We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Joli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Joli
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is ideally situated across from a Park and walking distance to many sites of Palermo. The staff is great and very helpful. Giuseppe, who looks like a young John Travolta at the front desk and Francesca who runs the Breakfast room could be Sicily or Italy’s next top model are both very helpful. They and the rest of the staff made my wife and I feel right at home. We highly recommend this hotel based on the staff, location and amenities.

Room Tip: If you go in Spring or Fall ask for the top room, which has its own balcony with chairs & a tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    249
    96
    35
    15
See reviews for
93
228
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed here twice for one-nighters in Palermo. Rooms are standard european size: not big!, but clean and my shower had all the force of a jacuzzi, which I love.
Location is off Via Roma and very close to Politeama, Teatro Massimo.
I didn't stay for breakfast but the bar/breakfast area is very nice.
Best thing, though, is always kind, friendly and helpful staff.
If you get a good price don't think twice!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AintTalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Not the very best location, about 15-20 minutes walking till Central station, however very close to via Roma, so it's quite safe to walk and also not a problem to get there by public transport. Not huge variety of dishes for breakfast, but it's just 3*, so please do not expect something special. Recepcionist was helpful in getting tourist info about Palermo, as we arrived about 21:00, and no any tourist info worked for that moment.
Please do not mix with other hotel nearby: there is also "Jolly" hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugeny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Good hotel; very clean; room interior is very nice. The entire hotel interior is pleasant with little cozy lobbies on each floor.
Location is excellent. Close to everything; 5 minutes to the sea port (for those who arrive/departure by ferry). Palermo is famous of being “noisy” place, however, even though the hotel located in the modern part of the city, close to the busy streets, our room was absolutely quiet, overlooking little piazza. Staff is friendly. Regular continental breakfast with fresh pastries and good coffee.
Good and affordable place to stay in Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbtravel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Reading some of the negative reviews of this hotel, I get the impression maybe some people have unrealistic expectations for their budget.

Our main criteria for a hotel was that it would be clean, safe, well located and quiet enough to allow us to get some sleep at night. For us Hotel Joli ticked all of those boxes.

We went for a deluxe double room, which was spotlessly cleaned each day with adequate air conditioning, an essential feature in the Palermo summer heat. My only complaint with the room is that the TV only shows Italian language channels, and 90% of those are shopping channels!. So unless you understand Italian, you may as well not have a TV at all.

Yes, the bathroom was small, but really...so what? How big do you need it? Shower water was lovely and warm and the inclusion of a bidet gave it a retro feel!

And yes, the beds are quite firm as some people are complaining, but personally I thought it was very comfortable that way.

The two complaints we had:

1. The staff weren't rude at all, but they certainly didn't emanate warmth and friendliness either. A little more businesslike than you might hope for in a small hotel. The 'welcome' on our arrival was particularly disappointing. I felt the receptionist only spoke to us because she had to.

2. Breakfast was....um...uninspiring. Slightly stale croissants, passable cereals and an odd hot brown liquid purporting to be coffee. I've never tasted anything quite like it. And hopefully never will again. Seriously, you won't bother with breakfast again after the first attempt.

All that said, if you're just really looking for a base to sleep (but not eat), which is clean and well positioned (very close to the interesting parts of town) then Hotel Joli is a perfectly reasonable choice. Just don't expect luxury (and you won't get it).

Oh, and the Wi-fi is free with an excellent signal!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murphaloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Hotel Joli is not in the greatest location, but it's ok. About a 25 minute walk from the train station, even though we were told it was 10 minutes. Staff was not helpful at all, and even complained when asked to do things like arrange airport shuttle, or adjust the time for us. We thought this may be part of their jobs. Bathroom was so narrow, I could barely fit beween the sink and the wall, and could barely get onto the toilet.
We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATSAR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

May be difficult to find because there is another hotel with a similar name in Palermo. Get close to the Poletiama and you will find it more easily.
Great Staff who tries to help with all questions and problems.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidorutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pietro68, Direttore at Hotel Joli, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest

thank you for your positive feedbak

We are happy if we are able to help our guests for any problem or question

Best Rergard
Pietro Silano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#13 of 101 in Palermo
523 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
1,202 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 101 in Palermo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#22 of 101 in Palermo
699 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
960 reviews
Hotel Posta
#31 of 101 in Palermo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joli

Property: Hotel Joli
Address: Via Michele Amari 11, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joli Hotel Palermo
Hotel Joli Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing