We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but pleasent stay”
Review of Hotel Bel 3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bel 3
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel location is excellent if you enjoy scenic views, but not so easy to reach from the city. Fortunately, hotel provides shuttle service from the closest bus stop.

Hotel was clean, comfortable and with amazing views. Unfortunately too cold to try out the pool. The otherwise pleasant stay was disturbed by the receptionist who was demanding to keep our passports over night in the reception and tried to convince me that it was Italian and European regulations when in fact he was just too lazy to write down the form..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your good review, we are happy that you have appreciated your stay and especially the panoramic view.
We hope that you'll choose again us for your next stay in Palermo and I promise that the receptionist will keep your passport for the check-in only few minutes...Sorry for the misunderstanding!

Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bel 3
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is situated on a high hill over Palermo, thus having exquisite views over the city and over the sea, probably from every room, because they all have nice and pretty big balconies towards the sea/city. The room was comfortable and big, the bathroom as well, with bathtub, shower and bidet. Good working WiFi and helpful staff. Great coffee at breakfast, the rest of the breakfast was average. We did not have the chance to try the pool and the jacuzzi, because it was not warm enough for that, but they looked nice and well taken care of.

The room was clean enough when we checked in, but I have given only one point for cleanliness, because it was not cleaned at all the next day, although we were away the whole day, returning only in the evening. Another negative point goes to the restaurant: we dined there once, and we were disappointed. Although the menu is varied, and some of the dishes were tasty, my husband received a "tagliata de manzo" which consisted more than half!!! of fat:

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sinziana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest
thanks a lot for all good tips in your review, we are very glad that you have appreciated the room, the bathroom, the free wi-fi, the pool, the jacuzzi and the view.
As you said the room at your check-in was very clean but not the next day.
So, I'm very sorry but you had to tell me this problem and we have solved it immediately.

Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in Bel 3 for 5 days and it was not enough!!!! Initially we wanted to stay in a centre of Palermo but we chose this hotel after reading reviews about stunning views of Palermo from windows of Bel 3. And we weren't disappointed!!! It is a bit far from the airport and centre of Palermo, that is true. We took a train from the airport and then two buses to the hotel. A lovely member of staff, Giorgia, gave us direction how get to the hotel and when we got there, we gave them a ring and a driver came down to pick us up as the hotel is located on the hill. He was available most mornings and evenings so if you ask in the reception he will drive you down to bus stop in Baida and up to the hotel when you are back in the evening. View was.... beautiful! Palermo situated between mountains and sea. We saw sunrise in the morning and thousands of lights of Palermo at night. We had breakfast on the terrace and swam in the swimming pool and enjoyed wonderful panorama. It took us about 45 minutes by two buses to get to Palermo each day but it was worth to come to the hotel in the evening and relax sitting on the balcony and admiring breath taking view. It is easier if you have a car but for us it was fun and it is really not difficult to travel by buses. We managed to visit Palermo, Monreale, Monte Pellegrino, Cefalu, Trapani, Mondello and Marsala. We were there in the middle of October and still it was warm, sometime even hot. Breakfast and dinners delicious, room spacious and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly, thank you Giorgia, Fabio and driver and two other receptionists - a lady and a gentleman - whose names I can't remember now. It was a great relax in a romantic place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ILONA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night only & it was okay, nothing too fancy. Views at night are lovely however. The man on reception wasnt very helpful, we felt it was a chore for him to even greet us. The woman was very helpful the next day & told us which bus to take. We paid 35euros for a taxi, very expensive and the hotel really is far away from the centre, perhaps think twice before booking if you do not have a car. The hotel did supply a lift to the nearest bus stop for no fee. Our room was clean and comfortable. Pool looked nice although we didnt use it. Breakfast was nice but basic & it was lovely to eat outside over looking the beach. We ate in the restaurant and it was disappointing. It took ages for us to be sat, one lady appeared to just stand there and do little to help the two male waiters. My carbonara was very dry and had little taste. We were also put off to see an elderly man smoking in the kitchen (we sat outside the kitchen door) not very pleasant at all!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

As others have said, the hotel is not located downtown. However, the views at night and at breakfast on the terrace are worth travelling a little further for!

Rooms are adequate, but not luxurious. Room terraces are splendid. A higgledy-piggledy hotel with floors numbered in reverse order as the hotel spills down the hill. The restaurant is obliging and house wine is very good. All staff friendly.

A car is necessary, and parking is free but congested! But it all works

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

disapointment? location is not nice for those willing to visit palermo. You need a car and you have to drive the winging roads carefully to reach the hotel. And it's not close by the airport, count 25 to 40 min.
Other than that, a very good hotel. Free parking, nice pool, a restaurant/pizzeria (we did not try it) great view of the city and sea from the room. Clean, calm, confortable rooms, fully and simply furnished, free WiFi and a good breakfast (lacking some fresh pastries though). For the price paid, it is definitely a very good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is not in downtown Palermo, but high above the city in a residential area with fantastic views. We first booked an in-town hotel, but after reading other reviews describing the city as "filthy" and "scary", we decided to stay outside and were very glad we did. Driving to the hotel from the airport in a rental car was a challenge on narrow, winding roads, but the garbage in the downtown streets and numerous wild dogs eating from the piles, confirmed our decision. Parking is the number one problem at the hotel. There is very limited space and you must leave your keys at the desk, so they can move cars to get hotel guests and restaurant patrons in and out. It is a very uncomfortable feeling to know that you would be responsible for damage to your rental car caused by a driver not on your contract. Cleanliness is a priority for us and Hotel Bel 3 met that requirement, plus the view of Palermo and the sea is wonderful, but the furnishings are "budget basic". After securing a parking place and finding the hotel isolated from anything, we ate dinner in the hotel dining room on the outdoor patio. The food was OK, but the service was terrible and our waiter basically ignored us. The breakfast buffet is setup in a room with spectacular views of the Sicilian landscape and downtown Palermo. The buffet included fruit, assorted meats and cheeses, breads, juice, coffee and the wait staff was constantly replenishing the table. Breakfast on the patio was the highlight of our stay. Staying at the Hotel Bel 3 had it challenges, but we were glad to be outside of Palermo. Unlike many Sicilian towns, Palermo does not seem to see the value of encouraging tourism.

Room Tip: Being built on the side of a hill, the lobby and rooms start on the first floor and go down to the h...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanglo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel 3

Address: Via Ruffo di Calabria 20, 90136, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#17 Business Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#19 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel 3 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 rooms offer the best comfort to you. All rooms have tv, WI-FI connection, air conditioning, telephone, personal safe, minibar, hair-dryer and large balconies with a beautiful view over Palermo.The Bel 3 Hotel has a restaurant which offers a delicious local and healthy cousine, there are also two swimming pools, one of them with jacuzzi, two free internet points, billiards hall, conference room, gym, bus shuttle on request, free internal car park and your pets are allowed.Services: free parking, free internet WI-Fi, typical Sicilian restaurant, free access to the swimming pools, Laundry Service, 2 free Internet points, and special prices in agreement with taxi Trinacria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bel 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel 3 Hotel
Bel 3 Palermo
Hotel Bel 3 Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing