We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic”
Review of Orientale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orientale
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very old building but very well kept and cleaned by the 2 brothers. We're in room 8 and Benito Mussolini actually slept in room 7. B'fast room ceiling is a master piece.Furniture reflects period.Fantastic location. Markets around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank1958490907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here two nights. Arrived just before midnight and is nice and close to station. Building has character, but entrance way is unappealing - full of stray cats, garbage and cars. Dodgy location but secure. Rooms basic but are not serviced during your stay. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Whilst holidaying in Sicily we stayed in Palermo for a couple of days to see the sites and go to the opera at the Teatre Massimo. This hotel looks nothing from the outside, however it was wonderful once through the court yard and up the stairs. We usually go with family run properties as they generally provide that personal touch. It's their reputation on the line and you're not dealing with Chain Hotels transient staff. Don't be put off by the lack luster exterior. Inside it is full of old world charm. Very clean with comfortable beds. Bathroom in our room was large and bright. The breakfast room was amazing with a wonderful restored fresco on the ceiling. Breakfast was lovely, with a selection of cereals, yoghurts, cooked meats and bread. Fruit juice, tea and coffee. All 'help yourself' service. The owner and other staff we met were very helpful. It's a 5 min walk from Palermo Central Station and is on the same street that lead directly to the Teatra Massimo, which is about a 20 mins walk from the hotel. Great value, loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms are small, but large enough and clean
Service is minimal, but available if you can exaggerate your hand gestures
Building is old school, but full of history and is a great reminder of how the nobles lived
Breakfast is continental, but filling
Location is dodgy, but right next to the train station
Price is low, and appropriate

All in all, it's exactly what I needed when I needed it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you would like to book rooms in Hotel Orientale - think twice before that! We made booking with the credit card in this hotel in September 2013 for 6 days, and due to the visa arrangements we tried to make changes in the booking. But Hotel Orientale cancelled the booking and CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD for 240 EUR (for all 6 days of stay) without my signature and presence. So we arrived to Palermo without booked room and money. Our friend from Palermo said that it is normal in Sicily to charge guests credit cards for no reason.

Tip: DO NOT GIVE you credit card number to this hotel and DO NOT STAY THERE!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slava999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived here this summer july and we got the most noisy room and it was impossible to sleep after 5 am.Luckily we got a more quiet one the next day.The location of the hotel is excellent if u like to roam around the city.My girlfriend really enjoyed staying there and the receptionist lady was very nice.However Palermo was very disappointing and would not recommend to anybody go there for many reasons.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zolee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is simple but also very cheap, if you consider that you are in the centre of Palermo
Breakfast is italian so minimal The hotel should do their best to improve the Wifi, nowadays you have to go to the reception desk in order to get Wifi
The building itself and the patio are gorgeous to see

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niemaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Palazzo Brunaccini
#17 of 98 in Palermo
563 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
888 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orientale

Address: Via Maqueda 26, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Hotel Class:1 star — Orientale 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orientale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orientale Hotel Palermo
Orientale Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing