We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not Hilton quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's not Hilton quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was probably once a grand hotel, however "faded luxury" as described by another reviewer, seems to be a adequate term. He rooms are big and it was in a convent location for a one night stop over in Palermo. The beds had one thin pillow per person, the hotel breakfast was disgusting and the check- in staff are hopeless. Also free wifi for 24hrs but only accessible in the lobby.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_R_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your review and we thank you for taking the time to tell us your opinions regarding your stay in our Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations.

Our main focus is to ensure our customers' complete satisfaction. We , therefore, will take your comments very seriously and ask you to accept our most profound apologizes for any inconveniences you have experienced.

We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    478
    192
    67
    33
See reviews for
144
448
46
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I love Palermo and had visited the city a year ago, staying in another hotel a little closer to the city centre. Once I got to know the buses that went past this hotel, it was not a problem but this was no thanks to the lady at the front desk who, when asked, told me that everyone walks in Palermo and seemed oblivious to the fact that a half-hour stroll into town with my walking stick was going to be slightly tiring. The first room I was put in stank of smoke....the second was slightly better but way down a corridor and around many turns. The airconditioning didn't really work, adding to the rather run-down feeling of the place. On a more positive note, the food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Delicious soups, pasta, sandwiches and desserts......we tried many things during our stay, recommended by our delightful waiters, and we were never disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out if people have been smoking in there beforehand and that the airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkannie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo are truly sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have suffered. Your comments are very important and valuable to us and will assist us to improve our service level.

Finally, we thank you for your positive note. We are pleased you appreciated the food and service in the restaurant and that you were never disappointed of them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our Hotel, very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

It was nice to stay in this hotel. It has a good and quite neighborhood. The staff were also very helpful and kind. It isn't in the heart of city center but you can walk to the must-see places in 5-10 minutes through a nice street. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S_E_Gunaydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your review and we thank you for taking your time to send your evaluations about your experience in our Hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear you spent a nice stay in our property and you were satisfied with our services.

A special thanks on behalf of the Staff for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel once more.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a reasonable location but was showing its age. Carpets were dirty and worn. The bathroom door in our room didn't open/close properly and one of the lights wasn't working. We asked for these to be fixed but they weren't. Breakfast was nice and in the main restaurant, the pick of the hotel's rooms, nicely decorated. Overall a bit of a letdown on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catonei11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments and we thank you very much dor your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.

Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.

We are very sorry to hear we haven't satisfied your expectations. In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
903 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Hilton is located in an old palace at the end of Via Liberta. As such it is very convenient for doing Palermo, being about a 30 min stroll to Quatro Canti. The Main entrance is on a side street opposite Via Liberta. The hotel is part of Hilton chain but is a little tired and needs a little TLC despite being in a beautiful old building.

The reception, check in was easy and English is spoken. We had room 141, a superior room facing the park and not any of the main roads. It had a small entrance hall with a large wardrobe with safety box (which was a tad unpredictable when you tried to open it).
Bedroom was large and well furnished - liked the 2 big easy chairs. Light and airy. Modern flat screen TV. It had a mini bar and an efficient a/c. There was tea/coffee making facilities. We could even get wifi from the lobby without going there. Wifi is free in the lobby and you need a new password each day - from reception.

There was a bath/sink/ vanity area off the entry hall and attached to that was the shower toilet. There was a leak from shower door (from the seal). Hair drier did not work but they had a replacement sent up? Toiletries were also provided.

Breakfast was big, heavily centred on pastries and cakes and bread, buns and sweet things, there was fresh fruit, continental makings and hot buffet ( bacon was overcooked). You can order fresh espresso and cappuccino. It all seemed a tad disorganised as new stuff kept coming out at different times.

Over all, as a past regular Hilton user it was not as sharp as I was used to but it is Italy and folks are a tad laid back. I loved the building and it's location and I'd definitely come back if I return to Palermo. The airport bus stops just past the hotel on the way in from the airport and the pick up to go back is opposite the hotel. Fare is just over €13 return compared with €50 one way by taxi!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Via Liberta side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to offer you our most sincere thanks about the kind words you spent on your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are very happy to have left a good memory of your experience with us. Our main goal is to ensure the best service, hospitality and comfort, therefore it is a pleasure for us to hear you were satisfied with our services and that your experience in our Hotel has met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Was in the Excelsior Hilton for pleasure and I enjoyed the friendlyness of the staff. When I left I forgot one item in the room and they were very keen to assist and return the item to me. Overall very positive experience, I would go back and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,


We thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your review. The opinions of our guests are always very important for us.

We are very happy to hear that you spent a good stay in our Hotel and our staff wish to thank you for your kind words.

We really hope to welcome you back at the Excelsior Hilton Palermo, very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The AC was a problem in the rooms, making it unbearable to sleep. The wifi did not work even after paying for the service, which there is one charge if there is a laptop and another one for phones. And the rooms were dirty.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tcollazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are very regret that you were disappointed with your experience in our Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences occurred and we hope you will give us a second chance in the future to remedy and to show you the quality of our services.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing