We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Albergo Sole
Ranked #82 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here mid March for a few nights before and after our Tour of Sicily. Both stays we had extremely large rooms for Italy. Breakfast had nice selection and dinner was even better. Nice area upstairs to have a drink before dinner. Terrace was not open for meals as it was not warm enough yet, but had great views. Excellent location to 2 markets & shopping and 20 min walk to rail station. Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

This hotel is a good example of a place that could be great but were management and staff let you down. The room we booked, a superior double room, was large but with only one window facing a dark courtyard and a wall, very depressing. Bed was not very comfortable and breakfast staff seem to be annoyed of us coming at 10:30 even if they offer breakfast until 11. Also breakfast was not served in the terrace as expected.
Good things about it were good location and free internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Grande Albergo Sole is a modern though warm and welcoming hotel. It is perfectly located for a walk towards the Cathedral and the historical city centre. Sole’s staff is extremely kind and professional, adding a personal touch to the hotel’s clean and spacious rooms.
Save some time for the copious breakfast in the morning and for a dinner on the terrace, the magnificent view is totally worth it.
A great choice where to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albyzibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I had read that they charged a fee for their wi-fi here, but it was free. You had to ask at the desk for the keyboard, which was then loaned to you; you plugged into the monitor around the corner. Very easy. There is also an outstanding little cafe across the street, in which the house wine was only 1.5 euro per glass! They also had good and inexpensive sandwiches and friendly staff. Perfect for happy hour. The bar in the hotel up on the 5th floor Terrace has wonderful views and a friendly bartender. But the wine is 5 euro per glass or 20 euro for the bottle of Nero D'Avola. The room was spacious enough and so was the updated bathroom, but the view for my room was of another exterior wall. As others have described, the music was loud on the one night when a wedding partied on until midnight. No other noise problems, however.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The room was small, and had no decor.There was a leak right outside our room with buckets and exposed ceiling wires.The view was awful. The staff was nasty, and not helpful. The location and breakfast was good.Look for another hotel if you want any satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbybNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We were transferred to this hotel after booking into another that had problems with some of their rooms. On arrival the receptionist was very abrupt and didn't even tell us when or where breakfast was served. The shower overflowed and the air conditioning was ineffective. We asked the receptionist to find out the train times for us to which he replied that we should go to the station and find out. Not very good for a hotel that implies that nothing is too much trouble, they will even purchase the train tickets for you. There were positives we luckily had a pleasent view and the room was large but this hotel was not very good value for money and the service was extremely poor. One recommendation I would like to make is a restaurant called Sant'Andrea located on Piazza Sant'Andrea. The food and service were spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

After staying at Vulcano at Therasia Resort to come to this hotel was very disappointing. We had a room with no window so you can imagine weaking up in the morning to darkness when we had fanstactic views at Vulcano. Location is good however the service of breakfast staff is not friendly. The bar on the roof is fantastic if there is no weddings however they have not got a bar at the back of the hotel also with fantastic views. My room when arrived had broken hair dryer, Safe did not work. Under the beds were sweet papers from previous guest. Obviously hotel runs high occupancy therefore no time to check things. I am sure there are other alternatives

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Libertà
Hotel Giardino Inglese
Hotel Giardino Inglese
#31 of 98 in Palermo
282 reviews
Hotel Regina
#45 of 98 in Palermo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Sole

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele, 291, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £122 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Older Hotel located in town center, 500 meters from train station or port, 40 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sole Palermo, Sicily
Grande Albergo Sole Hotel Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing