We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hilton is located across the street from the English Garden towards the north end of the grand boulevard Via del Liberta where many of the fancy shops are located. It is within close walking distance of many good restaurants and the heart of the old town is about a 25 minute walk to the south. The building is an old structure but there are nice architectural features. We were given a great corner room which was spacious. The staff were cureteous and the bar tender knew how to mix very good, dry american martinis which we had missed after three weeks away. The free wifi was a lifesaver as we had used up our data on our simm card. The one detraction is the red carpet in the grand hallway which was badly in need of replacement and which was not kept clean. All in all we felt we got good value for the cost.

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room - spacious and we could easily walk up from the lobby.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all , we thank you very much for the time to dedicated to write your opinions.
With great pleasure we read that your stay at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo was a pleasant experience.

In addition, we are very pleased to hear That You appreciated the hotel's central location; as you have seen, nearby there are a lot of good restaurants, elegant shops, patisseries, parks, churches, bus stops and a lot of other comforts.
We are also very happy that you enjoyed the good american dry martinis of our bar tender and we hope you spent pleasant moments in our EXE' restaurant and bar.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel, maybe for your next holiday in Palermo.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed as part of a tour group. Our room faced the park towards the rear of the hotel and consequently we experienced no road noise at all. Our room was rather compact but perfectly fine for two nights. Bed was comfortable, extra pillows were provided, room safe worked as did the TV . Bathroom again was very compact but clean and functional. Provided toiletries were of a good standard . Room had fridge and air con.
Breakfast was busy however there were lots of choices and empty plates were quickly replaced.
We did walk into the town centre however it was a bit of a trek to find places to eat there are however some restaurants fairly close to the hotel. Some of our party did eat in the hotel however as the dinning room was full dinner service was a bit slow. There is small supermarket at the rear of the hotel past a little cafe bar.
This is solid comfortable hotel . It's not cutting edge but it is more than ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room to avoid road noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you very much for taking the time to write your impressions which are very important for us both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes. We are very glad to hear that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms and the rich breakfast we serve every day at our restaurant.

We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience in our Hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel in Modern part of city. Convenient for touring the city. Rooms pleasant. Breakfast a bit chaotic as hotel is quite big. We stayed as part of a group tour and was very efficient at check-in. Would recommend

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,


With great pleasure, we received your comments and we would like thank you for taking the time to write your opinions about your experience at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo.

We are really happy to have fully met your expectations and that we have left you a good memory of your stay. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you appreciated the hotel's central location; as you have seen,nearby there are a lot of elegant shops, several restaurants, patisseries, parks, churches, bus stops and a lot of other comforts.


We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel occupies a stately old building which I feel has seen better days. Maybe we drew the short straw on this occasion but our room was small and rather cramped and the bathroom even worse - poor design of limited space. Initially we were given a room number which did not exist and which involved trailing back to reception (no porterage) and when we obtained the key of our room the door would not open due to a faulty lock and several members of staff tried to open it - which happened eventually. This was annoying after a long day's journey when we just wanted to refresh. We were told there were no other rooms available. There is a very small area for guests to sit and very expensive and erratic wifi in rooms. A rare provision of a kettle was in the room but with very dried up packets of milk. Slippers but no robes. The saving grace was possibly breakfast which was good. We also used the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all, we at Excelsior Hilton Palermo are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel during your recent stay.

Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take your comments very seriously and ask you to accept our profound apologies for the inconveniences happened. We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,
Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

With Hilton, you can trust in the star level. We sorely needed a room with a great bed. This room fit the bill. We felt confident going forward, staying in the Hilton Garden Inn-Rome Airport as well. This hotel is situated in a clean, safe area of town near the Historic Center/Teatro Massimo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Excelsior Hilton Hotel. We immediately shared your comments with the whole team and we want to thank you for your wonderful words. We are very glad to hear that you appreciated the central hotel's location that offers the possibility to discover many historical and cultural sites nearby.

We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you once again at our Hotel.

Best regards,
Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Excelsior Hilton is an excellent property with much character. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Rooms were very nice and clean.
Restaurant was also very good and moderately priced. Parking was not too much trouble but driving in Palermo is not for the faint of heart.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Expat1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your words, we are pleased to know that our efforts and passion were positively impacted your stay with us.

Our mission is always to let our guests feel satisfied with their experience at our hotel, so your feedback is a confirmation that we succeded in our goal. We are very happy that you enjoyed our building and that you appreciated our rooms. They combine comfort with luxury and beautiful decor in rich, warm colors, in keeping with the hotel's Art Nouveau heritage.

A special thank you from all the staff for your appreciations . It was a pleasure for all of us to have had you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel as soon as possible.

Best regards,
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed one night at the Excelsior Hilton in Sorrento as part of a tour group. The hotel is lovely, staff is friendly and accommodating, lovely breakfasts with plenty of fresh fruit. Bartenders personable and entertaining, great drinks. The room was spacious and comfortable, great sheets, pillows, and mattresses. Everything clean and in good repair, including the bathroom. Delightful place to stay, in a pretty area of town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,


We would like thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinions regarding your last stay at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel.

We are delighted to read your comments about our comfortable rooms and that you appreciated our rich breakfast , in particular the fresh fruit that we serve every morning. We also thank you for your kind words about our staff.

When we receive such positive feedback, it is a confirmation that we are succeding in our goal that is to assure the best service, comfort hospitality for our guests.

Thank you very much once more and we looking forward to welcoming you again as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,830 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing