We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zyz Bed and Breakfast

Zyz Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zyz Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #211 of 451 Palermo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The reviews are right. There's absolutely nothing undesirable about this bed and breakfast - located near to the city center in a typical Sicilian alley which gives travellers an opportunity to mingle with the locals. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast is fulfilling with many choices! Having lived in the UK, the owners - Clara and Gabriel speak English very well (which is rare in Palermo). Both are very hospitable and genuinely courteous...
Truly amazed by their service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Probably the best B&B i've ever stayed in!

Once you manage to get over the incredible architecture, awe-inspiring decor, and unimaginably huge rooms, your hosts Klara and Gabriel provide you with the warmest of welcomes and make you feel as if you were at home.

The location is perfect, right next to the cathedral in the old town (where most of the other B&Bs are). ZYZ is definitely in a league of its own - if only there were more around the world!

If you are after a great place to stay at a low price, and with hearty Sicilian company then look no further...

Room Tip: Retro - v nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nash123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

It was our first time in Palermo and I think it could not have been better.
We stayed for 2 nights and we could not find anything that was less than ideal.
The place is so beautiful and the service is incredible.

It was truly a magnificent stay, long enough to fully enjoy and decide that it is a place to go back to whenever is possible, again and again.

We had Excellent dinner with Klara and Gabriel, very relaxing and welcoming.
Breakfast is a real treat,.what else can you say.

The staff is friendly, helpful and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Gabriel and Klara must be one of the most corteous and easy going managers you can find and surely keeps things running like a clockwork.

Truly amazing place and service.just as you see on the movies...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clamart, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

In fact I had booked a room in another place in Palerme and as it was full, a owner's friend came and pick up us. We arrived 1 street farther to a wonderful place with 2 rooms, ours was very big and functional. There was a big lounge where we could speak with the owner and his wife of lot of interesting things, we could go on internet and watch tv also, and just have a rest with a cofee or a fruit juice! The owner can help you to tell you the best places to go in a short time, he can recommend places to eat and to drink something. The b&b& is very well situed, just back from the wonderful cathedral of Palerme. Very good welcome in a nice place in Palerme, I'd be glad to come back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Wow! Definitely one of the best B&B in Palermo! This place is impeccably clean, spacious, and filled with everything you need for a great stay— and more! It's very affordable and costs about the same as a hostel, but you get so much more for your money here. Really great place to stay if you like to sight-see or want to experience the Sicilian culture among the locals. This may be this B&B's first review on tripadvisor, but Zyz will surely prove to be one of the best!

The location is in the heart of the historical part of the city near the cathedral and markets, and it's only 1.5- 2 kilometers from the central train station. The taxi from the station costs about 15 euros or so, which I felt was a bit excessive so I just walked and it took 15-20 min. The building is literally two streets behind the cathedral and close to the main roads, so it's easy to find.

On the outside it just looks like another Sicilian building nestled in an alley, but on the inside it was an escape into modern elegance. High ceilings (which I love!), beautiful breakfast dinning table, living room, huge kitchen, cozy social room, a balcony, two big bathrooms, and massive private rooms for guests. They also offer complimentary wifi, a widescreen tv with xbox and wii fit, a wine and champagne display, and a bookshelf packed with Sicily guides and Stephen King novels. The bathrooms were super clean, with nice showers and bathtubs, complimentary bath products, a hair dryer, and even those fancy water-jet butt washers.

My room was unbelievably spacious, it looked bigger than my downtown apartment back home!
The interior design was heavenly: embroidered wood ceiling, a red futon couch with chic swanky black lamps to the side, a cute coffee table with two chairs, a full length mirror, a wardrobe filled with hangers, clean towels, extra pillows and bedding, and the most amazing BED! So beautiful! White drapes hanging from the frame overhead, plush comforter, clean sheets, and it's really big for a double. This room would also be a great stay for a couples getaway or something because the vibe is really intimate and romantic.

The breakfast is good. It's a lot of baked treats and bread with jam and nutella, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and the usual beverages like coffee, milk, juice, and a wide variety of tea. You're free to help yourself to whatever you want so that's a plus. Overall, I am more than satisfied with my stay. I am really glad I got to experience Palermo, and Zyz made me feel like I was at home.

Also, I would like to thank the staff for being so patient and understanding with me. Not only was I two and a half hours late for my scheduled arrival time, and the reception was already closed because it was so late and and they had to send someone over to specifically check me in, but I also didn't have enough cash on me that night to pay for my booking and they were kind enough to let me pay in the morning. So thank you for making my stay in Palermo fantastic! I am going to recommend you to all of my friends, and I hope that more people will stay at Zyz after reading this review!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and have large beds. The rooms facing the interior of the building are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheWhoTravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#129 of 451 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Politeama
PoliteamAffitti
PoliteamAffitti
#70 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#14 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Hotel Joli
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zyz Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zyz Bed and Breakfast

Property: Zyz Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Gioeni 19, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Zyz Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zyz Bed And Breakfast Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing