We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovelly old building, excellent service”
Review of Hotel del Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Centro
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked a while ago our stay in Palermo and wanted a central hotel with easy access for the family. On arrival we realised that the hotel is actually only a part - two floors - of a large classical building on one of the most vibrant streets of old Palermo. A bit concerning as we didn't know what that would mean for the rooms. We were given an amazingly large room with very high ceillings and, considering we had a young child with us, a very quiet room at the back of the building. As we wanted to have street virw our room was graciouslly changed the following morning ) no availability sooner) to a somewhat smaller but still adequate size room with a huge bringht bathroom which had it's own little balcony... How gorgeous is that? Now, i am singing the praises of the rooms but they are of a certin era, the hotel is placed in a dusty old part of town so if you expect squeeky corporate clean, then this is ot the place for you. If, on the other hand would like some charm into your Palermo stay, then Hotel del Centro has plent of it !

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, the lower floor is much easier to access. Internal rooms are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZOR-O16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for several days and it is a great place to start exploring Palermo. It is situated close to the busstation where the shuttle from Palermo-airport stops and on walking distance to all places to see in the centre. The room was big, clean, had a private balcony and airco. The bathroom was clean as well. The breakfast was good, the staff very nice. A very good price/quality rate. Next time Palermo = Hotel del Centro.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on via Roma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in mid July. Great stay.

I arrived in the morning with no hotel reservations anywhere in the city. Upon spotting this hotel, I decided to inquire. Giovanni greeted me at the desk (Is able to help guests in Italian and English). Giovanni promptly explained the features of the hotels and helped get my family and I into the hotel, and at a great price. WIFI is also complementary.

The rooms are spacious and air conditioned. There was not one issue; the rooms were spotless. I would totally recommend this hotel to any type of traveler. It is located mere blocks from the train station. Free breakfast is also included, and the staff is great. Even if the guest does not speak Italian, you can enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were disappointed when we saw the place. I could not believe it is a 3 stars hotel. It converted 2 floors of an old building to be the hotel. The good thing about it is that it's close to the center of Palermo. However, the facility of the room is old and not well cleaned. Our bathroom has a broken faucet, water is leaking all over the place. Shower area has some mold around the edge of the door. The floor of the room still has some shoe marks when we first got into the room. The bed is not flat, it's a worn out spring system mattress. In general, we felt that the hotel is misleading us with their photos in the internet. The hotel should probably be a 2 stars hotel instead of a 3 stars one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Food009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Good value for money hotel perfectly located. The rooms were light and bright and comfortable. The shower was a little small but does the job. Breakfast was Ok, the breakfast room was small. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bernard J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalazzoloP, Direttore at Hotel del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hotel del Centro is ideal for exploring Palermo. Close to train. airport shuttle and buses. Its in a building which houses another Hotel and a B&B which seems strange, but it all works.
The rooms are nice, the price is ok and the breakfast was traditional Italian.
Staff are nice and speak english and it is quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SATTWA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoloP, Direttore at Hotel del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear customer
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the central location for visiting all the historic center on foot.
Ours is a small hotel with 27 rooms, but this is the reason for our success. We make the customer feel, from anywhere in the world arrive at his house.
Best wishes.

the Director
Giuseppe Palazzolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,254 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#47 of 98 in Palermo
124 reviews
Hotel Joli
#26 of 98 in Palermo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Posta
#29 of 98 in Palermo
463 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Centro

Address: Via Roma 72, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the capital of island, among Baroque churches and markets of Islamic memory, there is the Hotel del Centro with all mod cons. The Hotel del Centro has opened recently and it is situated in the old town centre of Palermo very close to the most important monuments, such as The Cathedral, The Massimo Theatre, The Vucciria Market and so on; moreover it is only 100 metres away from the Central Station of Palermo, in the neighbourhood of which there are the arrivals and departures of the buses for the airport and the whole Sicily. You can easily get to the Hotel del Centro from the Port of Palermo, which is about 1 Km away from the hotel. Staying at the Hotel del Centro, you will be able to walk through Palermo and you will enjoy the atmosphere and the folklore of the popular markets of the city. The Hotel del Centro, which is in a suggestive period building, is very comfortable. There are rooms with bath, shower, phone, TV, air conditioning, windows no-noise, hairdryer, Wireless Internet Access and skilled workers at your complete disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Centro Hotel
Del Centro Palermo
Hotel Del Centro Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing