We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Pretty good city hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Hilton is a former Palazzo, and the conversion to an hotel is not entirely seamless. Our room was fine, with comfortable bed and good amenities - others in the tour group fared less well - one "single" room was, apparently, windowless, with a roof light, so take care!

The restaurant and bar area is recently, stylishly refurbished, and the food (breakfasts) were excellent. We had dinner the first night, and although my food was fine, my wife's steak was not. It did however not appear on the bill, so no problem. Staff were excellent and helpful.

Hotel is an easy (and safe) walk into town, with its night life and restaurants. There is no hotel swimming pool.

We liked the Hilton - others were less sure about it. The hotel maintained the brand standards of service and (in our case) comfort and we enjoyed our stay. Another reviewer's "old world charm" sums it up - and yes, the DIY canoli were fantastic!

Room Tip: Take care - all are not equal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your review and we thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and impressions about your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are really happy to hear you were satisfied with our service and that you appreciated your room with all its comfort. Furthermore, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and in particular the Sicilian Cannoli with fresh ricotta cheese, one of our specialities.

Finally, it's pleasing for us to receive good comments about our way to work and to take care of our guests, so on behalf our the whole staff we thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcoming you once again at our Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    494
    196
    70
    35
See reviews for
149
464
49
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was my favourite hotel during a two week road trip of Sicily. We found our room very comfortable - yet charming. It had a comfy bed, decent shower, lovely marble bathroom - as you would expect from a hotel of its class - but with a pretty balcony and the elegance of an old building.

Location was excellent - near the very upmarket via la Liberta but just a few minutes walk from Piazza Castelnuovo and Piazza Giuseppe Verdi.

Two things to note 1. We upgraded to a business class room (through Hilton's standby upgrade option) so our room was a very good size. 2. we didn't eat in the hotel (there are too many great options to eat nearby!) so I can't vouch for the food.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a business class room (through Hilton's standby upgrade option) and this meant we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we wish to thank you for the time you dedicated to write your impressions about your stay at The Excelsior Hilton Palermo. It's a pleasure to hear that our Hotel has been your favourite during your trip of Sicily and we are very happy that you spent a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Close to restaurants and right across the street from the airport bus drop which is the best way to get to and from the airport. Easy walk to sights and the rooms were clean big with new many new updates. Bathrooms are clean and large.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,


We have received your feedback, and we thank you very much for writing your opinions about your experience at our Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel, located near the main street of Palermo, Viale della Libertà, and where you can find the the most luxurious shops, good restaurants, pastry shops, parks, churches and historical monuments. We are very happy to hear it was very convenient for you and we hope you have fully enjoyed all the attractions of the city.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Excelsior Hilton Palermo.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was the worst hotel I've stayed in lately! Rooms small and dark and actually smelled. Carpets were stained and smelled. The air conditioning was almost nonexistent. Had to ask for toilet tissue each day. The breakfast was very good however and the breakfast room was light, cool and delightful. I would not recommend this hotel. I got a rash or was bitten all over my legs when I stayed there and got ill the next day upon leaving.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.

Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.

We are very sorry to hear we haven't satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to improve our services.

We hope you will give us the possibility to welcoming you to our Hotel once more.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely older hotel. Our room was a bit small but very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is fantastic, especially the make your own Canoli! A short walk from some great shopping and restaurants. Staff was very helpful with directions. Would have liked to have wifi in the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nonnaopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and first of all we thank you very much for the time you spent to write your impressions about your stay at our Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the charm of our building with its central location that allow to easly reach the most important attractions of the city .
In addition, we thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and specially for our fresh Cannoli that we serve every morning. It is very important for us to show our guests our taditional cuisine, starting from the breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had such a pleasant experience at this hotel. It had all the charm of Palermo with all the amenities of home. The room was spacious, the bathroom was modern and large and the AC worked pretty well. The service was very helpful. The breakfast was amazing and included. The location was walkable to the main shopping area and restaurants.

Room Tip: The room was very large with a king size bed and a large bathroom. It was so comfortable. And I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having reviewed the Excelsior Hilton Palermo on Tripadvisor.

With great pleasure we learn you spent a comfortable stay at our hotel. We are very pleased with your comments about the spacious room, delightful breakfast and quality service. It is very motivating for us to read your comments and we will share them with all our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant o Mr Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for two nights to close up on our tour de Sicily and it was a good choice after some rather mediocre hotels we stayed in before. The hotel is an old fashioned palace but/and well maintained. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the bed was perfect.
First night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, food was very good but: meals (starters and mains) for two were not in sync, the staff in general seemed to be annoyed by the fact that we would be bothering them. Breakfast was included in our rate and the same charming staff was ignoring us.. Fruits and pastries were great, anything from the hot food section (sausages, eggs, etc.) didn't look interesting enough for us to try.
Windows in the room were really poorly insulated, you could hear every word and other noise from the road, luckily it significantly calms down after office hours.
All in all, it's a Hilton and you get what you can expect; food was good to great but restaurant service needs a lot of improvement; except front desk, they were really up to our expectations, providing us with a city map and recommendations etc. - thanks!
Recommendation: don't go for the valet parking service, it's 25 EUR a day and you don't know where you car disappears to - buy parking tickets at the vending machines or small tobacco stores and find a place in the blue parking zones near the hotel, around 6pm it all clears up.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all thank you very much for spending the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you appreciated both the hotel's old style and the comfort of our rooms. With regards to the service at our restaurant we are really sorry that during your dinner the meals were not in sync. We assure you that it is not our standard procedure and your evaluation will share with the whole team in order to understand what happened and to avoid that similar inconvenience can happen again to our guests. We are also really sorry for a bad impression you have had about the staff and specially that you didn't feel welcomed and cared by their. We usually receive good comments from our guests about our way to look after of our them but we want thank you for let us know your impressions that are very useful to understand where we have to improve in order to make guests feel that we genuinely care of them.

We hope to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your prederence.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#15 of 98 in Palermo
990 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing