We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab hotel and great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went to this hotel with some trepidation after some of the reviews, but we found the staff extremely helpful and we had wifi in our room. This hotel is a converted palace not a purpose built hotel so we all have to accept some compromises. The breakfast selection was fantastic, and the restaurant food was very good. All the staff were extremely helpful, and they even provide small chairs for us to sit on the small balcony overlooking the English Garden. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: As others have said request a room overlooking the English Garden, and the balconies are small but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Direttore at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such positive review of our Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, rich in every kind of delicious specialties and we appreciate your kind words about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Excelsior Hilton Palermo once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    475
    192
    67
    33
See reviews for
144
445
46
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is in a very good location and occupies an historic building. My room was a bit cramped although the bathroom was spacious. The front desk staff is helpful but a bit reserved. My presence was never acknowledged by the staff in the breakfast room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear MRs Pauline
thank your for your time dedicated to write your impression about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed about the hotel location and its historical charm.
We are located in the hearth of Palermo, and our building ( built in 1891) maintain the original Liberty Style.
Thank you for your nice words about the Helpfulness of the Front Desk Staff. I m sorry if you found our staff a bit reserved.
We hope to welcoming you once more in our hotel and in our town.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just got back from Sicily, we stayed at the Hilton in Palermo. We were greeted with a pleasant front desk staff, and a very comfortable room. It is a beautiful old hotel with modern convienences. It is very well located. The breakfast is wonderful, but if it is not included, it is $15 Euro a person. I would definitely stay there again. I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhugs4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Madam
we really thank you for your nice words, about your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing about the excellent hotel location, the nice room and the great breakfast. Thank you for highlighting our pleasant front desk staff and that you will definitely stay with us again.
It has been a great pleasure for us too, having you as guest and we really hope to welcome you once more.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were there as part of a tour, which was presumably why we got a awful room. The room overlooked other rooms (see photo), and there was a thumping noise very five minutes from the domestic area below the room. We ate in the restaurant - there was very little choice, and I was charged 12 euros for a small, lukewarm cheese omelette (now a benchmark for ridiculous prices in our family).
Amazingly you do not get free wi-fi in your room. You need to get a password from reception for the lobby area for free wi-fi.

Room Tip: I guess if you pay yourself you can kick up a fuss if you get the room I got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best Regards
Filippo


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Staff speaks English, which is not true all Sicily hotels. Large rooms. This is a grand hotel in a very good area of Palermo. Plenty of restaurants and shopping near by. Bus stop is at the hotel's corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a basically good hotel, the room a reasonable size, instant coffee/tea in room. The restaurant service was, well, interesting. There was quite a performance made over putting us with another couple, even though there was space available, a long wait to order, an even longer wait for food, but at least some entertainment, as the waiters and Maitre d' had a stand up argument in the middle of the restaurant. Basil Faulty eat your heart out. One of the waiters, a large gentleman, ran everywhere, skidding to a halt at the table, arms wide, saying 'I am quick, yes?' Erm, well, the movement was erratically swift, but usually caused by things being forgotten. We needed to eat in a second night, no rows, but we were charged for a drink that never arrived at table, and a lady had trouble trying to pay on the hotel tab, having originally suggested that she would pay cash. The food was fine, when it arrived.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well located hotel with comfortable rooms and a very decent buffet breakfast (additional menu items available for a supplment). Rooms were on the hot side - as with other hotels the air conditioning was not yet switched on. Whilst windows could be opened the noise from the street prevented sleeping with windows open. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Cab rank directly outside of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#15 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing