We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness in the heart of Sicily's capital city”
Review of Hotel Joli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Joli
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Due to an error on my part, two of us arrived in the Hotel Joli in early April to find that our rooms had not been booked. Nonetheless, they gave us the benefit of the doubt and put us in some extremely pleasant rooms in this small and friendly hotel.
The place has an old-style baroque appeal and the rooms are impeccably clean. The bathrooms, even the one in the small single room I had on a return visit, are spotless and function without a hitch.
Buffet-style breakfasts are more generous than is found in many of the smaller Italian hotels and there is a bar as well as a sitting room where you can use the hotel facilties to go online, although there is free wi-fi in your room, too.
The hotel is very conveniently situated and you can walk to many of the major sights, as well as being near enough to catch the bus to the airport or to other south-west Sicily attractions, such as Segesta, Trapani and Erice.
It is, I think, a family-run business and there is a concierge on the desk all night. When we had to make an extremely early morning departure for the airport, some food was put out as a stopgap breakfast.
And when my friend left her camera in the hotel room the hotel contacted us and sent it off promptly. Full marks for honesty and efficiency.

Room Tip: If you ask on the desk for a quiet room, they'll do their best to oblige. There is a lift, so ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsermay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of Sicily. The location is excellent, an easy walk to attractions and restaurants. Other reviewers have referred to noise but we found that the double glazed windows meant that the limited night time noise was not a problem. The staff were welcoming and the breakfast fair for a city hotel. We would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

As a party of 10 from Dublin, Ireland who stayed in the Hotel Joli for 5 nights towards the end of February 2014. We would definitely have to recommend the Hotel Joli as a great choice to stay when visiting Palermo. It offers terrific value for money. In a great location, central and within walking distance to all the main attractions. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a relaxed and homely atmosphere. Breakfast is ample if not alittle on the sweetside but the highest praise would have to go to the exceptionally friendly staff. Their friendliness and willingness to help was outstanding. They gave us great recommendations and directions to lovely restaurants nearby and at all times made us feel at home especially Anna who spoke perfect english and greeted us with her lovely smile at breakfast in the mornings and who also recommended us to visit Cefalu which is only an hours journey away by train and is definitely worth a visit. Overal excellent hotel. 10 out of 10 for its relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony eg room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of February 2014. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and had good recommendations for restaurants etc. The hotel is very central - walking distance to quatro canti, the opera house and the harbour.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks, and was made very welcome. Friendly, helpful staff went out of their way to make my stay more enjoyable. Excellent location meant it is in easy walking distance of all the attractions, and there are plenty of good quality restaurants close by. Only downside is a very small bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Let me start with a disclaimer...if you are bothered by hearing neighbors TVs or ambient street noise, visit another hotel.

That being said, this is an amazing hotel at a great value. It's like staying in a high end museum with private balconies above a sweet piazza. The breakfast is pretty much the same selection as anywhere in Italy, but slightly better with more variety. The staff is all very nice, and speak decent English just in case, but learn Italian anyway. Jerry, the guy that makes cafe in the morning, is particularly cool and has great advice. If you want to learn about local soccer, chat him up, and remember to wear pink/black (the Palermo team colors).

Overall, it is the perfect balance between location, price, history/art, comfort and connection.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lucas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We found Hotel Joli to be just what we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean Breakfast was delicious and there was a choice from a wide range of cakes and savouries. The hotel is in a quiet street overlooking a tree-lined square and is within easy walking distance of the centre of Palermo. There were plenty of good restaurants very close to the hotel. In particular we enjoyed Le merte de La Rosa, which had very good traditional food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 3rd floor. Choose a standard room rather than basic to ensure space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#20 of 98 in Palermo
767 reviews
Hotel del Centro
#29 of 98 in Palermo
539 reviews
Hotel Posta
#30 of 98 in Palermo
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,934 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joli

Address: Via Michele Amari 11, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joli Hotel Palermo
Hotel Joli Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing