We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely older hotel. Our room was a bit small but very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is fantastic, especially the make your own Canoli! A short walk from some great shopping and restaurants. Staff was very helpful with directions. Would have liked to have wifi in the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nonnaopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and first of all we thank you very much for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay at our Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the charm of our building with its central location that allow to easly reach the most important attractions of the city .
In addition, we thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and specially for our fresh Cannoli that we serve every morning. It is very important for us to show our guests our taditional cuisine, starting from the breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    483
    193
    69
    33
See reviews for
144
454
48
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had such a pleasant experience at this hotel. It had all the charm of Palermo with all the amenities of home. The room was spacious, the bathroom was modern and large and the AC worked pretty well. The service was very helpful. The breakfast was amazing and included. The location was walkable to the main shopping area and restaurants.

Room Tip: The room was very large with a king size bed and a large bathroom. It was so comfortable. And I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having reviewed the Excelsior Hilton Palermo on Tripadvisor.

With great pleasure we learn you spent a comfortable stay at our hotel. We are very pleased with your comments about the spacious room, delightful breakfast and quality service. It is very motivating for us to read your comments and we will share them with all our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant o Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for two nights to close up on our tour de Sicily and it was a good choice after some rather mediocre hotels we stayed in before. The hotel is an old fashioned palace but/and well maintained. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the bed was perfect.
First night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, food was very good but: meals (starters and mains) for two were not in sync, the staff in general seemed to be annoyed by the fact that we would be bothering them. Breakfast was included in our rate and the same charming staff was ignoring us.. Fruits and pastries were great, anything from the hot food section (sausages, eggs, etc.) didn't look interesting enough for us to try.
Windows in the room were really poorly insulated, you could hear every word and other noise from the road, luckily it significantly calms down after office hours.
All in all, it's a Hilton and you get what you can expect; food was good to great but restaurant service needs a lot of improvement; except front desk, they were really up to our expectations, providing us with a city map and recommendations etc. - thanks!
Recommendation: don't go for the valet parking service, it's 25 EUR a day and you don't know where you car disappears to - buy parking tickets at the vending machines or small tobacco stores and find a place in the blue parking zones near the hotel, around 6pm it all clears up.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all thank you very much for spending the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you appreciated both the hotel's old style and the comfort of our rooms. With regards to the service at our restaurant we are really sorry that during your dinner the meals were not in sync. We assure you that it is not our standard procedure and your evaluation will share with the whole team in order to understand what happened and to avoid that similar inconvenience can happen again to our guests. We are also really sorry for a bad impression you have had about the staff and specially that you didn't feel welcomed and cared by their. We usually receive good comments from our guests about our way to look after of our them but we want thank you for let us know your impressions that are very useful to understand where we have to improve in order to make guests feel that we genuinely care of them.

We hope to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your prederence.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

stayed at this beautiful hotel back in march this year,had a really nice time and i will go back one day,from the airport pickup to the check out on departure everything was excellent,staff were all friendly and pleased to make your holiday an experience that you would remember for a very long time,shout out goes to the bar staff who were the best ive ever met,even with my basic command of italian,restaurant food was very nice,area around the hotel just of the main street,with a few designer shops in the locality,and a nice easy walk to just about anywhere in the city,not much else to say but if you want a taste of what sicily has to offer then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonh196921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that we fully met your expectations and it will be a pleasure for us to give you our welcome back when you will go back to visit Palermo. Our Staff feel very proud to know they were part of your great experience and we thank you very much for your kind words.

In addition, we are very glad to hear you were satisfied with the EXE' restaurant and bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been there for a 2 day business trip and enjoyed the Italian Palazzo in any kind. I got a nice suite faced to the park with a small balcony.
The rooms are kind of old style but in a positive and expected way according to the building.
(I like using those roomy stairways from the lobby to 1st & 2nd floor)
Breakfast is an excellent local interpretation of what to expect at Hilton. No problems with WIFI in the room as well as in the lobby.
The ladies at the reception where very helpfully and customer focussed.
What I would like to see is an Executive Lounge.
Next time in Palermo I will stay again at the Excelsior Hilton.

Room Tip: Don't worry about parking: whenever I drove to the hotel I found a spot within 100m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighMountain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the beauty of our building and of our suites characterized by old charm but equipped with modern comforts. We are also very glad to hear that you appreciated our breakfast buffet and we thank you very much for the kind words of praise for our staff which works every day to try to meet the expectations of our guests.

It is very important for us to assure the best service, comfort and hospitality for our guests so, when we receive such positive feedback, it is a confirmation that we are succeeding in our goals.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your staying with us again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The foyer is pleasant but once you go to your room things start to fall apart.
I realise the rooms will be small, but some basic comforts like 'good Sicilian food' is not too much to ask for? What was served at their restaurant for the two nights we were there for dinner was well below par 3/10. Definitely not even Italian food.

But I think even worse is that the availability to connect ( free of charge) to wifi is not there, while staying in their hotel.

Come on Hilton Palermo, we have stayed in 2 star accommodation and we get free wifi. That is just 'the norm' right across the world nowadays.
Just a reminder, the beds in Italy are 'hard' and the pillows are like rocks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loislovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We thank you for taking the time to write your impressions and for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Palermo

First of all we sincerely apologize if we didn't manage to satisfy your expectations during your stay. Our first aim is to leave a good memory of us and in your case we are very sorry about the bad impression you have had.

We have read about some issues with the room, the dinner and the internet connection.
With regards to the room, our Hotel offers different types and sizes and we assign them according to the reservation that we receive. Had we known before that you desired a larger room we would have done our utmost to satisfy your request.

Regarding your dinner at our restaurant we are very sorry if you have had the impression we didn't serve good Italian food. We are very careful in choosing the food that we offer to our guests. In any way, we have took note of your criticism which will be taken into careful consideration.

About Internet, we offer free wireless on the ground floor and in the common areas.

Finally, we hope you will give us a second chance to show you the high quality of our services.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyngsboro, Ma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I moved onto here after an exemplary experience with the Artemisia Palace Hotel, and my expectations were therefore high. It was an easy walk from the previous hotel, and since I arrived too early for the room, spent a couple of pleasant hours in the excellent park further down the main street on the right. I mention it, because not all parks in Palermo are so nice. The entrance of the hotel is not so easy to locate, but if you pay attention, there is a plaque on the wall where one would expect the entrance to be, directing you around to the apparent back side of the very large building. The staff was quite efficient, and were happy to speak English (made things a lot easier). The approach to my room was up a grand white marble staircase with brilliant red carpet. Very impressive and it made one feel special. The room was very different than the Artemisia Palace, being of a more traditional architecture and style, but still lovely and desirable. A bit more expensive, but still a good price for a big city hotel. The only unusual thing was that arriving on a Monday, there were no towels available until Tuesday, a fact that was hard to understand in such a grand place. The very nice maid explained (alas, in Italian), so I was unable to understand, but she showed me the fluffy white robes which served very well, and the towels did arrive the next day. I didn't reduce my rating for this at all, just a curiosity to mention. The breakfast buffet was not included, but very elaborate with hot meats, eggs (appeared to be powdered), fruits, pastries, fresh orange juice, and cereal. My Italian girlfriend had joined me by then and explained that big breakfasts are unusual for Italians. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood for a walk, though a bit further from the heart of the attractions we were interested in. The bus stop to the excellent Prestia e Commande shuttle is really close by. Getting to the airport was a breeze.

Room Tip: Beds are large and firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all thank you for choosing The Excelsior Hilton Palermo for your recent stay in Palermo and also to have dedicated your precious time to write your impressions and your opinions about it.

With great pleasure we hear that you felt welcomed by our front desk staff and that you appreciated the architecture and Art Nouveau style which characterizes our building and rooms.
We thank you very much for appreciating our breakfast buffet rich in every kind of delicious specialities.

Regarding our location, as you may have noticed, our hotel is located right in the city centre, on the "Viale della Libertà", the main street of Palermo. From here, you can reach the heart of the attractions with both public bus and through a pleasant walk. Only ten minutes to get to the Politeama Theater and to follow Massimo Theater, one of the largest theaters in Europe.

Finally, we thank you again and we hope to welcoming you ones more in our Hotel as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
956 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 101 in Palermo
1,765 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing