We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service”
Review of Orientale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orientale
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you would like to book rooms in Hotel Orientale - think twice before that! We made booking with the credit card in this hotel in September 2013 for 6 days, and due to the visa arrangements we tried to make changes in the booking. But Hotel Orientale cancelled the booking and CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD for 240 EUR (for all 6 days of stay) without my signature and presence. So we arrived to Palermo without booked room and money. Our friend from Palermo said that it is normal in Sicily to charge guests credit cards for no reason.

Tip: DO NOT GIVE you credit card number to this hotel and DO NOT STAY THERE!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slava999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    91
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
9
102
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived here this summer july and we got the most noisy room and it was impossible to sleep after 5 am.Luckily we got a more quiet one the next day.The location of the hotel is excellent if u like to roam around the city.My girlfriend really enjoyed staying there and the receptionist lady was very nice.However Palermo was very disappointing and would not recommend to anybody go there for many reasons.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is simple but also very cheap, if you consider that you are in the centre of Palermo
Breakfast is italian so minimal The hotel should do their best to improve the Wifi, nowadays you have to go to the reception desk in order to get Wifi
The building itself and the patio are gorgeous to see

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niemaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is off a busy street located on the second floor of a very grand but decaying building. The twin room I shared was clean, small and rather prison cell like. Whilst I expected basic, I've stayed in far superior places of an equivalent price. Bathrooms are located along a corridor which was a pain when having to wait to use. Breakfast was basic but adequate.

Overall, I wouldn't stay again.

Pros - clean and good location.

Cons - poor service, no en-suite bathroom and a rather odd staff member who hovered around outside the room which was disconcerting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avigilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great location, tiny rooms without bathrooms, great coffee for breakfast, low price, at the front desk, They "trying" to speak in languages ​​other than Italian, but the service is really nice - So I think is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We drove from Milazzo to Palermo via Monreale due to late check in time. Needless to say, when we pulled into the courtyard and carried our luggage up to the second floor, we were in no mood to be told that we couldn't park on premises and would have to find parking outside. We ended up parking on via Torino in front of the hotel. The parking on via Torino is free parking, but spaces are generally only available after 8 pm. Breakfast is served only at 8, so if you're out the door before that, you can find something at the many coffee bars. The room was nice, but hot, they do have a ceiling fan in the room, but they turn it off when the come in to make the beds. The beds were lumpy, so I got another coperta/cover from housekeeping for the bed and folded it in half and slept on top of it on the bed which made sleeping much more comfortable. Staff was very nice. There are two bathrooms at either end of the hall, both with showers, which was much more convenient than at Sveva BnB in Catania which had one bathroom for everyone to share. Hotel Orientale also has a sink in your room, which is great for brushing teeth, etc. We would stay at Hotel Orientale again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisheva and Mi... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel is great iof you are looking for somewhere basic and clean to stay whilst seeing the sights in Palermo, if you want a fancy hotel with a resturant and lots of facilities this isnt the place for you!!
I found absolutly no problem with the staff checking in as some oether reviers have said.... i learnt a few basic prases in Italian and the lady at reception was very nice and had a small bit of English so we managed just fine!! our room was basic but very celan and had everything we needed! Breakfast was basic.... cereals, juices, packaged croissants, great coffee.... it was all we needed and remember this is a budget hotel!!
As other people have mentioned yes.... our room was noisy...... Palermo itself is an extremley noisy and busy city so unfortunatley the noise comes as part of that package!!! I had included a note on our booking that we wanted a room facing the courtyard but we didnt get one... I have a feeling if i had written the request in italian we would have got it so maybe try that!! the rooms facing onto the courtyard would be much quieter i'm sure!! The market in the alley most of the source of the noise in our room) is well worth perusing.... amazing fresh food... fruit and veg... nom nom nom!!! the hotel is less than a 5 min walk form the statzione centrale and in the historic centre of Palermo.... we literally walked everywhere we wanted to go... the location is GREAT!!! if arriving at night the outside gate to the courtyard will be closed just press the buzzer below the small peice of paper saying Hotel Orientale and they will let you in..... you enter into an impressive flagstone courtyard surrounded by apartments(?)... head straight for the big marble staircase and up to the first floor where there is a big wooden door that you will be buzzed trough into the hotel and its reception area!! The building in which the hotel is housed is part of the 1700's palace apartments....the architecture and staircas is amazing but completley decaying.. it speaks of the past grandeur and decadence of the building and indeed the city itself. make sure to make it to breakfast at least one day of your stay as the amazing fresco ceiling in the breakfast room is well worth seeing!
yes the hotel is basic the building is worn down and crunbling..... but honestly this hotel completley embodies the historic old town of Palermo..... worn down baroque arhitecture everywhere that tells of a bygone era! This is the place to stay if you really want to experience what

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchaemommyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Albergo Vittoria
#70 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#48 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Hotel Cortese
Hotel Cortese
#57 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Centro
#31 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Hotel Regina
#42 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Tribunali
Albergo Cavour
Albergo Cavour
#34 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orientale

Property: Orientale
Address: Via Maqueda 26, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Hotel Class:1 star — Orientale 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Orientale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orientale Hotel Palermo
Orientale Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing