibly lovely and friendly staff who speak excellent English. Room was lovely, clean, comfortable and nice and cool. Fantastic location and visiting Massimo Teatro (seen from our balcony) was a highlight. My hotel of choice in Palermo. A++

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Property: Massimo Plaza Hotel
Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing