We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, central location, good value”
Review of Orientale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orientale
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Duffield, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Character, central location, good value”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed here for two nights on 6/10/09 and 7/10/09. Paid 60 Euros per room per night including breakfast. Booked by email.

In a central location on one of the main streets and just a few minutes walk from the train station and adjacent long distance bus station, (many local buses depart from Piazza Independenzia about 30 minutes walk away).

As in previous comments, the accommodation is around a large internal courtyard, and you go up a grand staircase to the first floor to access it. This is a small to moderate size hotel with limited facilities and rooms which are quite adequate, although nothing special, and in moderate condition, ours was quiet. There is no catering, breakfast is at a cafe along the street and consists of a drink and one simple pastry or roll.

However, the building is attractive with much character, the location is excellent, and the price is very reasonable for city centre, so overall this definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    91
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
9
102
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Stayed here in Oct 2009 with partner, his sister and her partner for a couple of nights. Driving into Palermo was no mean feat but once we found this place we were enchanted. Two lovely clean, comfortable double rooms, each with balcony onto the gorgeously faded courtyard, having entered via the mysterious wooden door and up the glorious marble staircase. A fantastic experience and great value to boot. We found it a bit hard to understand the concierge... but that just added to the charm really.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Especially contrasted with an absolutely miserable one night stay at the deceitfully-rated five star Grand Hotel Wagner (don't go there!), the Orientale was a dream of a hotel. Supposedly 'Budget' or 'One Star', the hotel is right by the train station, in a magnificent courtyard with the most incredible entry stair I've ever seen, the room was big, spotless, comfortable, with a very nice bathroom and lovely big french doors and terrace looking out onto the courtyard.

It may not have had the crapulous and difficult to use television and air conditioning systems of the Grand Hotel Wagner but it had kind people running a truly beautiful, classy and comfortable hotel at extremely reasonable rates. I would stay there any time - highly recommended!

Also tokens given for nice cafe for breakfast, really fun way to enjoy the local scene.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This is a very well run hotel , in a great old building. The room was clean and had all necessary amenities. The staff were helpful and predicated our every requirement.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBrittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Wonderful old palazzo in convenient location near station. Great courtyard and staircase that sweep up to reception have a dilapidated grandeur, but despite old fashioned style the rooms are impeccably clean. Staff are helpful, offering to keep our luggage for us before we asked, and vouchers are provided for breakfast at a nearby cafe. Our room looked out on a lively street market.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We found this hotel in our guide book while travelling on the train from Trapani. It was a 5 minute walk from the station and just the sort of place that we like, with lots of character. You walk into a courtyard that is being used for parking and up two flights of stairs (very steep). Don't let the exterior put you off as the hotel itself is very clean and at only 50 euros for the night (with breakfast) extremely reasonable. We had a choice of rooms although all of the en-suite rooms were taken. Our room did have a sink and a balcony which was a bonus. The daughter of the hotel owner was also very friendly and helpful and spoke English which was very useful. She also arranged to store our bags the next day while we went sight seeing. Our room was very noisy at night with police sirens wailing and dogs barking, but this didn't put us off and if we ever go back to Palermo we would stay here again. There is also a fabulous lounge rumoured to have been used by Mussolini when he addressed a crowd from the balcony.
Breakfast small but adequate at a cafe a few doors down (you are given a breakfast voucher).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodforfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed one night at the Orientale in late June. The hotel is really close to the train station / airport bus drop off. I had booked it over the phone - in 'phrasebook Italian' as the owner did not appear to speak any English - so wasn't sure that I would actually have a room when I got there! But they were expecting me so it obviously worked.

The entrance to the hotel is through a huge wooden door into an internal courtyard, and then you walk up this amazing wide staircase to the hotel entrance on the 1st floor. Except I walked past it and ended on the top floor thinking I had come to the wrong place!

I had booked a single room with bathroom, which was a bit pokey to be honest, but as I was only staying one night and leaving early the next morning it was OK. They showed me a nicer room, with street view, which was cheaper, but it didn't have its own bathroom so I stuck with the pokey one. (It did have aircon though). I spoke to a fellow guest who had paid more for a room which opened onto the courtyard - he was staying for a few days - so it's worth paying more if you are staying for longer.

Breakfast is at the cafe up the road - you can sit right on the pavement and watch all the locals going up and down Via Maqueda - it's very lively.

It was definitely worth staying here for the staircase - it's a 18th century palazzo I think - kind of faded grandeur. And it's very handy for the station.

  • Liked — the staircase
  • Disliked — pokey room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Albergo Cavour
Albergo Cavour
#33 of 101 in Palermo
101 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#49 of 101 in Palermo
118 reviews
Albergo Vittoria
#63 of 101 in Palermo
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regina
#43 of 101 in Palermo
202 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
1,159 reviews
B&B Amelie
#36 of 478 in Palermo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orientale

Property: Orientale
Address: Via Maqueda 26, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Hotel Class:1 star — Orientale 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orientale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orientale Hotel Palermo
Orientale Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing