We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Everything I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

It is a budget hostel, and so my expectations were not ridiculously high. However, I felt that I definitely got value for my money during my stay here. I was at Hotel Regina for 5 nights, getting in very late on the first night. The reception is manned 24 hours a day, so check in was fine, and it also meant there was no curfew on other nights. I had a single room, which was great because the weather was sweltering and it gave me freedom to dress down when I was sleeping. The fan in my room worked perfectly, and even with the balcony doors cracked slightly, my room still got down to a comfortable temperature very quickly.

The shared bathrooms were ok, slightly dirty at times, and on one occasion I got the lovely sight of some guy's underwear left on the floor, but hey, what can you expect? Only one shower worked really well and always had hot water. They have vending machines in the reception area with bottles of water for 50 cents, so I stocked up when I went out in the morning. One of the downsides to the place, however, was the lack of common area. Because I was travelling on my own, I didn't meet anyone else from the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    69
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
19
57
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

As a college student traveling in a group of three girls, Hotel Regina was best experience I've ever had with "budget-friendly-accommodations". The location was perfect and safe- close to the bus station and easily within walking distance of most of the sites in beautiful Palermo. The staff was kind and helpful, a true Italian family- giving us directions and aiding us at all hours of the night. The rooms were clean and comfortable- sink in the room was very nice and wifi was easily accessible! I could not have asked for a better experience staying in Palermo, I will be a returning guest for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuzieSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

This is a budget place and the the price reflects the service and the rooms are budget. Location was great actually for me the location was perfect however the rooms and everything else was average. The hotel was clean that's one thing I can say about this place that was good and the location was great being close to nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taytasonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Hotel Regina is a cheap one-star hotel located in the center of Palermo. A few steps away is the Quattro Conti and Piazza Pretoria. The entrance is at the gate and only a small sign indicates that this is Hotel Regina. The rooms are small with a shared bathroom. Breakfast is served in the room by the staff of the pre-agreed time. There is a choice of hot coffee, tea, chocolate, croissants and biscuits. Next to the hotel is a restaurant where you can eat cheap pizza.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaciejewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Modest, quiet, spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful - what more can you want. Great value little hotel in the centre of Palermo, I enjoyed very much the couple of nights I spent here. Though the host doesn't speak much English, like most Sicilians, you'll have no problem communicating with him and he's very helpful. It's a budget place, but good value (free wifi in the rooms is useful) and very handy for sightseeing in Palermo.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and very quiet, so I don't know if rooms on the other side might be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathmanduMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horton dorset uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is right in the centre of the old city of Palermo and is run by a really friendly and helpful family with great staff. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. The bathroom is down the hall but although small is again clean and tidy. The rooms do not have air conditioning so if you are from northern countries remember the summers are hot. The walls are thick so the rooms stay coolish and if your room has a ceiling fan that really helps.

Room Tip: ceiling fan really helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tysonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I paid €30 per night for two nights. A little extra to have my own bathroom compared to the slightly cheaper rooms. Room size OK, shower water nice and hot, tv worked, wi-fi worked and some helpfull advice from reception. It is no frills (and no sign of breakfast!!) and if you simply want a basic cheap place to stay then this is as good as any. 5 min walk from the central station and coach stop and central to old town attractions.

Room Tip: There is a Carefour just down the road for cheap water and food rather than the over priced resturan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhitebsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#57 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Tribunali
Albergo Cavour
Albergo Cavour
#34 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#15 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Hotel Cortese
Hotel Cortese
#58 of 101 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Politeama
PoliteamAffitti
PoliteamAffitti
#70 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 316, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Regina 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Palermo with us!The Hotel Regina is ideally located in the most historical and central area Palermo, within a walking distance to all major attractions, with a super public transport at your door.1 floor with Lift The features included are:-Free Towels, Free Bed linens, soap-Shampoo -Free Microwave+Fridge at disposition of the customers-Free Wifi- Free Maps and Advice-Free Luggage storage- hot showers 24 hours a day-24 Hour Reception - Not curfew-Free Tours Desk/Travel information-Heating in the winter and Fans in the summer-For family Free baby-bed on request before your arrival Position: in the city center in a safe area. Rooms: all Privates rooms with private bath/shower or with basin(shared bathroom). Please note before you book:- This is a familiar hostel- Hot drinks and snacks machines are available in our TV room. Please Advise about arrival time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Palermo
Hotel Regina Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing