We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in the heart of Palermo”
Review of Hotel Tonic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tonic
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our tour in Sicily and stayed a day longer at the end. It is centrally located so it is accessible and walkable to all parts of Palermo. The staff was very helpful, especially Jessica, who was most kind and helped us may times with finding restaurants and things to do. she spoke very good English as well.
The hotel is clean and proves an excellent breakfast, delicious croissants, pastries, even ham, cheese, homemade yogurt and breads. f we come back to Sicily, we would look up Hotel Tonic and stay there again.

Room Tip: The single rooms are nice but the suites are great. The bathrooms even have rain shower and full bod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momu1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 night at the Hotel Tonic. The first room (301) we had was sparse but adequate and clean.The beds however, were so bad that we could feel the configuration of each spring. We had to line the bed with all the extra pillows so we could sleep. The second room (103) was better but the black mold in the bathroom covered the ceiling and went down wall to the shower tiles. It was disgusting. We took pixs to back up our find. In both rooms we could hear outside noises as it there was little insulation in the wall. Most of the staff was pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast was great and the location was excellent. The mold was a deal breaker..we left.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but beware of the mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDVtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is a great choice for those who want to stay in the centre of Palermo. It is situated near commercial streets, restaurants and attractions. Reception is very helpful with touristic indications. If you arrive in Palermo at Central Station, just take bus 101 or 102 and get off after Cavour Street. There are a few indications so it is quite easy to get there. Breakfast is ok, plenty to choose. Beds are perhaps too hard so, be careful with your back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I've stayed here on 2 different occasions now. There is a big difference in room quality but most double rooms are HUGE with beautiful tile floors, very clean, extra sofa and bright sun. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is excellent, smack in the middle of the high end shopping and the old town. I would never recommend having a car in Palermo but if you do, parking can be quite difficult.

Room Tip: Get a room off of the first floor. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefdomestique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were surprised to experience the very good accommodations at the Tonic Hotel in Palermo Italy. Based on the not-so-pleasant attitude of the city as we drove in, we thought we were in for a not-so-pleasnat experience but that was not the cas. The room was large, cozy and warm (in the Winter of mid-March) and everything worked well for the inexpensive price.
At night the h\neighborhood became a wonderful scene of "cool" bars. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheACEFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Good location for walking around central Palermo. Short walk from Airport Bus stop. The rooms are clean but very dated, dark with no style and very high ceilings. Our room was large (#305) and actually a triple. The beds were not very comfortable. The bathroom was OK but quite small. Very small elevator so be prepared to take the stairs unless you have luggage. The staff is quite helpful so if you have a problem (as we did with the heater), don't hesitate to ask. Ok breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 305 is a double/triple, large with balcony overlooking side street so a bit noisy but well insu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

As my title indicates, this hotel is affordably priced. I paid 53 euro for a double in Feb 2013. The breakfast is terrific - lots of good quality choices. The beds had HARD mattresses, which made comfortable sleep difficult. It appears that management/owner of this hotel made a decision to purchase the absolute minimum level of WIFI internet service possible, in order that they could honestly advertise "We have WIFI!". The WIFI is barely sufficient for one person to be connected at a time. If two people are on, it's DEAD. Really disappointing, and by the way, the so-called WIFI is only available IN THE HOTEL COMPUTER ROOM, nowhere else.
I think it's time that TripAdvisor offer a WIFI rating system as part of their review process, so that guests can describe the WIFI accessibility to those considering booking a room. For me, and perhaps for you as well, good quality WIFI is critical to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,263 reviews
Hotel Joli
#26 of 98 in Palermo
638 reviews
Hotel del Centro
#29 of 98 in Palermo
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,934 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonic

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 126, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range: £40 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tonic 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tonic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Palermo
Hotel Tonic Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing