We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will come back next year!”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been loving Palermo, and this hotel gave us the possibility to visit it in a perfect way.
Its strategic position was useful when going to city center, to the train station and to the fantastic beach of Mondello! This beach is fantastic and actually very easy to access from the Hotel, if you go in Palermo during summer you cannot miss it. Just ask to the hotel staff how to get there, they will help you. About the hotel, room was great and silent enough for me, my wife and my baby. We loved having breakfast there and talking a bit with the director who gave us good tips for reaching the best place in the city center. We loved also the "S. Rosalia festa" in Palermo.
So, great Palermo and great hotel Posta.

Room Tip: We got a room in the first floor and it was nice and calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was a family vacation. This hotel was very dark inside. There was little light in the rooms and this may have been to cover the old dirty furniture and rooms. Furniture included plastic chairs that you could buy for 8 dollars and you would use in the backyard.
The breakfast did not include protein and there was a bug on the table that displayed the food.
There was also an issue of security in the rooms. I would not reccomend this venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanc91753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posta77, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are absolutely surprised to receive these comments (three comments
very similar in the same week, written with the intention to destroy the
image of our hotel in a serious way, in direct contradiction with what
others guests write every day. We write this in order to protect our
future guests and we are sure to ensure an excellent service.
We trink that probably these negative comments have the objective to
receive back the cost of the room, as refund, as envisaged by the
contract with your tour operator.
We regret that this site is used for commercial purposes, contrary to
the purpose of the trip advisor website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel was not my choice so I had go along with it. Hotel is small, rooms are for my taste poorly equiped and small, bathroom was in poor quality and cleanliness. Since it is Italy expect lot of noise from street. Breakfast was poor, not bread just croissant?!? Only good were staff, very friendly.

Room Tip: Look for bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posta77, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are absolutely surprised to receive these comments (three comments
very similar in the same week, written with the intention to destroy the
image of our hotel in a serious way, in direct contradiction with what
others guests write every day. We write this in order to protect our
future guests and we are sure to ensure an excellent service.
We trink that probably these negative comments have the objective to
receive back the cost of the room, as refund, as envisaged by the
contract with your tour operator.
We regret that this site is used for commercial purposes, contrary to
the purpose of the trip advisor website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Tiny hotel in a back alley, where if you step out the door you could be run over. The AC was so loud it sounded like a truck was idling in our room. The lighting was so poor, could hardly read at night, this was probably done so that you couldn't see the dirt and stains. The desk drawers had dirt and dead bugs in them. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor and in the shower. The shower was full of mold. When you took a shower you only had enough hot water for 1 person.

The hotel still uses skeleton keys for many of their rooms and you only get 1 key. The only way to lock your door when you are in the room is with the key. If you are determined to stay there ask for a room that uses a regular key ( there is a reason for that) !

The breakfast one morning had no protein at all. It was all cake, bread, cereal and canned fruit.
It is a lower version of a Motel 6. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that uses a regular key, This is very important!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posta77, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are totally surprised to receive this comment, deliberately written
with the intention to destroy the image of our hotel. We are sure that
it is not absolutely real, as demonstrated by the positive comments that
arrive daily. We write this in order to protect our future guests and we
are sure to ensure an excellent service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in mid April 2013.The staff at the hotel were friendly, efficient, and very helpful at all times. Good advice was given about a local restaurant where we had an excellent meal. My room was very comfortable and a minor problem was dealt with very promptly. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a good central location, rooms are clean and well equipped, although some of the furniture was a little tired. Free wifi in the lobby areas and a computer which is available free of charge. A limited, but good continental breakfast is available, though it may not suit if you have special dietry requirements. Staff were welcoming and friendly, during the day there is a team of young ladies and of an evening a very helpful young gentleman who recommended and booked us an excellent local restaurant. All in all this hotel offers excellent value for money, a great base for anyone visiting Palermo.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birchie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights in this hotel. It's in a great location, down a little side street off of one of the main roads in Palermo. It is not hard to find, though a bit of a walk from the train station and the port. If you don't mind strolling around Sicily in the sunshine, it's only 15 mins walk from some of the great sights of the city. The staff were great and really friendly. The room was big and spacious and very clean. The breakfast was good, with fresh pastries and fruit as well as the usual cereal etc.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNNS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,359 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#19 of 98 in Palermo
554 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Centro
#30 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 98 in Palermo
543 reviews
Hotel Joli
#24 of 98 in Palermo
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Address: Via Antonio Gagini 77, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#17 Family Hotel in Palermo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, family-run hotel is steeped in history and character and boasts a fortunate position in the historic centre of Palermo, just 300 metres from Teatro Massimo. Hotel Posta was once a noble residence and is definitely one of the most historic hotels in Palermo. It has been run with love and care by the same family since 1921. They are always on hand to assist in any way they can and can book excursions, tours, and theatre tickets. You can relax in the lounge with its well-stocked library and enjoy a cocktail in the cosy bar, open 24 hours. In warm weather, why not relax on the sun terrace or take a stroll down to the private beach? Each guest room comes with air conditioning and Satellite TV. Hotel Posta features a private car park and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Palermo
Hotel Posta Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing