We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising late night dinner”

Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti
Ranked #25 of 1,765 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Surprising late night dinner”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived late into Palermo and were recommended this restaurant by our Airbnb host. It was a fantastic experience. Nice family run restaurant. The sons Alessandro and Paolo were great at translating and the whole family were genuine and lovely people. But best of all, the food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    210
    51
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very nice restaurant with amazing food. Pizza and pasta were excellent.
Maybe one of the best restaurants we went in Sicily

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-MBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local hot spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away up near the cathedral, but despite that it was really drawing a lot of local families. The setting is very nice outside with a little retractable roof if necessary. The number of people meant there was a nice buzz to the place, but this also slowed service down to the annoyance of some of the locals. We ordered two pizzas which were packed with topping and very tasty. A lot of people were going for pizza which I guess suggests it is good. A cheap and delicious dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food but bad dessert!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review the day after visiting this restaurant. I would like to begin by saying that the food was delightful, we had bruschetta, prawns and a saucy aubergine dish (which we were told was typically sicilian) for starters, they were lovely. They also served fresh warm bread which worked well with our starters. We shared 2 carafes of red wine which were well priced and of good quality. Our mains were ricci pasta and swordfish wish were great (very large portions) we struggled to finish them due to the amount of starters we had! What I will say is that the dessert was very DISAPPOINTING they gave us a frozen tiramisu (a branded Cart'dor tub of it) it wasn't even defrosted. For a restaurant that prepares their own pasta the dolce was a huge disappointment. Overall I would say it was a good find. I would give it a 7/8 out of 10!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful seafood”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The service is a bit slow, because they really prepare the food here. You can virtually taste the pride they take in there trade. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingvar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing