We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel.. especially if you always feel cold!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 30 January 2014

very nice hotel old structure but fully restructured. Very central location, easy to park around if you have a car. Excellent breakfast, you can fill your own fresh cannoli on the spot if you wish! Rooms are comfortable and tranquil, but over-heated (with no options to fresh it up, if you get a room in the top floor)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Mr Dario
We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel , with its central location, was ideal for you. Thank you for your words about our fresh cannolo, served at breakfast. It is very important for us to show our guest our traditional cuisine , starting from the breakfast.
Thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We hope to welcoming you soon
Best Regards
Filippo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Not the best, not the worst in terms of quality.
However out of 4 nights spent there, we got decent sleep only during 1 night.
Why, because in this hotel they have nothing better to do at 3 AM than take out the unclean laundry from the hotel and they do it with style and lots of noise!
Then, we also had a leak in our bathroom.
We were travelling with friends that stayed in a 3-person room. They complained of the noise, too, and the fact that although they allegedly had 1 bathtube and a shower, the shower never worked.
Practically, the hotel's location makes it that without proper investment in noise mitigation, the noise is present in almost all rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After driving around Sicily for 5 days in a 9 passenger van it was important that we were able
to stay at a hotel the last night that had parking. The Hilton had valet parking (20 Euros) which was exactly what we wanted. We had 3 rooms (six people) and all were very comfortable. We only stayed one night and had no problems. The morning buffet had a large selection that we
really enjoyed. I was able to purchase two bottles of Sicilian wine at the Hotel to take back home.
The staff were very helpful with any questions that we had. It was close to several restaurants
as we walked around the neighborhood. We had reservations at Ristorante Cin Cin our last night which was walking distance from the hotel. If you're driving in Palermo, which can be
a real challenge, the Hilton is highly recommended just because of the valet parking . recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed there with part of a tour group. I cannot comment on alot of the hotel features as we barely spent any time there. That said, the breakfast buffet was good, not great, we spent alot of precious time waiting for items to be replenished - coffee was especially critical and hard to come by both mornings. The hotel itself seemed very nice. Our room was small - although with a king sized bed. That took up most of it. The bathroom, however, was spacious and upscale, with all amenities. the only odd thing was that there were no window. Only a skylight window with a remote to open/close. The window was so close to a tree that the tree was sneaking into the room (just a small branch of leaves) but we didn't leave it open for any length of time for fear a squirell would spend some time in there too! No screen. Wish we had gotten more time to explore the area around the hotel. Too much touring in other locations. Wish I could go back!!

Room Tip: As for a room with windows on the wall, not the ceiling!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The location of the hotel allows you to walk to the city center and is few minutes away from restaurants, theatre, shopping destination and from some of the city attractions.

They have a comfortable drop and pick up service to mondello beach, where you can access the private beach, where some beach lounge chairs with umbrella and lockers are reserved for Hilton. They only charge 10 euro, transportation included.

It is known in the city as the Excelsior rather than Hilton, it is an old palace and is also one of the city's landmarks. It is one of the stops of the sightseeing bus!

The breakfast is good, the staff helps you if you don't find what you are looking for, they may cook it for you if they can.

The restaurant is small and a bit 80's style furnishing... some renewal wouldn't do bad, to all the structure though it is well kept.
The food is more priced and portion are smaller than outside, not much choice on the menu, though the food quality and taste is good.
I don't recommend this for a romantic dinner as if the restaurant is crowded you just feel there s no space between you and the table on your side, and the ambience isn't good.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden looking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Palermo Hilton was a great experience and just what the doctor ordered following a week of "rustic" accommodation across the island. It's location is superb with easy walking to many of the cities sites, and of course,it's shopping. We had a delux room, so that helped a lot with our comfort. It had skylights, a large bath area and a little living room which made a huge difference. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating as was the bar staff. I am a frequent traveler and I would absolutely rank this property as one on my better, more comfortable visits.

Room Tip: Spring for the delux! Well worth the extra few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank World53Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is located in the "new center" of Palermo, adjacent to Via Libertà. The interior is classic and elegant in construction and furnishing, although not kept in excellent conditions.
We stayed there 5 nights, in the Chrystmas period. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, with everyday replacement (!) of bed sheets and pillow covers (this was very much appreciated). Room features include a large flat-screen TV, frigo-bar, safety box and fast internet conenction (at a cost in the room, but free wifi in the common areas). The bathroom is good and well equipped (magnifier mirror and hair dryer), but the shower mixer was not working well and would need maintenance. The staff is very efficient, friendly and cooperative. They have provided maps and useful information to move in town and to find what we need. We have not tried the hotel restaurant. Overall, it has been a very positive experience at a reasonable price. I have not given 5 stars because of the not satisfactory shower mixer, but in spite of this we consider it a very good selection for out future trips to Palermo.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Via Libertà are a little noisy in the early morning due to the increasing road traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £60 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing