We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ai Cartari B&B
Ranked #103 of 490 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here in May and feel in love with Palermo and the beautiful appartment in Ai Carteri and hence repeated the visit in October. Breakfast was delightful with home made cakes. The place is very central. I have recommended this to family who intend to visit next year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ai Cartari for an overnight stop in Palermo during our tour of Sicily. After some slight confusion about how to get into the b&b (we had to wait for some time after ringing the buzzer) we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room/suite which is filled with character and has been tastefully decorated. Also it has its own entrance and was very clean with plenty of towels and toiletries. Be warned though -there is only a gate and some stairs separating the guest bedroom area from the host's living area and she did ask us to keep this in mind. We can speak only very limited Italian and so conversed very little with our host but she was very helpful in arranging taxis etc. We had a generous breakfast with lots of sweet pastries and coffee. The location is great - beside a lovely restaurant and cathedral plus within walking distance to the main attractions. There is some noise from cars/scooters/neighbours in the plaza outside but Palermo generally seemed quite noisy and busy and it did quieten down later at night. Would stay here again and/or recommend to anyone who is comfy enough with the limited separation between your sleeping quarters and the host's home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieQ005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have to start by talking about Rosi, an exceptional helpful host. We stayed at Ai Carteri for 4 nights in September, I was a bit sick...I took her advice on medication and felt better, a lovely woman. The bedroom is a small apartment, very spacious and clean, eventhough it is in the heart of Palermo you do not hear any noise, quiet and safe. I could not get over her artistic touch...it is simply beautiful and tasteful.
The only minor issue from my husband was the air conditioning, it works but not to full capacity.
I would definitely go back and I suggest strongly this wonderful B&B.
Carole and Mario

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Ai Cartari offers an authentic Sicilian experience and it's location (in the heart of the historic centre) can't be beaten. The breakfast was beautiful, with plenty of coffee, jams, bread and homemade cakes. Of course, for us, Rosi was the real joy, who couldn't do enough to help us and happily chatted to us during our mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stay at Al Catari was the perfect end to our holiday in Sicily. Great location for exploring Palermo on foot and plenty of good restaurants nearby. Behind the understated entrance (which can be a little hard to locate initially) lies a wonderful Main Hall, beautifully furnished with art and antiques. The Bedrooms were simply but tastefully furnished with antique furniture, were quite spacious, spotlessly clean and importantly for us, were really quiet for a city location. Breakfast, served in the Main Hall was excellent, with a great selection of breads, pastries etc. The only minor issue was that the advertised car-park was not available on Sundays. The owner was very friendly and obliging. All in all an excellent experience and good value.
David B

Room Tip: Interlinked rooms available which would be ideal for a family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dagwen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed twice at Ai Cartari, in September 2012 and again in September 2013, and we love it. The building is a medieval paper factory, converted to a modern dwelling that preserves much of its original character. The rooms are huge and spectacular, tastefully furnished in a style sympathetic to the antiquity of the place. Rosi is friendly and accommodating, happy to adapt to your requests for sleeping arrangements and breakfast hours. She speaks enough English, but enjoys a longer chat in Italian if you can manage this. Ai Cartari is located in the historic centre of Palermo, 15 minutes easy walk from the train and bus station. It could not be more convenient for seeing the sights, and there is an excellent restaurant and self-service cafe just round the corner. We will definitely stay here, for preference, any time we come to Palermo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persephone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of 6 booked two nights at Ai Cartari, based on the reviews here. Sadly, our experience didn't measure up. When we arrived we were greeted, not by the owner, but by her assistant that spoke no English. My wife and I were staying on one side, our family on the other. She showed us to our room first and then our family to their room. Soon after, my daughter comes in and says that she was handed a phone by the assistant and spoke to the owner. My daughter came and told us that the owner was out of town and wanted us to pay in cash. We could email with questions, rather than call. So I sent off an email to get clarification because at no point had a cash payment been discussed, and we were limited in the amount of cash we carried. I never received a response to my email. We had issues with the locks in both doors, and it would take a while to get them to open. The AC wasn't working and it was sweltering inside. On the plus side, the property is beautifully restored and conveniently located, you are a two block walk from the market or the beach. There are two great restaurants right next to it. We decided to cut our trip short and left after one day. I can only recommend staying here if the owner will be there during your stay, I believe the lack of a present owner contributed to our experience being less than positive.

Room Tip: Make sure the owner will be there during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamboItaliano66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ai Vicere
#23 of 490 in Palermo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abatellis Luxury
#13 of 490 in Palermo
329 reviews
Tribunali
Boutique B&B Vintage
Boutique B&B Vintage
#16 of 490 in Palermo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Cartari B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cartari B&B

Address: Via Alessandro Paternostro 62, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai Cartari B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ai Cartari B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cartari B&B Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing