We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On a whirlwind student tour, this hotel was a welcome respite. The rooms were large and I was thrilled to have a bathtub. There was an electric kettle with tea bags and tea cups. There were comfy chairs to sit in and sip your tea. The breakfast was delightful with many, many choices and real coffee from an espresso machine. The jams, jellies and honey were in individual jars. Very civilized. It was so nice, we just wanted to stay there all day. In a ten day Italy trip, this hotel was the high point of our accommodations. We also had a very nice dinner there. Even if I were traveling on my own, I would definitely return to this gracious hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Italychaperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest
we read your comments and we would like to thank you for the time dedicated to us to write your impression.
We are very happy to know that your stay was nice and the hotel is lovely. Thank you too for the nice words regarding our Breakfast , for our "Espresso" and for the large room with bathtub
Our hotel have a kettle in each room with tea bags . Of course, tea time....is very important.
Thank you for your words about our restaurant "EXE".
It is open everyday for Lunch and Dinner time and offer Sicilian and International foods.
thank you once more and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    477
    192
    67
    33
See reviews for
144
448
46
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As other reviews have said, a very nice but slightly fading hotel. Good location for heading out to explore downtown and the major sights. Had an excellent Sicilian specialty meal with some delicious starters, a good local red wine, and a very nice grilled swordfish.

Rooms were clean and large, with bath and shower, but facing the street, and so was noisy as is always the case in Italy. We backed on the other side to the little park by the hotel. Good breakfast, very sufficient wi-fi in the room and hotel, and gym.

A real gem was the front desk staff, where the night manager pointed me to an excellent nearby pastry shop, with a delicious and developed menu. Close to major sights.

Bottom line: Will go back, if we return to Palermo. Good deal for our money.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms all face the streets, and like all places in Italy, are noisy until late at night. K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you very much for the time dedicated to us.
we really appreciate your beautiful words regarding your comfortable stay in our hotel.
Thank you for appreciating our restaurant and our rich continental breakfast buffet where you can also find our “Sicilian Corner” with typical products to create that characteristic atmosphere you get only in Palermo.
For example tomorrow, 19th March 2014, we celebrate Saint Joseph Day and in this day we are used to eat “Saint Joseph’s bread” and “Sfincia di San Giuseppe”, a typical sweet you can also find on our breakfast buffet.


We hope to welcoming you soon another time.
Kinds Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel was very well located in the centre of Palermo with easy walking access to shops and tourist sites. It was quiet, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. City buses were only a block away and the train station and bus terminal were easy access by short bus ride. Our room was comfortable, it was well tended each day. We were very glad that the restaurant stayed open late because by the time we got back from day excursions outside the city, local restaurants were closed and the hotel restaurant was not outrageously priced. We appreciated the free Internet even if it was only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SLR1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A very smart and comfortable hotel in the Bond street of Palermo and a 10 min walk, past Gucci and Prada, to the city centre. Room cosy and with every thing to hand. A noisy spot, mad beeping Sicilian traffic at all hours but we enjoyed our balcony view for watching the world go by. When we closed the doors and blackout curtain we slept like dormice !
Staff are very friendly and helpful without being obsequious, we felt comfortable rather than intimidated.
We had a great stay and would recommend it whole heartedly.
We easily visited the war grave at Syracuse, a 3 hr bus journey away and the ease, beauty and organisation of the cemetery was amazing.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony room so we were on the main street, we liked the noise and bustle and could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Foyer, breakfast and staircase all never-to-be-forgotten!
We had large corner room on first floor (142) with views over park and small balcony, very comfortable although not that much storage space for all our jumpers etc..
Housekeeping was my only complaint.. as there was no milk provided for my tea, I asked the housekeeper 2 days running to leave some to which she smilingly replied she would do so straight away - I'm still waiting! Not a language problem either as I made the request in perfect Italian!
Al in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel.. staff very friendly and helpful too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caminix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
We very happy to know your appreciation about our restaurant and our Hotel.
Our hotel was built in 1881 in Liberty Style. It is located in the hear of Palermo, and sorrounded by Giardino Inglese e Villa Trabia.
Thank you to for highlighting the friendliness of our staff. We apologize for the milk forgotten..
We hope to welcoming you soon, and it would be a great pleasure for me to meet you and assist you during your next stay.
Warm Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Considering this is a Hilton hotel it's way below the standard. However, the hotel is perfectly in the city's center and the buliding is pretty nice, inside and outside. The rooms are okay, but the bathroom is clearly dated. Several things in my room did not work (TV, water boiler ... ) but the staff didn't bother about it (considering TV they even made fun of me, I was being too stupid to turn it on. .. didn't work though when they tried ... ) The staff is clearly a desaster. There are a few exceptions of course (the restaurant staff is really nice) but otherwise the lobby staff is just a bad joke. The breakfast is really nice and big, but there is better. The food in the restaurant was nice Italian food, not as bad as in hotel restaurants usually.
The rooms are pretty loud as they face the street and the windows aren't proper.

Considering the price of this hotel I wouldn't recommend going there. The hotel is fine overall, but the staff is really rude!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear AudreyKat,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
Thank you for your nice words about our restaurant staff and for the good foods served in our restaurant Exé. Thank you for appreciating our Buffet Breakfast too.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied in full your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aci Castello, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

very nice hotel old structure but fully restructured. Very central location, easy to park around if you have a car. Excellent breakfast, you can fill your own fresh cannoli on the spot if you wish! Rooms are comfortable and tranquil, but over-heated (with no options to fresh it up, if you get a room in the top floor)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr Dario
We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel , with its central location, was ideal for you. Thank you for your words about our fresh cannolo, served at breakfast. It is very important for us to show our guest our traditional cuisine , starting from the breakfast.
Thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We hope to welcoming you soon
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#14 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing